Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
39,617 ratings
10,181 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

AP
Aug 27, 2021

I have learned so much and I really enjoyed learning this beautiful language. I know that I will learn to speak and read with lots of practice and perseverance. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Geneva C

Apr 29, 2017

Well structured and paced. It provided a good introduction to the Hangul alphabet and plenty of practice in reading and pronouncing the letters and words. Some of the review dialogue fill-in-the-blanks were difficult but still doable and help to put the concepts together. It is a very good first ever class on Korean language.

By Karla a

Apr 3, 2021

Me pareció muy interesante la forma de enseñar, aún hay palabras que no logro aprender bien, pero las explicaciones siempre fueron las adecuadas; resolvieron mis dudas y me hicieron sentir que tengo en dónde apoyarme para aprender coreano. Seguiré estudiando hasta entender correctamente. ¡Gracias por la ayuda y la enseñanza!

By Angeles G V V

Jul 20, 2020

El curso es sencillo, algunas cosas si se me llegaron a dificultar ,pero nada que la práctica no ayude la me encantó la manera en que explicaba la profesora Seung Hae Kang los vídeos ya que era muy clara su manera de explicar, muy buen curso para pasar el tiempo comprender mejor la escritura y la pronunciación del Coreano.

By Simone P

May 10, 2020

This was a great intro course to Hangul. I speak a little Korean but have always wanted to learn how to read and write. Having focused and guided lessons really helped me learn the alphabet and how to write words better than any app has done for me so far. I'm really happy with the course and can't wait to continue learning!

By Pia P

Apr 17, 2020

The course starts from absolutely nothing and manages to teach its students all the basics necessary for a stable foundation in Korean. The videos are easy to understand and the culture facts important and interesting. Since the course introduces dialogue from lesson 1, it doesn't get boring or dry. Recommended for everyone!

By roger b

Nov 20, 2019

This is a great course that is systematic and clear. I really like the grammar explanations. There is a need to practice the language in each part but it is great for building knowledge and understanding of how sentences are put together. I found my listening skills really improved the most and I am understanding a lot more.

By Thitirat S

Jul 4, 2017

This too difficult but I really thanks my patient and teacher who was asking me to practice by myself. Although, it was only short program for the beginner like me who didn't have the fundamental of Korean language, I got a lot of the basic to the daily life vocabularies and conversations. I really appreciate it <3

정멀감사합니다.

By Elizabeth A

Feb 25, 2017

This course is a great way to get started in Korean . It has enough depth as to be interesting and practical, yet not overwhelming to someone who is beginning. I have taken a beginning Korean course in a classroom with a native-speaking instructor but, as I would have expected from Yonsei, this course is a much better fit.

By SANDRA V J

Jul 5, 2021

It was an intriguing learning experience. The step by step detailed explanation of pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar and sentence construction was a great help. Along with consistent practice, the course aids in effectively teaching the basics of communicating in Korean language. I'm immensely grateful for the opportunity.

By ilse v

Jun 25, 2020

It was really well explained! With this course you get to know the basics of Korean language like the alpahabet, how to conjugate verbs, ask and write simple but useful sentences (like asking for the time), and there are pdf's with the review of each lesson! . I believe it is a good start to learn the language! Thank you!!

By queenie a

Jun 8, 2020

It was my first time studying KOREAN and I'm glad that I decided to do it. The course is very systematic and easy to learn. I learned a lot and now I am going to use this course to further enhance my skills and understanding about the language. Also, the whole lecture series is clear and concise and I love how Ms 강해승 teach.

By VIANA E A P

Nov 17, 2021

Estoy contenta de haber me inscrito en este curso, pienso deben quedar dudas, el idioma y sus palabras no son faciles, sin embargo el video y el material ayudan bastante, yo no se ingles, podria ser mejor si supiera. Escuchar muy importante como se pronuncian las palabras muy feliz de terminarlo con exito. Muchas gracias.

