Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
16,524 ratings
4,692 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SS
Sep 16, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

Filter by:

4576 - 4600 of 4,688 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Sara G C

Apr 22, 2019

Es bastante difícil para quien no tiene ninguna base de chino, pero no esta nada mal, lo único que tienes que buscar mas herramientas para sacarle partido al curso.

By Stacey S

Jun 12, 2020

You will get as much out of it as you put in, but it was a good overall introduction. I wouldn't say I can speak Chinese now, but I understand it a bit more :)

By Deleted A

Dec 23, 2020

doesn't really approach Chinese for English speakers in the right way. They choose the wrong progression for us and should revise the entire intro course

By Joseph G

Aug 16, 2020

Courses are great. 5 STARS!

1 major problem. I would like to go back into the courses to refresh, but not possible, therefore only 3 stars..

Really too bad

By Monica p

Sep 22, 2020

Starting from zero, it is not very simple following her. The course is full of knowledges but lack in the basics, I had to check on line for everything.

By Arif H

Jul 30, 2020

Great experience with a very great teacher, however, it would be more effective through physical classes. But anyhow I like this course so "Xiexie".

By YURI D L P

Feb 13, 2016

The teacher spoke very clearly, but the transcripts of each lecture should have included the Pinyin transcriptions. Without them,they were no help.

By Jason T Y J

Aug 17, 2015

Learning some of the radicals and simple words would make this course much more valuable. It already is very useful, why not do better? :)

By Corinne D G

Mar 7, 2016

I would give it a five-star but at the beginning it was confusing how to access certain parts, there were no instructions on ho

By Lahcen c

May 17, 2020

they said its free, but after I finish the course I need to pay for the Certificate. there is no even letter of completion .

By Andres C P

Mar 31, 2020

Iinteresting class, but only learned some vocabulary and some pre made sentences, but no general structure or grammar.

By Carlos F T M

Sep 20, 2015

Well, it is a fairly good introduction to chinese. It's short and easy. However, I expected much more from the course.

By JOSE T B M

Apr 14, 2021

Es bueno, quizás un poco sencillo, podría entregar más información, mostrar los caracteres en escritura tradicional.

By Rylissa-Amor T

Sep 8, 2020

The course was very educational and interesting but in my opinion the tutor spoke too quickly in some of the videos.

By Laura

Apr 30, 2017

It would be even more interesting if the chinese caracters were written with the Pinyin (and not just the pinyin).

By M N H

Nov 29, 2020

It would be better if she can explain the words more. Because just listening can't help us to say exact like her.

By hselgaynyein

Jul 7, 2020

clear to understand as its well structured of explanation and its very useful for the starter of learning pinyin.

By Jerônimo J

Mar 16, 2016

I had loved this course, because they teach you a lot of in Chinese and we can improve your language cultural.

By 森村洋行

Dec 24, 2020

漢字が分かる日本人にとっては少し物足りないかもしれません。しかし、ピンインからしっかりと学びたい方にはお勧めです。特に、各テストではリスニング(単語)がメインなので、中国語の発音をもう一度復習するいい機会になりました。

By A A

May 5, 2020

Although Mandarin is hard enough to learn but the instructor make it easy by her effective communication.

By Beth W

Jun 7, 2017

Good range of topics, but very little practice materials given, and the instructer is unnaturally formal.

By Gayle C

Oct 31, 2017

Good as a refresher for people with some Chinese already but not thorough enough for a complete beginner

By Ro

Mar 15, 2020

It would be great If there were a two way contact with the teacher to get corrections on pronunciation.

By Migiwa R

May 28, 2020

It only gives few vocabularies. Chinese characters aren’t shown so you only get to hear pingying.

By Serena G

May 28, 2020

Nice for who wants to learn basic expressions, however no ideograms and grammar rules explained