Chevron Left
Back to Leadership Through Design Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leadership Through Design Innovation by Northwestern University

4.3
stars
302 ratings

About the Course

Today’s workplace calls for a new style of leadership to embolden and accelerate innovation. Design offers a novel way to discover market opportunities, experiment to validate concepts and mitigate risk, and deliver value to all stakeholders. This course offers hands-on experience applying human-centered design process to real-world challenges, and requires you to explore the world around you. Learn how to engage with end users, effectively frame problems, identify potential solutions, and build prototypes to test assumptions and learn what works (and doesn’t). Then dive into a range of ways large and small to bring design innovation into your organization....

Top reviews

MC

Apr 15, 2018

SO far I've enjoyed it and it's the course why I started the specialization for, and instead of taking it separate from the others, it's way better to have the full track to get the 360 view

PM

Sep 28, 2016

Enjoyed the journey through the course. The projects are integral to gain confidence on applying design thinking. However, they are time intensive and require commitment.

Filter by:

76 - 91 of 91 Reviews for Leadership Through Design Innovation

By Eduardo G

Aug 2, 2018

The Leadership through Design Innovation course was amazing. Everything I learned from it really helped me develop a new point of view on my work about how better developing product, services and systems.

By diana k

Mar 21, 2016

I liked the format and the assignments. The assignments did however take a lot of time to complete. I think you need to give more info about how to prototype as I'm still not confident with this

By SIVAKUMAR V

Apr 23, 2019

It really gives platform for innovate thinking and to create also... learned and enjoyed

By Dr. C H

Dec 28, 2020

Challenging and unique perspective on how to tangibly impact your organization.

By Albert S

Jan 26, 2016

Its a well crafted course and the insights provided are very useful.

By Dhababa S A R

Jun 29, 2020

lمتعب نوعا ما ولكن محفز على الابداع والابتكار

By Alam M

Jun 5, 2016

So many Assignments !

By Nigatu W M

Mar 8, 2020

4.5

By SUBRAMANIAM C

Jan 22, 2021

The course takes you through an entire conventional process of applying design principles. That's the good part. Learners who are ready to apply themselves, will takeaway key learnings. While rigor is appreciated the process, activities, instructions etc need more simplification. As a user it feels very laborious at the end of it all. The video learnings also need to include some more new age content, tools, software access for designs that can be used for the projects.

By Thomas M

Mar 5, 2016

Videos are quite short, there is almost zero material to download. As alumni of NU / Kellogg I would have expected more depth of the lectures.

By Nick M

Jun 25, 2020

This course was likely very good with instructor engagement, but left to its own devices fails to provide the same level of value as other courses in the specialization. Much of the class would benefit from actual discussion, which is not really suitable for this MOOC format.

By Steven Z

May 8, 2017

I didn't like it.

By BEI L

Nov 22, 2022

I love the concept of design thinking and the approaches leaders can and should take to address change management and innovations, and I have learned this topic from other classes and professors. The concepts are good, however, the assignments and design of this course activities are highly irrelevant to leadership or management. At some point, I started to doubt if the faculty understand what leadership means and how it can be connected and integrated into the subject. By far the most disappointing course I took.

By Jordan T M

Aug 8, 2020

This course has limited instruction, overly done assignments and limited merit in the specialization in my opinion. It is by far the worst course I have taken on Coursera.

By Elena M

Feb 3, 2021

This course was not easy to complete with the current COVID-19 restrictions here in Canada (and probably around the world). It should have been updated.

By Daniel G

Jan 7, 2020

The exam is not practical and has deterred me from advancing. I have been working on a project for the last month to be able to pass it.