Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
11,085 ratings
3,127 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SA

Jun 17, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

PP

Apr 25, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 3,093 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Syed H H B

May 25, 2020

The course is perfectly designed. The instructor has introduced me to the Chinese language with fun and interactive way. Over all it was full of learning. You wont regret after enrolling init. Perfect for beginners.

By Josbel d J L H

May 09, 2020

Es increíble poder encontrar un curso de este maravilloso idioma, además la plataforma es muy cómoda y fácil de usar, asimismo el el contenido es excelente, muchas gracias a la universidad de Pekín. Recomendadísimo.

By Antonella C

Apr 21, 2020

One of the best Chinese classes I have ever taken. So much vocabulary in such a short time. Lovely professor and great method. You really learn to understand and your listening and comprehension skills benefit a lot

By Rocío G

Apr 11, 2019

Muy bien planteado, fácil y dinámico. Me ha servido para refrescar lo que ya había estudiado y seguir adelante. Muy recomendable para los que empiezan de 0 o para los que llevamos un tiempo sin dedicarnos al idioma.

By Alix R D

Nov 30, 2015

Excelente el método y la selección de temas de utilidad para el principiante, con ese material es posible una comunicación, aunque básica, en chino. Es un curso muy ameno, la profesora es muy agradable y didáctica.

By Bereket A

Aug 25, 2015

Сәлеметсізбе, менің есімім Берекет. Мен қытай тілін үйренуді жаңадан бастап жатырмын. Бұл бейне-сабақтар топтамасының маған үлкен септігі тиіп жатыр. Дайындаған ұжымға да, ұстазымызға да үлкен алғыс білдіремін!

By DWAIPAYAN B

Jun 22, 2020

This course was very helpful to me as also it was my first foreign language. Though a bit tough, but with the lectures it was very easy to answer the assignment quizzes. Overall, it was a very good experience.

By Dean

Dec 21, 2015

All I have to say it that it is an excellent course. Highly informative and very well received and useful.

I would like to please make a request... can you include more course i.e. Chinese Intermediate Courses?

By WILLIAN F D A

Jan 18, 2019

Uma ótima opção de iniciar os estudos do idioma chinês. Achei o conteúdo fantástico e que nos permite aprender aos poucos e evoluir tanto no aprendizado de novas palavras quanto na pronúncia. Excelente curso!

By Tina D

Jan 10, 2018

It was a really helpful beginning course because the teacher made sure the pronunciation was going to be correct. The pinyin is missing from Week 7 Notes, which makes it difficult to memorize the vocabulary.

By Astrid R P

Jun 09, 2017

I learned a lot from this course, the lessons are simple and the quizzes are helpful. I'm an absolute beginner in Mandarin and I say this course is perfect for beginners! One of my great learning experiences.

By Alma S Z

Mar 20, 2017

Abarca muchos temas de convivencia y conversación, se centra en el modo de pronunciar y no distrae demasiado con la cuestión de la escritura, simplemente busca hacer que reconozcas las palabras. Muy efectivo.

By Rafael Y I

Sep 09, 2015

I am having a really good experience. The classes are very easy to understand and the quizzes help me fix the knowledge. I highly recommend this course for people who want to learn the first words in Chinese.

By Alyor K

Aug 14, 2015

Thank you very much! I used to learn Chines language in the past, but did not use it since 1997. Now I reviewed the basics, learnt something new and revised the forgotten staff. Many thanks!

Fei chang gan xie!

By Kanyawi C

May 23, 2020

Thankyou for course you’re my first chinese teacher

online for me and I very enjoy to learn with my teacher

I have learned a lot of Chinese from you and I will keep

learning too thankyou somuch teacher ❤️❤️❤️

By Pornchanok S

Oct 23, 2019

Great Chinese 101 course for beginners. Lessons are easy for beginners (like me) to understand and follow throughout the course. At the end of the course, learners can speak some basic Chinese conversations.

By Amir A S

Oct 04, 2019

Very good course for beginners. Recommended if you want to have basic essential communication skills in Chinese. Good foundation if you want to pursue a detailed course later. Course instructor is excellent.

By Jeļena E

Oct 09, 2016

Interesting course, useful subject, very nice lector. Highly appreciate the opportunity to hear the right pronunciation of Chinese words, because that's the most difficult part for me.

Thank you very much!

By William H R

Oct 26, 2015

I already knew the basics of Chinese -- but I took this course just as a refresher and to make sure I didn't miss anything.

This is a great course for people who are just starting to learn Mandarin Chinese.

By Abril C B

Jun 30, 2020

Yout get the basic oral knowledge to start with the communication skills. This was my first option to get into studying mandarin so I'll continue with more grammar vocabulary and writing. Thanks coursera!

By Nirachar T

Apr 30, 2020

This course is good for who started to learn the Chinese language and then it can use in daily life or when to travel in Chian. And, the Chinese language also gives the chance to find a job in the future.

By Hung P N

Apr 03, 2020

Although this is a free course, it is very practical with daily life topics. After we finish it, we can travel to China or Taiwan, Hongkong and can make basic conversation. Thank you very much, Liu Laoshi

By DuZifeng

May 30, 2018

i am learning so much from these courses, thank you for having this program for free, i wouldn't be able to afford schooling so i try and find something for free so i can learn, thank you again for this,

By Marcelo Q

Aug 21, 2017

Great experience & course! I could say that I learn the necessary vocabulary to introduce myself and to initiate a dialogue. I would like a second part of the course with verbs and a little more grammar.

By Patrick Z

Jun 02, 2020

It was a pleasure to take this course. I've learned Chinese in a various ways, but this is the first time I'm taking a Chinese course and it helped me a lot. The lectures and notes helped a lot. Xièxie!