By Adriana H

Feb 27, 2021

Congratulations! Your course is very good, I'm happy I did it, it was interesting and good for my knowledge because I had no idea what the language was like, the course made it easier for me to learn the basics of the language. Finally I would like you to consider creating more course on this. sincerely my congratulations.

By Sanchez B I

Oct 12, 2020

I loved it very much, the explanations are clear, solve doubts, and the videos, as well as the presentations, are very interactive, dynamic, and attractive, now I have much more knowledge in terms of learning Korean, which is one of my dreams, I'll continue studying and make sure to do better. Thank you very much!!! 감사합니다!

By Lovely H B

Aug 2, 2020

Hello, I first started on my own learning the grammar and then took this course, It made me understand that I was lacking of pronunciation and the basis of history, this really helped me a lot more!

You were supposed to finish this within 5 weeks but i finised it in 4 days, so.. if you are truly into it, you can do it! 화이팅!

By Arlen N T C

Sep 22, 2019

I enjoyed this course! I finished it after coming back for the second time (I didn't have time) and the videos were very helpful to explain the language. The exercises were in my opinion the best part since I had to put into practice and think about what I learned. I think is a complete course as a basic level. Thank you!

By Yulieth D C L

Apr 12, 2021

It's a really comprehensive course, the time is a bit skewed. I had to designate about 1 hour or 1hr30 to each video in each unit to be able to fully understand and internalize the concepts and meanings of the topics and vocabulary. But other than that i really enjoyed the course, it was well pased and beginner friendly.

By Marianne J E B

Sep 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! Before I started, I just wasn't able to understand the structure of the sentences I was reading. During the 5 weeks, that I followed this course I learned how to make sentences and how to pronounce many different words.

I also really appreciated the clear examples used to clarify the matter!

By Natalia X C P

May 18, 2020

Excelente curso, sin embargo mi idioma nativo es el español y me encontré que varias videos de la semana 4 en adelante no se encontraban traducidos completamente aunque puedo decifrar algunas palabras mi ingles no es fluido por lo que esto me causo un poco de problemas sin embargo excelente, me encanto, aprendi bastante

By Johana M

May 14, 2020

Excelent course and even more excellent instructor. The course includes a lot of vocabulary and practice to get familiar with it.

The classes advance at a steady peace. It's never overwhelming and yet teaches you a lot.

I recommend going back on your notes after the final week :) . The syllabus is amazingly well structured

By Amnuaysak T

Apr 15, 2020

The course covers most of the very basic things needed to know and learn of Korean language.

The professor is good and always gives learners a little things that are good to understand the language further.

I recommend anyone who want to learn Korean language to start from this course.

Amnuaysak Thoonsiri

April 15, 2020.

By Sneha S

May 25, 2021

I am very thank full to Coursera for offering us this course through which we got to learn about the basics of korean language.

Wish I could personally greet and thank our teacher.

I would suggest to go for this course whosoever is enthusiastic to learn korean.

I am looking forward to go to the next level in this language.

By SUSY V

May 13, 2021

estoy muy feliz de haber concretado el curso, de ahora en adelante lo pondré en practica y algún día viajare a Corea del Sur para conocer con mas profundidad sus costumbres, cultura y hablar fluidamente su idioma. excelente la profesora que transmitió de una manera u otra sus conocimientos. Felicitaciones .Aprendí mucho

By Chandra

Nov 15, 2020

This is a very good course, many thanks to Yonsei University for kindly granting the opportunity to attend this course,

One difficulty I experienced is regarding pronunciation of some letters which appear to vary in different contexts. Also, clear instruction may be given where we have to use Korean and Chinese numerals.

By Obianuju I

Oct 12, 2020

I learned many verbs and how to conjugate the present tense, a lot of vocabulary and sentence structure. My favorite aspect of this course was that I got to practice my listening and reading skills with the quizzes. I also practiced writing, by copying out the vocabulary rather than printing the PDF files. 고맙습니다, 선생님.