Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
37,762 ratings
9,750 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

PW
May 27, 2021

useful course for fundamental learners. Everyone can take this course easily.\n\nthe instructor gives me good teaching and more information.\n\nI can basically talk to Korean after finished the class.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 9,939 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Sadé S

Apr 28, 2020

Even though i knew most of the information from week 1&2. It was still very helpful and i realize a lot of things i didn't realize earlier, when i was teaching myself korean for example :

남동생 = 남자 - 자 + 동생

여동생 = 여자 - 자 + 동생

I had just realized that Korean is great language that's easy and amazingly structured.

Thank you very much for this course I will be happy to continue

By Werada

May 30, 2021

Thank you Prof. Kang for making me clearly understand the basic Korean. I used to study the beginning course many years ago and there were so many points which I previously got confusing. But after taking this course, those have already been clarified. I shall practice more and more as Prof. Kang mentioned until I can communicate it effectively. Best regards from Thailand.

By Judith L L

May 31, 2020

A very comprehensive and structured course to learn about Korean for elementary/basic learners. I started with ZERO knowledge about the Korean language but now I know how to read! In just a mere 5 weeks course (which I managed to clear in 3 weeks). Would recommend anyone who is interested to learn about the Korean language to start from this course to grasp a good base. :)

By Syeda A A

Oct 28, 2020

This course is definitely informative for beginners and Ms. Kang {instructor}makes it soo easy for us to learn by providing detailed version of pronunciation of certain words and letters in general! It was fun to learn and by the end of it you will be able to talk and understand BASIC korean .if not so, at least you'll definitely be able to introduce yourself in korean!

By FRANCISCO J M C

Aug 10, 2021

Super bueno, la verdad vale muchísimo la pena el aplicar a este curso, aprendes muchas cosas sobre la gramática, escritura, el listening y frases y verbos de la vida cotidiana en coreano que se usan hoy en día. Sin duda alguna se lo recomendare a mis conocidos y amigos que quieran iniciar en el idioma coreano!!, 아니요. 3시에 와요 por darme esta increíble oportunidad. 안녕히 계세요!

By Annesha S

May 27, 2021

The entire course was excellently composed and presented. This course is quite helpful for beginners as Professor Kang guides you through the entire course, with detailed explanation and dedication. There are also PDF files in the reading section which you can refer to later. I enjoyed learning the course, thank you for that Professor Kang and Yonsei University! 감사합니다!!!

By YELENA Y

Mar 8, 2021

Very quick and steady pace. Kept me engaged the whole time as the conversations are taken from everyday life situations. I was amazed how quickly everything escalated - from reading single letters in week one to having a short conversations in week 5. Special thanks to the professor Seung Hae Kang. How patient and professional she is! Thank you for this amazing course!!!

By Nandini P

Oct 23, 2020

I learnt a lot through this course. Professor Kang Seung Hae is a great teacher and her pace is good for those attempting to learn for the first time. I personally knew how to read the Hangul characters beforehand and was able to finish the first week in a day. But for new learners, it is a very helpful syllabus. Thank you to everyone who put together this course! 고맙습니다!

By maria l

May 13, 2020

I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED MS 강'S LECTURES AND I LEARNT QUITE A LOT. I FEEL OBLIGED TO HER AS SHE HAS HELPED ME SORT OUT A FEW THINGS I THOUGHT I KNEW BUT ACTUALLY DIDN'T.

I HAVE TO SAY THOUGH THAT THIS COURSE MIGHT NOT BE THAT EASY FOR AN ABSOLUTE BEGINNER AS THE KOREAN PRONUNCIATION IS TRICKY. I FOUND IT A BIT DIFFICULT MYSELF THOUGH I'M NOT AN ABSOLUTE BEGINNER. THANK YOU!!!

By ibtissam r

Aug 27, 2017

It was fun and useful at the same time.. thank you for the wonderful lessons

I wanted to ask if you could send me a document proving that I learned this language ?!!

If this is possible, how can I request it ? (should I send any document to you)

And in the end, as soon as I studied in Coursera, I could write in my diatribe that I can speak Korean?

Please respond quickly .

By Christopher S

Aug 7, 2016

Really informative and detailed! It's a great step for beginners and it's amazing for review. I highly recommend it for anyone just beginning with the Korean language. It's not a difficult or easy course, it does require one to study quite a bit and do some research on the language. The PDF's are great to download and review as you keep practicing throughout the course.

