Chevron Left
Back to Leadership Through Social Influence

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leadership Through Social Influence by Northwestern University

4.7
stars
1,165 ratings
286 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide learners with a systematic general framework for analyzing persuasive influence situations. Learners will be able to identify different challenges faced by persuaders and to fashion appropriate strategies for addressing those challenges. The broad goal is to provide learners with not only an extensive persuasion tool kit, but also with an understanding of how different tools are useful in different situations. Specifically, the course will address four broad topics: strategies for influencing people’s personal attitudes; strategies for affecting social factors influencing behavior; strategies for affecting people’s perceived ability to undertake the desired behavior; and strategies for inducing people to act on their existing intentions....

Top reviews

DK

Jul 29, 2018

I found Professor O’Keefe's insights and his storytelling to be highly engaging. His videos helped me see new ways I can help my colleagues seize new opportunities to help our team. Thank you.

PD

Feb 14, 2021

I enjoyed this course. The layout of 4 weekly sessions and short, clear and concise videos was very beneficia. I feel like I learned something useful and that's always a good thing. Thank you!

Filter by:

276 - 287 of 287 Reviews for Leadership Through Social Influence

By Alastair K

Jan 17, 2016

I'd encourage some refinement of the quizzes, for clarity purposes.

By 薛遥 X Y

Aug 26, 2016

Too much ideology, need more tools to use in daily work.

By Dr C

Jan 23, 2022

Too short/easy. Anyway got some ideas from the course.

By Patrick O

Jun 27, 2020

Frustrating questions for end exams.

By Alexander R

Jun 15, 2017

A bit too basic but useful

By Mirette A N

Jul 12, 2018

The

By farid s

Jun 5, 2020

Great tools that we use a lot. The course is short and provides a great framework. However, I did find this course to be inferior to other courses online and may be taken as a complimentary to other courses. There were no slides, interactive questions, videos, reading etc. The studies mentioned are interesting but they were stripped out of their essence. In other words, the concepts were not made salient which is a good strategy in influence to remind the audience of the ideas mentioned. The same studies mentioned were presented in a more engaging way on other courses. Please do this course after doing some other courses for it to make sense for you.

By Ricardo O

Dec 17, 2015

There is quality implicit in the approach taken, but in my opinion, this course is excessively short, having only 20-25 minutes of videos per week, what is very limiting. Also there is no slides of the material covered what I find not adequate. To fully grasp the theories underlyind in the lectures, slides would be determinant. Just watching videos and doing quizzes is not a very effective form of learning.

By Nathan F

Dec 4, 2017

I have to tell you, I didn't enjoy this course. The material was dry, the presentation was uninteresting, and there was nothing included in the process other than lecture. I also found the quizzes to be oddly worded and intentionally misleading.

By Elena M

Jun 24, 2020

Very repetitive

By David M

May 6, 2021

the material was less enlightening than expected. Additionally coursera also had poor customer response, it seems like a quiz question had an error to me but I didn't get a reply.

By Anton S

Nov 30, 2015

It's unbelievable is how many way you can rephrase the same idea over and over again, without making any progress in something new.