Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
11,242 ratings
3,169 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

PP

Apr 25, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

SA

Jun 17, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 3,140 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Cristina Z

Sep 29, 2016

Excellent course. In my opinion, you will make more of it if you have previously studied basic Chinese. It's an excellent way to learn correct pronunciation of words (based on pinyin).

This is focused on basic every day conversations. The teacher talks very clearly and marks the tones. This is a crucial part of Chinese speaking, which by experience is the most difficult part.

Great experience.

By Pornpisut s

May 20, 2020

this website is very helpful for me and for people who would like to learn what they are interested in. Moreover, I interested in Chinese but during this situation (Covid 19) I have to drop my plan, but my friend told me that this website has multi of programs I can learn and also it all for free. Eventually, I know some basic words and can speak Chinese that is my propose. thank you so much

By Carlos C O

Dec 16, 2018

Este ha sido el mejor curso de chino en la red que he visto. Son innumerables sus ventajas. Un profesora excelente, con pedagogía de alto nivel, buena pronunciación, grata de escuchar y aprender. Los temas son básicos y quedan rápidamente evidentes. Al final te ofrecen un resumen de todo lo que has hecho y lo puedes comparar con tus apuntes, ¡pues están en chino! Un curso muy recomendable.

By Joaquin R

Mar 03, 2019

Thanks to Xiaoyu Liu for an amazing class. It is very helpful to see and hear the unfamiliar sounds or phonetics of the Chinese Language from the Instructor, Xiaoyu Liu. This is better than Rosetta Stone which is very expensive and the disc set or software expires in two years. I will take an advance course in Chinese; also, will take a course in reading and writing Chinese characters.

By Bhagiyam

Jun 17, 2020

First and foremost I would like to thank instructor for guiding us and teaching us thoroughly. I enjoyed this course very much and I wish it could go on for more weeks. Thank you for this wonderful opportunity. Now I am more confident with my Chinese speaking skills. Thank you for upgrading my skills with these amazing classes every week. It was always fun to be part of this course.

By Esra N

Mar 27, 2020

Helpful tips and explanations. Good explanation of the four tones. Examples are illustrated in clear contexts. I liked the course very much, so I finished it successfully in three days. I will now continue with the next course. Mrs. Xiaoyu Liu explains quite well! I had an A1 Chinese mandarin certificate (2007) and needed a refreshing course to start again, it was a perfect decision!!

By Hamid H

Apr 12, 2018

Really this course is very helpful. I learned many things from this course especially directions, weather,sports,time and many more things. Thank you so much to Xiaoyu Liu LAOSHI. You really did a great job. I suggest this course to all beginners who want to learn Chinese. As i am a student of Harbin Institute of Technology and i already know some basics but this course help me alot.

By WAQAR A K

May 04, 2017

I had been interested in learning Chinese. I have completed this course. It has helped me a lot. I specially thank the course instructor Associate Professor Xiaoyu Liu, the Peiking University and the Coursera Team for providing such a good course for free.

I once again thank my instructor. I will respect her if I ever meet her. Her teaching method was very polite and understandable.

By Akram T B

Apr 26, 2020

I like this course because it does not follow the traditional way of immersion when teaching a language. It uses a bilingual approach and focuses on the speaking and listening aspects of the language which I strongly believe it is the best way to start learning a new language. Of course the accent the totally Beijing accent since it is a Chinese university, so keep that in mind.

By Eanna H

Nov 30, 2018

Currently living in Taiwan with some mandarin background and this was helpful in understanding grammar (sentence structure) and vocab. Although it's a different dialect, it helped with pronunciation and context of the language. It would be helpful to see some chinese characters, but I understand it's a beginner's course so that may confuse many newcomers. All in all, thank you!!

By Adam R

Apr 29, 2020

I loved this course! The professor is fantastic and I found it very helpful in learning a base of the language. While it isn't a course that will make you fluent in Chinese, it sets you up for the future of learning more and being able to speak the basics and to pick up on words when someone is talking to you in Chinese. Overall worth the time as long as you put in the effort!

By Ana C F

Aug 19, 2019

Excellent course! The professor was amazing, very calm and clear when speaking. I learned not only the basic of Chinese, but a lot about their culture and costumes. I am really glad for being able to do this course, it was a great experience and opportunity. Many thanks to the professor, University, Coursera and everyone involved at this modern form of classroom!

