Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
5,832 ratings
1,757 reviews

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings

(121 Reviews)

Creatively designed course

(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA

Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

ZY

Oct 10, 2018

Teachers are great. The course is fun and informative. I love this specialization. I look forward to completing all the courses as soon as possible. I highly recommend this course and specialization.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,741 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Elaine T

Nov 7, 2021

One of my favourite courses and would highly recommend. Excellent learning materials and tutors. This one is a must. Very interesting all round.

By Viya S

Nov 4, 2021

The instructors have very nicely explained the content and made teaching English as a second language informational by elaborating on all areas.

By Abdur R I

Oct 20, 2021

these theories are a nice part of course, one who is already teaching English, can improve his teaching style by knowing these theories.

By Udeshika I D S K

Oct 26, 2021

A really nice course which every language teacher should follow. I highly recommend this course to every ESL teacher.

By Joanne P

Nov 8, 2021

Challenging but great class

By José D R A

Feb 17, 2019

Great course.

By itsmegirleeislove I

Oct 26, 2021

informative

By Rodrigo M B S

Feb 10, 2016

A great course and fully packed with interesting information about different methodologies thought time. Wouldn't give it 5 stars because most part during the video lectures are just silly and although I know the professor is trying his best to convey an idea, it seems like there are moments it just drifts away from the point. Also, the "angel x devil" debates are equally silly, opposite to the following overview video which is excellent. I'd recommend everybody to take this course but I certainly wouldn't do it again and neither dowload the videos for future reference.

By Steve K

Nov 5, 2020

The videos are nice but I would have liked to see more written materials/notes. It's kind of ironic that a course about teaching techniques heavily emphasizes one way of learning (listening) and doesn't appreciate that some people prefer to read/learn on their own. Also, I don't like the deadlines and having to wait on other students to complete their assignments to finish the course. I understand the rationale behind this (to make more money) but I'd like the flexibility to finish the course at my own pace.

By Dave B

Jun 6, 2016

These themes felt very surface-level and redundant. The material could likely have been covered more quickly and allowed for more time to be spent on more tangible, every day information that might help those that are not already teachers.

By Mary K

May 7, 2021

The time travel videos really made me cringe. The over-the-top dramatization of it was super distracting, and a lot of it wasn't relevant and could have been done quicker. The tests were really easy though, so that was nice.

By Vanessa R

Jan 20, 2020

I took this class because I thought it would give me a good introduction to online teaching. It also looked tempting because it offered the option to take the practicum; however, when it's being offered at $1,000, I expect this class to be worth the cost. It's not. The first quiz is ridiculously hard (it took me three or four days to pass it), then you get to module 3 and the quizzes are way too easy. There is very little content, and a lot of contrived scenarios with foreign teachers (there is no effort to pretend they're overseas, as the dialogues basically repeat what's already been introduced except for one or two instances where we get additional information that's useful, but the backdrops are clearly fake). The whole thing with Brandon isn't informative (it could be any person), and the clips from the voxy are basically all the same thing. I really do not recommend this class if you're looking for something substantial; there's just very little worthwhile information. If this is an indication of the quality of the vox, then the voxy is very poor and not worth it unless it were free which it isn't - and the price for an educational experience that looks like this class is just not worth it.

By Kirankumar R

Apr 28, 2020

I found the course to be extremely useful.

Those videos must have taken a lot of work - actually dressing up to give the 'feel' of an 1880 or 1910 classroom shows dedication. :) :)

I have a suggestion. When we review other learner's assignments it is not easy to choose between YES and NO for completing the task. As an experienced ESL practitioner I would say that if a person has written a whole big chunk where the responses to the two prompts are not separate and where only a few relevant points appear (in bits and pieces) they should not be considered to have completed the task.

Some learners have responded to the 'difference between approaches' prompt purely in the form of personal opinion (albeit valid opinions, very often). Others have actually responded based on the contents of that week.

I understand that there is quite a range of English language levels among the people who take the course and written answers are not something that even native speakers are always good at. However, I am talking about task achievement rather than grammar and spelling. I would suggest that when marking peers for completing the task it would help if there is a range (say Yes / No / Partially) rather than just Yes or No.

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. My best compliments to the team that put it together!

By Logan W

Mar 10, 2022

I really liked the historical survey of language teaching methods. Shane really commits to his roles as observer, exponent, devil and angel, and the silly costumes and voices actually make remembering and distinguishing the various methods a lot easier. It also reminds us as teachers not to be afraid of looking foolish (wink, wink). There were a couple of issues with the subtitles and dialogue. First, every time Shane said "affective" the subtitles would say "effective" which could certainly confuse people. Second, it was apparent a couple of times that he or Jessica would say the wrong word and it would contradict the message. I can't remember specific examples, but it happened more than once. Finally, some of the jargon was not always clear. They keep saying that the purpose of the Comprehension method was to "make input comprehensible". This is very circular and unhelpful for understanding what the method was really about. But these are minor quibbles and overall I really liked this course and learned a lot.