By Naomi S

Jun 8, 2020

This course is great for those who either know little to none of Korean. I have learned much more through this course than I have in the last year of self-teaching. This course offers worksheets to assist you in learning how to structure sentences. I suggest printing out the worksheets ahead of the video for each unit so you can follow and makes notes along the way.

By Alyssa M D R

Jan 9, 2020

In the Introduction of this course, though I have yet to finish it (as I have only completed the Basic Vowels lesson), I have already learned so much just from the beginning. I am thankful for the free trial that the university has given and will hope to be able to support this course when time and effort enables me to. It is highly recommended and a good start for me.

By Emmanuel d L

Dec 5, 2020

This course is very helpful to first-time learners of the language. It was well-paced and well-structured. Learning the language here made it so fun and easy. However, people should take note that this is really just for the basics. What I did was to mix it up with memrise so that I learn more effectively as well, since some lessons would be tackled in both platforms.

By Linda

Nov 25, 2020

In the beginning I found the course very difficult because the tempo of the course was too fast for me as a beginner. So I started to buy a workbook outside the course and studied for a few weeks with that book. Then I restarted the course and it was much easier. But the best way to learn for me was to study the Lecture notes first and then I listened to the video's.

By Kazi S M

Jun 20, 2020

This course was very helpful.Thanks for making it available.The learning process was easy and simple.If someone is interested in Korean i would highly recommend it.The teacher that teach the class very graciously guided through the whole thing.

-고맙습니다

By Thanasorn T

Apr 28, 2020

The content is very good. With both basic knowledge of Korean such as letters, vowels, numbers, and sentence usage in a variety of situations.

English used in teaching is easy to understand. Also, they have subtitles as well, I think it can help people who are not good at English to understand the lessons more easily.

Overall, I received many benefits from this course.

By Britty D H A

Jul 18, 2021

I'm so honor to get the financial support. This course really helpful! I really enjoyed every single moment during this course. this was informative and it will boost my language skill. Prof Kang's teaching method also great and fun. I fully understand and being content. thank you very much. those have interest in learning Korean language i recommend this course ^^

By Deleted A

Oct 1, 2018

I, myself, was once clueless and would go blank whenever i'd hear a Korean person speak. Thanks to this course, i have learned to much to the point in which I am able to quite get a basic understanding of what the conversation is about and I am able to hold a conversation. If you apply yourself well and want to devote yourself into learning Korean, you will succeed.

By Jemie U

Nov 25, 2020

This course was very useful for me since I wanted to refresh my basic Korean. It was really easy to learn and follow the lessons of each module and the study notes and quiz really helped me in retaining what I have learned. I also appreciate that the video lessons include the pronunciation, vocabulary, and conversations we can use to learn and practice our Korean.

By Karla H L L

Nov 24, 2020

Es un excelente curso, nos enseñan desde las vocales y lo necesario para poder crear conversaciones de diferentes tipos, a mi consideración es muy agradable como llevan a cabo los videos, notas y exámenes, enseñan vocabulario, la forma correcta de escribir, pronunciación y significado, además lo complementan con la practica y ejemplos lo cual lo hace muy dinámico.

By Tara B

Sep 30, 2017

This was a great introductory course to the Korean language. I've self-studied Korean before, but always struggled with pronunciation, this course is great for getting pronunciation correct. The units will get you into everyday conversation which is easy to use and practice! By the end I find myself reading, writing, and listening to Korean much better. Thank you!

By Reinaline M M

Jan 31, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. Before I started the course, I already have an idea of how to read and write Hangeul. However, I struggle to differentiate between the sounds/pronounciations sometimes and could barely form sentences. This course was fantastic as I learned so many words that I can use to get by the time I get to go and travel to Korea. 고맙습니다 강승해 선생님!

By Emely M

Oct 23, 2019

for me this module really help. I think it does cover the basic that you need in order to learn basic korean words starting from the alphabet or hangeul. There's a lot of time i struggle with the pronunciation. In the future, i think it would be better if there's a guide in written in alphabet as to how to properly pronounce the words. Over all I enjoyed learning

By Connie

Aug 8, 2021

I really like the reading section after each class! Sometimes, I will download the notes & worksheet before I start watching the videos. Then I can take notes simultaneously. It really helps to learn. Hope I can improve my Korean continuously. Congrats to all the students registered in First Step Korean. Wish we can persist in learning this interesting language.