By Anuchit M

Jun 13, 2020

For someone who had no knowledge of the Chinese language, this course has taught me so much. I've had an opportunity to practice my pronunciations and everyday conversations with the native speaker without even knowing anything in Chinese beforehand. I've gained confident to further my knowledge in the Chinese language. This course was very fun and detailed.

By Lewis W S

Mar 07, 2020

This program is worth it! It took me about the second week to get used to the tones but once I did I really took off. I've learned around 300 words and phrases. The teacher is great! She teaches you in sentences so you can actually communicate and understand Mandarin in everyday life. You still have to apply yourself but it's a skill that's worth the effort.

By Melanie K

Oct 29, 2017

Wonderful! Im learning chinese since 9 years but i dont practice it. I would like to go to China next year for my exchange program. This course will help me to leave their and to ask what i need during my daily life. So i will be able to pratice the language and perform myself on place.

Thanks again !

Perfect teacher and the progam is all what everybody need.

By vas m

Jun 24, 2020

As my first intro to learning Chinese, I found it enjoyable course, I found the tutor to be very good and I understood her well. An excellent presentation, short videos with plenty of exercises . I didn't pay for the certificate! One nice to have would be use of Chinese characters as well as pinyin - would have help to become familiar with from beginning.

By MARIA D L M G C

May 25, 2020

Xièxiè I

Gracias por este curso, me ha encantado comenzar chino, me ha resultado fácil y deseo seguir estudiando este idioma, me encanta la cultura y vuestro hermoso país.

Gracias

Thank you for this course, I have loved starting Chinese, it has been easy for me and I want to continue studying this language, I love culture and your beautiful country.

Thank you

By Elena W

Jul 30, 2016

The teacher was very clear and gave information at a nice, comfortable pace. I really liked the format of the class: vocabulary and grammar structures, dialogues, short quiz, and extra practice. The way she made distinctions between correct and incorrect pronunciation of certain pinyin combinations was really helpful, too. Excellent and enjoyable course!

By Machfudz A N

Jun 21, 2020

I am happy to learn this Chinese language. It is difficult in the beginning, but as time passes by, I gradually understand what is the instructor's speaking. She taught in easy way and had simple example. Nevertheless, there are some examples that did not show in her screen and sometimes there were no translations in the screen. Overall, great job!

By Milena T

Sep 05, 2016

I thought this was an excellent entry level course. I spent 10 months living in China, and was self-taught to a large extent. This course helped clear up some things I have been saying incorrectly, was simple enough to learn, yet useful for someone just starting out. I hope more advanced courses are created, I love learning the Mandarin language.

By Kelly L S

Dec 13, 2015

This was a great basic course that introduced simple pronunciation and words that can easily be transformed into building blocks for learning more Chinese. The instructor was excellent in her explanations and her articulation was extremely helpful in guiding the learner through each video. Thanks for much for a great introduction to Chinese!

By Alice X

May 19, 2020

It was a really good beginner's course. The professor carefully pronounced each word. I loved the fact that she repeated everything. It made it easier to follow and learn.

I know the focus was more on speaking and listening, but it would've been nice to have optional Chinese characters written out as we were learning rather than at the end.

By Florinda A A P G

Oct 07, 2016

It's not my first time to take a beginners course in Chinese so I already know some of the words and phrases, but this course was a good refresher course, too. The lessons were short and easy to remember. I think the expressions taught were also very practical. I hope there is a second part so I can continue my lessons in Chinese. Xie xie!

By Sayan B

Apr 20, 2018

It is a great course for anyone who wishes to learn Chinese from the absolute basics. She teaches in a manner that is very simplified and a manner in which everyone can understand. I feel that I couldn't find a better course for learning Chinese. After this course, you will be competent enough to say the most basic things about yourself.

By Nataliia I

Aug 24, 2015

Never expected that the Chinese language is so interesting. I'm so sorry that I have completed all weeks! I'm grateful for my pretty teacher. Thanks to her I would like to go on learning Chinese. I'll be in China on the 27th of August 2015. I hope my knowledge will help me to orientate in this country. Sincerely, Nataliya, Kyiv, Ukraine