Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
5,566 ratings
1,680 reviews

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(121 Reviews)
Creatively designed course
(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA
Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
Jun 10, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 1,656 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Christian N L M

Dec 14, 2018

I am a student of pedagogy and finding this course especially the second is a great opportunity to learn more about teaching methods in the classroom.

By Adriana O G

Apr 7, 2016

I loved this course. I loved the videos, I learned a lot from them. Dr. Dixon is an excellent teacher. The content of this course was awesome! Thanks!

By Ezekiel C

Aug 15, 2020

Learning from the course is very easy! The video lessons and readings are very comprehensive. Thanks Coursera and ASU for this wonderful opportunity!

By SAYED K A A

Oct 12, 2019

THANKS A MILLION YOU ARE JUST AWESOME PROFESSORS.

I REALLY LEARN FROM YOU A LOT, I HOPE ONE DAY I AM THE SAME AS YOU ARE,

MUCH APPRECIATION,

SAYED KADRY

By Ayman M

Sep 26, 2017

The course is very useful and contains a lot of information. I would like to thank our tutors, editors and everyone who makes this course successful.

By ASHFIA R

May 23, 2021

I have learned and understood the theories of second language acquisition in an engaging and more convincing way than before. Thanks to this course.

By ABDELMAJID E

Oct 22, 2019

This is the best course that explains and demonstrates the eight theories of second language acquisition. I really enjoyed learning from the videos.

By Ann D

Feb 2, 2019

Wow, another great course in the series Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition. Great exercise and modelling. I learned a lot.

By Tamara A

Jul 26, 2016

What a wonderful way to learn the history of what we do as language teachers. I enjoyed every video and the articles were wonderful also. Thank you.

By Ashgan A E

Jun 14, 2020

I'd like to thank everyone contributes to give such amazing outcome of these videos. This course was very fruitful, helped me , and opened my mind.

By Sviatogor K

Jan 9, 2021

It's an amazing course! I'm so glad that I've completed the course. If you are a language teacher you have to enroll in it, you won't t regret it!

By Mariana A

Aug 19, 2018

I am a Spanish teacher, I really enjoyed the course. It was a good refresher of all the theories I had learnt in my credential program. Thank you.

By Shirley C E

Jul 31, 2017

Great course! It provided me with a host of ideas that I can use in my classroom. I will recommend this course to all second language instructors.

By rabeea S

Aug 7, 2020

I have foun this course very interesting and informative. But in my opinion, this should be the first course offered by TESOL certificate Part 1.

By Orkhan J

Jun 10, 2020

It was one of the great training I have ever done. Thanks to all the teachers who helped us improve our skills, enlarge our outlook for teaching.

By Megumi T

Apr 20, 2020

It's really helpful to know the history of teaching methods. It helped me to clarify my teaching purpose of who and why should we teach language.

By Asha J

Aug 31, 2018

Excellent Course. This course has helped me understand the various techniques, purpose and content used in teaching English as a second language.

By Yulia N

Jun 25, 2017

I loved this course - it so carefully leveled, interesting and strong! The composition, pace, ideas and all assignments are beautifully designed.

By Головатенко В В

Jan 5, 2021

This is a premium quality course on Coursera! Amazing movies made a learning process easy and fun. Exactly as it should be. Thank you very much!

By Carolina N

Aug 23, 2019

As usual, great course!! I just love it! It's extremely interesting, we have a huge amount of information amusing ourselves watching the videos.

By Melike U

Jun 26, 2017

It was really amazing and highly beneficial! For the first time I really understood these theories. Many many thanks to Dr. Dixon and Dr. Cinco!

By Stephanie R

Jan 28, 2017

The lessons are laid out in a very organized manner. It is easy to review what was taught and the quizzes and assignments are not too difficult.

By Sharon L

Feb 8, 2016

I loved this course! The teachers went the extra mile to make learning about the historical approaches to language teaching easier and more fun.

By Nastya E U

Sep 22, 2021

T​his was quite useful and interesting. I learned a lot of new things in this course. It was an enjoyable journey. Many thanks to the creators!

By Chanikarn W

Dec 27, 2020

I must say that Dr. Shane and the team made this course engaging for me. I enjoyed learning theories and hope to apply it to my teaching style.