Chevron Left
Back to A Law Student's Toolkit

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Law Student's Toolkit by Yale University

4.7
stars
1,222 ratings
351 reviews

About the Course

Whether you are an advanced law student looking to review the basics, or an aspiring law student looking for head start, this course will help you build the foundation you will need to succeed in law school and beyond. This course will introduce you to terminology, concepts, and tools lawyers and legal academics use to make their arguments. It will help you follow these arguments—and make arguments of your own. This course consists of a series of short lectures and assignments. A reading list complements each lesson, providing you with a roadmap to help you explore the subject matter more deeply on your own. Although the lessons may cross-reference each other, they are modular in nature: you should feel free to approach them in whatever order fits your schedule, interests, and needs....

Top reviews

HK
Mar 28, 2016

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

BB
May 24, 2020

A challenging and insightful course. The only downside is that it had to end. Excellent professor with engaging videos, in-depth analysis, peer graded assignments and just a good overall course.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 346 Reviews for A Law Student's Toolkit

By Fernando M M

Nov 29, 2020

An essential resource for a student interested in the field of law in the US. It shall introduce you to the various conceptual legal dichotomies and relevant jurisprudence and prepare you with an excellent head start to a formal education in law school.

By METTA S

Jan 9, 2020

This course is really nice for anyone who want to start law school. But it is completely in US context. Though the concepts remain the same across common law countries, Indian students and non Us students probably find it difficult to do the course.

By Phoebe C

Aug 17, 2020

The course was particularly helpful introducing me to legal terms and concepts. There were times I felt that this could have been explained better, but overall would recommend. I enjoyed the quizzes and assignments.

By Bekir K Y

Mar 5, 2021

The course was really hard at first but then I got used to the difficulty of the course. My only negative opinion about the course is that it was suddenly removed while there was support for Turkish subtitles.

By Julie

Dec 26, 2015

I found the range of topics extremely helpful and relevant. There were some minor technical problems with regards to grading, but overall, I really enjoyed the learning experience from this particular course.

By Jeanne P

Dec 16, 2020

Very informative. Not for a beginner. The readings took much longer than estimated in the syllabus. Peer grading can be challenging. Much heavier workload than I expected but well worth it.

By Micah K

Jul 7, 2017

Great course. Very useful skills and helpful lessons. Definitely a lot of work and the lectures aren't incredibly intuitive, but useful if you are preparing for your first year of law school.

By Hesham O K

Nov 12, 2015

it is great for citizens students, However, the speaker uses such a little hard vocabulary to understand for international students as me. I really enjoy in this course. Thanks.

By William X

Jun 7, 2017

Very challenging but there are many lessons to be learned. Law is a challenging and complex field, and prof. Ayres comes at it with good analogies and helpful advice

By Jan P

Dec 24, 2015

The course was beneficial to me and I learned a lot of new things. I took one star because of the assessment of students who are too poorly evaluated.

By Susan A C

Sep 15, 2020

Excellent course that covers a *lot* of material. The amount of reading far exceeded the estimated reading time of 10 minutes in almost all cases.

By Evan C

Apr 5, 2020

Fantastic course, but an estimated 10 minutes to read one or two law review articles is really unrealistic.

By Do H K

Apr 10, 2016

Since this course handles difficult context, it may be little bit hard to one who studies law first time.

By Sander S

Jun 20, 2016

Simple and well explained, but perhaps more information should be put on slides behind the lecturer.

By Tamara M

Feb 15, 2016

Excellent and fun class to understand Common-Law concepts and be prepared to with US Law cases.

By Aaron M

Sep 6, 2020

A broad overview, well communicated though, and the readings are useful for future reference.

By Leticia G P

Jul 2, 2020

Ótimo curso para estudantes de direito, faltou apenas legenda em português para facilitar.

By C S V K

May 12, 2020

It was a very insightful course but lacked relevance to the common law system

By Augusta O

Feb 11, 2016

i really did enjoy this course but it was very stressful terms of timing.

By eeo6@cdc.gov

Apr 27, 2017

Enjoyed Prof. Ayres' lectures and the readings. Definite

By Anirudh V

May 31, 2020

Very helpful course for new law students and aspirants.

By Sanaea C

Aug 31, 2020

It was a great course and I throughly enjoyed it.

By Amaya.Wang

May 27, 2016

有很多有用的知识,只是全英文授课对于法学初学生且中文授课学生还是有点困难的

By Arunachalam

Apr 13, 2020

a good course and grate experience.

By Franke

Feb 14, 2016

It seems very interesting.