By Aedrian A

Jul 3, 2021

This well-made offering is such an important course not only for getting TESOL/TEFL certification but for teaching in general. I deeply appreciate the intention of the Arizona State University TESOL Professional Certification creators in allotting a full course focusing on various teaching approaches developed throughout history. Each with their unique set of advantages and disadvantages, the emphasis is on aspiring TESOL Professional Certificate holders to craft their own learning philosophy/strategy based on their critical understanding of the approaches discussed. The centrality of contemplating on purpose, content and technique as a teacher, rather than blindly following a rigid pre-made approach for teaching, is successfully relayed.

By Nathan H

Jan 18, 2018

As someone relatively new to language teaching, I found Theories of Second Language Acquisition in Teach English Now! extremely useful and relevant. The quality of the teaching on this course has exceeded my expectations. This is a brilliant concept. I can tell that a lot of time and effort has gone into developing this particular course. I thoroughly enjoyed the way the material in this course was delivered and the concepts were taught. On top this, I also learned a lot of interesting, practical ideas and strategies that I can potentially use in my lessons. Thank you so much for all your hard work. This is the best introduction to second language acquisition theories I have ever had.

By RiCha r S

Dec 19, 2016

I liked the way this course added more to our plates. We learned more useful information that caused a need for taking notes and seeking further information. This course also provided great background with the interactive videos that were entertaining but also sequenced in such a way that a student would understand clarification would follow in the later videos if not garnered by the first video clip with the questions. I enjoyed the pacing, detail, research based knowledge, and assessment at the end - even if I did continuously read a few questions incorrectly. The approaches I now know and understand. Thank you for these courses.

By Lucie W

Sep 13, 2016

It is a great class. At the beginning, I thought it was kind of stupid to act out the characters in a funny or even silly way, however, I realized that thanks to the dramatization, I can easily remember all different approaches because the characters are visually sticky in my head! The facial expressions, the gestures, the clothes, the wig, the accent, the instruments are all helping me remember. As a teacher, I not only get to know and compare different theories of language teaching, I also learned that we should not be shy to act. Teachers are actors, let us make our classroom more fun and engaging!

By Lorain B

Dec 17, 2017

This is really an amazing program. The module contents are clear and well presented. Participants are given enough, flexible and reasonable time to complete the tasks. The ideas are profound but presented in easily, comprehensible way so that participants can absorb them in a short time. The videos presentations are excellent, vivid, and although they were not meant to entertain,t hey were all inspiring and fun. Truly well structured and well presented program for aspiring language teachers as well as for those who are already in the profession. Excellent!

By Cristina S

Sep 11, 2020

I am thoroughly enjoying this course, It is very well organized and the presentations are all interesting. I am an ESL teacher but I haven't studied theory and practice in a while so this course is really helpful. It is helping me review theories and techniques. It is also helping me reflect on my own teaching and allowing me to think about what works and what should be emphasized in a language learning setting. I am very grateful for the humor and liveliness of each module. Professor Dixon is a very good actor and truly gets his message across!

By Yolanda M

Jun 27, 2021

The course has great instructional design. Shane Dixon and Jessica Cinco are great professors, too. I have learned a lot and reflected on the ways in which I have acquired the English language - and why I have not acquired others that I tried to learn - and these learnings are already having an impact on the way I teach. The written assignments give us the opportunity to integrate what we learn each week, and reviewing our peers´writings lets us see what they assimilate and think. I look forward to keep learning with this program. Thank you very much.

By Francis Y

Nov 17, 2019

This is another quality course in the TESOL certification series. Even though I have years of teaching experience, I have only had on-the-job training until now, so having approaches and theories presented to me was very helpful in consolidating why I have been taught to teach with certain techniques. The course also made me think about what kind of teacher I have been and can be. With the interesting ways that things were presented, I believe anyone, even those with no teaching experience, can easily understand the concepts in this course.

By Sofia B

Feb 7, 2016

Amazing teachers, valuable information and top-quality materials! Thanks so much for making this course - I gained a lot from it, especially from giving and receiving feedback from fellow students. The only thing I didn't enjoy much are some questions in the tests because sometimes they seem a bit irrelevant. I would recommend making the tests a bit more to the point and reducing the amount of questions (especially the one in the final tests like "who inspired the angel and devil debate ":) Thanks for your work!!!

By IULIIA B

Jan 6, 2022

This course has helped a lot in understanding of different principles and approaches of education throughout history. Along with that I've got a better view of how teaching is structured, why we teach people differently and how everything during the lesson is connected, relying on purpose mainly. So if you want to to overview how teaching actually works, why it works this way and why you teach the way you teach - this is a perfect opportunity for you. No one can explain as great and fun as these professionals.

By ELENA S

May 19, 2020

It was absolutely great time for me! It was extrememly interesting to observe how teaching approaches were pendulum swinging from one to another depending on the historical changes. So, it not only brings unvalued proffinecy enhancing but broadens your mind. I got to know a lot of fascinating stories about Ford Company and Navajo Code. I highly recommend this course in order to improve your teaching skills, to become more confident in teaching and to simply enjoy listening and reading such a pithy content.