Chevron Left
Back to Leadership in 21st Century Organizations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leadership in 21st Century Organizations by Copenhagen Business School

4.7
stars
731 ratings
260 reviews

About the Course

Meet Jim Barton, the new CEO of Santa Monica Aerospace. Jim's job won't be easy: the company's hemorrhaging cash, struggling to regain investors' trust after an accounting scandal, and striving to transform its culture to become a more global competitor. In this course, you’ll travel with Jim as he takes on leadership challenges ranging from strategy execution, to inspiring people, to maintaining an ethical approach. Experts agree that twentieth-century leadership practices are inadequate for the stormy twenty-first-century present. This provocative course equips you with the insights you'll need to rise with the occasion of a rapidly shifting business landscape. The course is based on a book, Harder Than I Thought: Adventures of a 21st Century Leader, by Robert D. Austin, Richard L. Nolan, and Shannon O'Donnell, published by Harvard Business Review Press. Purchase of the book is optional. If you want more information about the book or wish to buy it, see https://hbr.org/product/harder-than-i-thought-adventures-of-a-twenty-first/an/10332-HBK-ENG or http://www.amazon.com/Harder-Than-Thought-Adventures-Twenty-First/dp/1422162591 After taking the course, you'll be able to: o Enact your own personal leadership approach, derived from your ongoing evaluation of how Jim Barton has handled his leadership situation, as well as from established leadership concepts and frameworks; o Avoid leadership actions that might have worked in the past, but are not suited to a newly challenging 21st century world; o Navigate treacherous new 21st century leadership challenges, such as greater reliance on specialized workers or the need to respond to external scrutiny in an increasingly transparent world (and many more); o Avoid "slippery slope" ethical failures, and think more clearly about the separation between public and private life for a 21st century leader....

Top reviews

WS
Jun 18, 2020

Extremely insightfull and practical course,\n\nTouches on a number of aspects of leadership in today's world. I found the reading material very useful, sometimes voluminous but extremely relevant.

AK
Aug 7, 2020

exceelent course by all means. so much was there in the course that it has changed my perspective of looking at leadership challenges in the coming century, full marks to the course designer.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 255 Reviews for Leadership in 21st Century Organizations

By Sushama N

Apr 24, 2020

very fruitful

By Mohammad S M

Aug 30, 2020

Good course

By Pieter N

Feb 27, 2020

Very good!

By HP H

Feb 7, 2017

Excellent!

By Bruno H N

Aug 14, 2016

Fantastic!

By Hugh C W I P C

Jun 27, 2016

thank you

By Niharika n

Apr 16, 2016

Excellent

By Serenat M

Nov 12, 2016

Love it!

By 武利鑫

Dec 23, 2015

形式非常特别

By MD M A

Aug 9, 2020

GOOD

By Mona A A

Jun 4, 2020

good

By Thangellapalli v

Oct 9, 2016

good

By Teemu K

Aug 5, 2016

A

By Liane D

Jan 12, 2016

I

By Joe M

Mar 11, 2019

I definitely recommend this course. Lots of great material, and Robert D. Austin and Shannon Hessel are excellent professors. So, why 4 stars instead of 5? There were a number of things on this course that were not functional. Broken links, links to videos that go nowhere, and links to content behind pay walls, such as the Wall St. Journal. Each time I encountered one of these, I flagged it. Let's see if it would actually get fixed.

With this class being self-paced, the discussion forums are kind of stale, although some interesting reads there. After taking this, I'm seriously interested in taking more of the Copenhagen Business school coursera courses on strategy.

By Gregory P

Sep 7, 2020

I generally enjoyed this course. I found it to be slow moving at the beginning - and even considered not continuing. However, once into the course the momentum was good and I found the course to be interesting and relevant, with some great examples and case studies. At some stages, the course shows itself to be old, with certain links etc which are not valid/do not work, so consider updating the material/links etc.

By Daniil K

Aug 22, 2020

Quality of video (content) is pretty low.

I can praise only Shannon Hessel - her lections were very clear and informative.

Also my opinion that such video as (https://www.coursera.org/learn/leadership-21st-century/lecture/5z8tc/episode-10-sleeping-with-the-press-day-31) are unacceptable.

By Fabienne L

Mar 20, 2016

Extremely interesting course, providing useful reminders in a world of blurred lines, and highlighting some key principles of what true leadership must be, and why it is so much needed.

And as usual with CBS, materials (videos, slides, readings) were great.

By VU T L

Mar 21, 2020

Học xong khóa học tôi đã tiếp thu được rất nhiều thông tin bổ ích ,khi nào có cơ hội tôi sẽ đóng góp một phần ý kiến của mình góp phần đưa công ty phát triển hơn nữa.Cảm ơn đã cho tôi tham gia khóa học bổ ích này.

By Colin L

Jun 3, 2020

This course had a lot of scenarios which were similar to what i have faced before. I learned a lot from the modules and I will definitely take those points with as a i go forward.

By Andrew A

Jun 11, 2020

The program gives a broader insight into fitting into a work culture of collaboration and allows participants to have a better understanding about how today’s leaders must lead.

By Varun K

May 26, 2020

A very good conceptual and practice oriented course for the leader excellence The content and approach of explanation about leadership is excellent.

By BHAUMIK S S

Aug 22, 2020

one of the finest course I did through coursera. I really like the practical way to learn the leadership theory.

Regards,

Bhaumik Shah

By Lars B

Mar 25, 2020

Good Examples also the films were esp. the film shown with the CEO from Boeing who has given great insights. Very helpful.

By Aristides C

Sep 16, 2020

Even if you are not the CEO of a US public company, this course has many teaching that can be applied in any situation.