Chevron Left
Back to Leadership Through Design Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leadership Through Design Innovation by Northwestern University

4.3
stars
294 ratings
89 reviews

About the Course

Today’s workplace calls for a new style of leadership to embolden and accelerate innovation. Design offers a novel way to discover market opportunities, experiment to validate concepts and mitigate risk, and deliver value to all stakeholders. This course offers hands-on experience applying human-centered design process to real-world challenges, and requires you to explore the world around you. Learn how to engage with end users, effectively frame problems, identify potential solutions, and build prototypes to test assumptions and learn what works (and doesn’t). Then dive into a range of ways large and small to bring design innovation into your organization....

Top reviews

MC

Apr 15, 2018

SO far I've enjoyed it and it's the course why I started the specialization for, and instead of taking it separate from the others, it's way better to have the full track to get the 360 view

PM

Sep 28, 2016

Enjoyed the journey through the course. The projects are integral to gain confidence on applying design thinking. However, they are time intensive and require commitment.

Filter by:

76 - 87 of 87 Reviews for Leadership Through Design Innovation

By Albert S

Jan 26, 2016

Its a well crafted course and the insights provided are very useful.

By Dhababa S A R

Jun 29, 2020

lمتعب نوعا ما ولكن محفز على الابداع والابتكار

By Alam M

Jun 5, 2016

So many Assignments !

By Nigatu W M

Mar 8, 2020

4.5

By SUBRAMANIAM C

Jan 22, 2021

The course takes you through an entire conventional process of applying design principles. That's the good part. Learners who are ready to apply themselves, will takeaway key learnings. While rigor is appreciated the process, activities, instructions etc need more simplification. As a user it feels very laborious at the end of it all. The video learnings also need to include some more new age content, tools, software access for designs that can be used for the projects.

By Thomas M

Mar 5, 2016

Videos are quite short, there is almost zero material to download. As alumni of NU / Kellogg I would have expected more depth of the lectures.

By Saeed S A

Jun 29, 2022

This course does not fit the scope of the specialization. It is purely about designing and sketching. In week 4, they tried to tailor that to apply it in the context of leadership by talking about fostering change and catalyzing innovations; however, it seems that they went over the general concepts of innovation and shortly fell back to sketching and design. I am forced to take this course to take the capstone course for this specialization. It was irrelevant to the subject, and the assignments were time-consuming without meaningful outcomes. I hope the creators of this course consider this feedback and design better materials related to leadership.

By Nick M

Jun 25, 2020

This course was likely very good with instructor engagement, but left to its own devices fails to provide the same level of value as other courses in the specialization. Much of the class would benefit from actual discussion, which is not really suitable for this MOOC format.

By Steven Z

May 8, 2017

I didn't like it.

By Jordan T M

Aug 8, 2020

This course has limited instruction, overly done assignments and limited merit in the specialization in my opinion. It is by far the worst course I have taken on Coursera.

By Elena M

Feb 3, 2021

This course was not easy to complete with the current COVID-19 restrictions here in Canada (and probably around the world). It should have been updated.

By Daniel G

Jan 7, 2020

The exam is not practical and has deterred me from advancing. I have been working on a project for the last month to be able to pass it.