Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.7
stars
4,688 ratings
1,398 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SS

Sep 17, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

EE

Mar 02, 2016

This course is excellent. It gives thorough introduction into language without going into too much unnecessary details. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to start learning Chinese from scratch.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,376 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Muhammad W A

Dec 14, 2018

Very easy to learn the basic Chinese language. The most important and interesting about the course is that everything is illustrated with the help of pictures which makes it very easy to learn.

By MUHAMMAD H R

Dec 20, 2018

its very informative course designed by Peking university for all basic mandarin ( Chinese language) learners. hope the other students will also get benefit from your endeavors. Wish you luck

By Lorena M R S

Jan 28, 2019

Un curso bastante completo , la maestra es muy buena y te motiva a seguir hasta alcanzar el objetivo.

Muy recomendable ! Sin duda tomaría otro curso impartido por está maestra felicitaciones !

By Pedro A B V

Dec 06, 2018

Una muy buena manera de aprender Chino, sobrepasado el curso con más de un 90% de aprobaciones.

Muchas gracias Coursera por ampliar mis conocimientos! Estoy feliz y enriquecido con este curso

By NESTOR A C G

Jan 15, 2019

After finishing this course I feel very motivated to take the next one!

Everyone who has never had any contact with Chinese should take this course. Thank you very much from Lima, Peru 🇵🇪

By Herwig K

Sep 23, 2015

Very good course and well structured. The difference to other fragmented online videos "teaching" Chinese is the thought through build-up and the professional didactic value. Recommended!

By Amina M

Apr 08, 2019

very easy to learn specially if we plan to travel to china but pronunciation is too difficult for me specially the Xiu , Qi and Zh. Thank you Xiaoyu Liu , you are a great teacher. Xiexie

By Le T H L

Jan 09, 2020

The curriculum is well-designed. It develops the vocabulary first and then instructs learners how to put the words to make a sentence. The instructor is great with clear pronunciation.

By Jijo M

Aug 19, 2015

Stands up to its name. A very good course to start learning Mandarin. Now, the horror of the language "Mandarin" is no more and I can communicate for the necessary matters in Mandarin.

By Leanne P

Dec 22, 2016

Thank you, what a great course. Even after living in China for over a year I still learnt a lot from this course. Keep up the great work and I look forward to starting the next level.

By Latil d J

Nov 12, 2016

Très bon cours pour une première approche, didactique et centrée sur des phrases et du vocabulaire de la vie quotidienne ce qui permet de s’entraîner rapidement en situation réelles !

By Ailton J L C

Sep 04, 2015

A basic course . It gives the basics to progress in learning the language. A bit different for a westerner, but interesting and motivating. Anxious to continue and increase the level.

By Adnan k

Sep 20, 2016

Supper techniques to understand basic conversation with chines people. It is useful to every one who wish to visit for business settlement or employment purpose.

Strongly Recommended

By Carla R A

Apr 01, 2017

A very good course of chinese , it was very interactive and you could read many subtitles and the videos were so easy to understand! i really enjoy this course. Thank you. xiexie :D

By Marco C

Dec 15, 2016

I really enjoyed this course because it familiarizes the student with pronunciation. I can have simple conversations with other Chinese people from what i've learned in this course.

By Eloy S M

Aug 20, 2015

It is a very good course to immerse in the basic Mandarin-Chinese language. I learned with an easy way and the best thing is that the teacher is Chinese, a native Mandarin speaker.

By Rosarendi D P

Aug 11, 2015

This course was wonderful! I really loved to have the possibility to practice and learn this amazing language! Thank you very much to the teacher in charge. I really learned a lot!

By Tracy P

Sep 20, 2019

Excellent introduction to speaking the Chinese language and reading and writing Pinyin. The videos are well done and there are lots of opportunities to practice in different ways.

By Sylvia S

Nov 04, 2015

It's a great course for people who want to learn to communicate with other Chinese people. To familiarize themselves with repetition is vital to learning how to speak it properly.

By Diego V O

Mar 24, 2016

Really simple yet effective! I am able to understand the basics of mandarim thanks to this awesome course, the University of Beijing, and of course, Coursera! Thank you so much!

By Lidia E

Sep 12, 2017

Curso muy completo para iniciarse, yo ya tenia un buen nivel de chino y lo escoji para hacer un poco de memoria y repaso de lo basico y puedo decir que tiene un muy buen nivel.

By Anairda A

May 20, 2017

Me gustó mucho el curso, es súper fácil, para iniciar es genial, no cuesta nada, es gratis. Gracias a la Profe Xiaoyu Liu por las clases y a Coursera por habilitar el curso xD

By Arisleida S C

Jul 27, 2019

creo que es un buen inicio aprender el idioma chino através de este curso. Notas que progresas, y no te da temor a conocer un idioma muy diferente. Gracias a la facilitadora.

By Esteban C

Sep 08, 2016

I think this course is great. The professor makes Chinese much easier to learn. I have had other Chinese teachers and she is the best by far. I am very happy with the course.

By Sandra G

Aug 17, 2015

Great course! I wanted to learn how to communicate in Chinese and it fulfilled my needs! The instructor is great too! I suggest she give another course, say, part 2. XIeXie!