Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
14,748 ratings
4,242 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

SS
Sep 16, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 4,195 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Anna R

Jan 19, 2021

Highly recommended. The format of the lessons is well structured and enjoyable. The teacher is excellent. The emphasis and attention on pronunciation is one of the most valuable feature of the course. I started learning basic Chinese some years ago, but then I drop out and could not find enough motivation to go back on track. Till I came across this course.. It helped me to refresh some basic vocabulary and grammar, and motivated me to learn more.

By Amanda B

Jul 7, 2016

Excellent beginners course in Mandarin. The teacher introduces new words using pinyin in each 3-4 minute lesson and the content is reviewed in a quiz. The content is limited to reading and pronouncing pinyin words, which is perfectly acceptable to me since I'm supplementing this course with other in person classes. I love the 4 minute classes 4 times per week, since I never felt like I'm so far behind the deadlines that I can't catch up.

By Dorottya F

Feb 7, 2017

This course is very useful for people who just started to learn Chinese. It is well-paced, every week has 4-5 sections with a 3 minute video in the beginning that introduces new words and or grammar point. The topics are useful and the vocabulary and grammar that we learn are at HSK 1 level. The quizzes are short and the deadlines motivate you and help you keep track. I also really liked our professors voice and the way she spoke Chinese.

By Althea O

Feb 2, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. The presenter was lovely. She was easy to follow and very clear in her speaking. She taught me how to speak sentences and questions. And she presented me with a lot of new vocabulary which I know I will have to sit down and learn. It is a great refresher course if you have tried to learn Chinese before. There is nothing threatening about it. I hope a follow-up course will be created. I will definitely do it.

By Manjari R

Sep 14, 2015

A wonderfull introduction for beginners in Chinese. This was my first Chinese lesson ever, and i really enjoyed it : easy to understand. The teacher speaks very slowly and repeats each word/sentence 2 times, so we have time to train our ears to the "chinese speaking music". :-)

This course focuses on oral chinese only (speaking and understanding), but you can go further and use other online ressources to learn reading/writing chinese too.

By Dustin D

Jan 10, 2021

A good course for the basics of speaking and understanding chinese. Recommended for every person that is curious about the language and want to have some understanding before going into more extensive courses.

Buen curso para aprender lo basico del idioma. Se lo recomiendo a cualquiera persona que tenga un interes en aprender el idioma y le gustaria tener por lo menos una idea del idioma antes de comenzar con curso mas extenso.

By Daniel D

Mar 2, 2021

I really enjoyed completing this course. The teacher is very charming and explains the material very well. This was my first language course in Chinese and it was a very pleasant experience. Chinese will be the seventh language for me to learn and this course ignited my curiosity to explore and study it further and deeper, especially its calligraphy. It is a very tough path for an European but I am very motivated. Thank you!

By CHANATHORN P

Apr 21, 2020

I love this course because I'll be trying to learn Chinese by my-self. For the first time, it quite difficult for me because I didn't learn Chinese before but after that, it will be better and I like it so much.

I would like to say thank you for the teacher on this course very much, she is a good teacher. She's explained to an easy way to understand and feel funny to learn.

I feel wonderful and very happy to get this course.

By EGLEE W

Jan 28, 2021

It is a very interesting class because it push the student to add more vocabulary on the student own account. Once we can express our daily routine, likeness and dislikes, we are good to start, we just have to add some Chinese movies to watch daily so we don't lose what we have learned and review our notes daily. It will be nice to be able to continue with the next level of this Chinese classes. Lǎoshī, xièxiè. 再见

Zàijiàn

By Tina D

Aug 27, 2020

Short Lectures and a quick test after each one really helped me to learn. If you're devoted, the course can be actually finished in way shorter time. Offers real knowledge on beginner's Chinese. Focuses more on the spoken than the written word, in order to make it easier for those that don't know how to read the Chinese alphabet, or are intimidated by it. In general, that was a great course, totally recommended! Xiexie!

By Naylea E A M

Mar 22, 2016

I absolutely loved the course, it was tough at the beginning but the teacher gives you examples and makes observations on the pronounciations and repeatedly reminds you how to pronounce the words. So that really helps your ear to open to the different sounds and vowels, and you get better with every assignment. Also the extra exercises helps you to get a better understanding of the Chinese culture, weather, food, etc.

By Jorfran H P C

Jul 20, 2016

I loved this course , so good, now I have the basic notions to start a conversation in Chinese. Thanks to the creators of this course for giving me the opportunity to do it, I recommend it so muchi./Me encantó este curso, muy bueno, ahora ya tengo las nociones básica para entablar una conversación en chino. Gracias a los creadores de este curso por darme la oportunidad de poder realizarlo, lo recomiendo bastante.

