Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.7
4,513 ratings
1,343 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SS

Sep 17, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

EE

Mar 02, 2016

This course is excellent. It gives thorough introduction into language without going into too much unnecessary details. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to start learning Chinese from scratch.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,319 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By T.Sai N B

Oct 30, 2015

Its a wonderful experience that i had gained through this course thanks to coursera for offering such a wonderful courses thanks a lot.

By SANDRA C

Apr 08, 2018

Excelente. Estuvo genial, quiero seguir aprendiendo

By DIANA M C S

Mar 08, 2016

It's very interesting and the approach is very appropiate

By Thomas S

Mar 12, 2016

Learned the basics in Chinese. I am glad I took this course before taking classes at my local school.

By Le P L

Nov 07, 2015

Very useful

By Kelly L S

Dec 13, 2015

This was a great basic course that introduced simple pronunciation and words that can easily be transformed into building blocks for learning more Chinese. The instructor was excellent in her explanations and her articulation was extremely helpful in guiding the learner through each video. Thanks for much for a great introduction to Chinese!

By Dimitri C B

Oct 19, 2015

This is an excellent course if you want to learn the basics of Chinese.

By Garyulkina A

Feb 21, 2016

Great course! Course providers are into effective explanation and communication with students. Recommend it!

By Dani C

Jan 16, 2016

This is a really great course. Thanks!

By Stephen M M

Mar 12, 2016

Very good easy to follow and learn.

By Bo B H

Feb 26, 2016

I like this course too much.

By JiYoung P

Feb 19, 2016

It was a great class. Thank you!

By Ali O S

Oct 19, 2015

Excellent course for beginner . I f you can provide the level 1, 2, 3 etc will be tremendously good.

By José L A L

Jan 15, 2016

E

By Marlon O B A

Sep 23, 2017

Gracias a la universidad de Pekin y a la maestra Liu por el excelente trabajo que han puesto a nuestra disposición.

By Girish N

Sep 22, 2015

Makes a simple, yet very effective start to learning Chinese!!

By Emma

Feb 11, 2018

The course was really nice and easy to understand. I think it might have been better if it would have gone a little bit faster. There is so much vocabulary and it is so well explained by professor Xiaoyu Liu. I would highly recommend this course for anyone willing learn some useful basic phrases.

By Nataliia K

Oct 18, 2015

Really easy course for learning. Very pleasant teacher.

By Sylvia A S D

Aug 26, 2016

Easy to learn

By Ailton J L C

Sep 04, 2015

A basic course . It gives the basics to progress in learning the language. A bit different for a westerner, but interesting and motivating. Anxious to continue and increase the level.

By Luz A G A

Sep 02, 2016

Me encanta, es muy desafiante y confieso que ha sido el más complicado que he tomado pero me encantan las explicaciones y el como dejan todo muy en claro.

By Ruffel M

Sep 28, 2016

Great course, I hope it can continue.

Thanks

By Jisoo K

Jun 19, 2018

N

By Alex S R

Feb 19, 2017

very good for a course for beginners. I recommend for all.

By Katharina M

Dec 30, 2016

A great course! To me, it has made learning Chinease much easier. I will come back for further courses. Thank you!