By RiCha r S

Jan 16, 2017

This course was dynamic and amazing. I found myself returning to the interface after class was completed to see if there was a second class to continue progress. I felt depleted to find there is no other course to continue the learning in this area. Thank so much. I really got a great deal out of this course and pray I can revisit it to practice off an on, while I am taking other Coursera courses for TESOL.

By Joerg W

Jan 23, 2017

The course "Chinese for Beginners" is a good introduction for the "fresh meat" of those striving to learn the Chinese Language and has got all it takes to get you immersed into the language. You just have to find your individual method of staying in it. I will also do the Chinese character for Beginners course, which seems promising. As already mentioned, it all depends on your effort, time and motivation!

By Melissa

Jul 9, 2018

Realmente es lo básico, por lo cual es importante dedicar tiempo a practicar y estudiar para aprender el vocabulario ya que es de uso cotidiano. Muchos dirán que es muy básico pero ya qusieran escuchar una conversación sencilla y entender. Recomiendo memorizar y practicar diario para no olvidar ya que es un vocabulario totalmente diferente al nuestro. ¡Ánimo, Sí se puede aprender muy bien en éste curso!

By Fernando C F

Apr 28, 2020

Language sounds, vocabulary, and grammar are the first steps in the language learning process, and this course focus right in these aspects in a very effective way. After taking some courses on Mandarin Chinese, I am pretty sure this is the most friendly and best choice for somebody that has never studied this language - or need / wish to improve ground concepts in pronunciation vocabulary and grammar.

By Jira H

Apr 19, 2020

According to the current situation in the world, Chinese is gradually intervened into our life, so It is recommended to take this, for its lessons allow you to grab many useful and essential terms or idioms with regards to the Chinese language. The course and instruction is not that tricky, but it grants the learners for getting involved into the environment of the daily Chinese, which is very handful.

By Caleb A

Jun 4, 2020

Great beginner course! I think focusing on pinyin to start is a good idea, I feel like adding characters right away would have been too confusing. It's not super intensive, so even a really busy person should be able to squeeze in their work during the week. Overall, I definitely recommend it! Even if you forget lessons quickly, you'll come away with some basic phrases and how to pronounce pinyin.

By Alejandro

Nov 16, 2016

Me encantó el alcance que toma el curso, supera las expectativas por mucho. Siento que la asimilación de conocimientos es cuantiosa, termino el curso con la sensación de leer muy bien y, con un poco de práctica podré hacerlo de igual manera al hablar y escribir.

Emocionado por terminar una meta más en mi camino de aprendizaje y agradecido con Xiao Liu por sus lecciones.

Saludos a todo el equipo!!!

By Cristina Z

Sep 28, 2016

Excellent course. In my opinion, you will make more of it if you have previously studied basic Chinese. It's an excellent way to learn correct pronunciation of words (based on pinyin).

This is focused on basic every day conversations. The teacher talks very clearly and marks the tones. This is a crucial part of Chinese speaking, which by experience is the most difficult part.

Great experience.

By pornpisut s

May 20, 2020

this website is very helpful for me and for people who would like to learn what they are interested in. Moreover, I interested in Chinese but during this situation (Covid 19) I have to drop my plan, but my friend told me that this website has multi of programs I can learn and also it all for free. Eventually, I know some basic words and can speak Chinese that is my propose. thank you so much

By Carlos C O

Dec 15, 2018

Este ha sido el mejor curso de chino en la red que he visto. Son innumerables sus ventajas. Un profesora excelente, con pedagogía de alto nivel, buena pronunciación, grata de escuchar y aprender. Los temas son básicos y quedan rápidamente evidentes. Al final te ofrecen un resumen de todo lo que has hecho y lo puedes comparar con tus apuntes, ¡pues están en chino! Un curso muy recomendable.

By Joaquin R

Mar 3, 2019

Thanks to Xiaoyu Liu for an amazing class. It is very helpful to see and hear the unfamiliar sounds or phonetics of the Chinese Language from the Instructor, Xiaoyu Liu. This is better than Rosetta Stone which is very expensive and the disc set or software expires in two years. I will take an advance course in Chinese; also, will take a course in reading and writing Chinese characters.

By Bhagiyam

Jun 17, 2020

First and foremost I would like to thank instructor for guiding us and teaching us thoroughly. I enjoyed this course very much and I wish it could go on for more weeks. Thank you for this wonderful opportunity. Now I am more confident with my Chinese speaking skills. Thank you for upgrading my skills with these amazing classes every week. It was always fun to be part of this course.

By Esra N

Mar 27, 2020

Helpful tips and explanations. Good explanation of the four tones. Examples are illustrated in clear contexts. I liked the course very much, so I finished it successfully in three days. I will now continue with the next course. Mrs. Xiaoyu Liu explains quite well! I had an A1 Chinese mandarin certificate (2007) and needed a refreshing course to start again, it was a perfect decision!!