Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
28,360 ratings
7,574 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

Filter by:

6826 - 6850 of 7,536 Reviews for First Step Korean

By María d C M V

Oct 28, 2020

Me gustó mucho el curso. Fue muy entretenido, además de que aprendes sobre la cultura coreana. Lo que si me gustaría es que coloquen la pronunciación en el material, pues hay algunas cosas que no estuve pronunciando bien y tuve que buscar por mi cuenta. Fuera de eso, muy eficiente el programa. Recomendado.

By AANCHAL T

Jun 15, 2020

This course is very good for the students who want to learn Korean from the basics .It includes all the necessary skills for daily communication in Korean language.One point to be mentioned is that the pronunciation for the words might be given in English for easy understanding to a larger set of audience.

By Amos T R S

Jun 3, 2017

Could have more lessons regarding communicating in Korea. For example "do you know how to speak English?" , "Could you please lower the price.", etc... I believe most of the students that are attending course would be future tourist or are tourist of the country and this would help with their communication

By Valérie V

Oct 27, 2019

I think the course was well done and very interesting!

The only minus is about the text transcript: except for the first video, all korean text was replaced by [FOREIGN], which makes it useles to take notes. The only transcript who seems to have kept the korean text in the transcript is Simplified chinese.

By Tansara N

May 26, 2020

The contents are really good and it 's basically all the basic korean for a beginner that I got to learn how to greet in korean and also basic conversation. Also, the way the instructor explain stuffs to learners were quite clear and simplified. However, the voice of the instructor was in a monotone.

By Mariana

Jul 16, 2020

It was very helpful, but I think it would be better if some basic information was explained. For example: is it necessary to use the subject like in Enlglish, or if the conjugations learnt are used for all pronouns. Nonetheless, the rest of the information was clear and well explained. Thank you.

By Nikita N

Mar 12, 2016

I just previewed the course and the tutorials are hassle free and simple to learn from! I knew a few basic things about Korean and the videos helped me brush up on my past knowledge. I'm looking forward to the current session of the course to begin so I can complete it and be better at Korean!

By Alexandra P

Sep 23, 2020

Muy buen curso. Lo recomiendo para principiantes definitivamente. La profesora tiene muy buena dicción por lo que se entiende excelente al momento de pronunciar y diferenciar una palabra de otra. No le doy 5 estrellas ya que me hubiese gustado aprender otras cosas que me parecen más básicas.

By Dhanty P

May 16, 2020

At first I was able to follow the lessons until the 3rd part. But for the 4-5th lesson it's a bit hard, especially when I have to memorize the spell and the letters. Since it can be meaning different. After completing the course, I think I will need to learn again from my notes. 감사합니다 선생님

By Katherine M V

Feb 22, 2021

Para ser un curso básico de coreano es bastante completo. No le doy las 5 estrellas porque siento que le falta practicar más el abecedario coreano al inicio del curso. Desde el segundo pdf ya está todo en hangul. Eso hace que se vuelva un poco difícil.

Tiene mucha práctica y vocabulario.

By Chloe M

May 10, 2020

It was a really good course. The only feedback would be: sometimes there were words used in the dialogue that were not introduced to us before or after the conversation, or throughout the whole lecture video. I also wish there was an online method to fill out the notes and review.

By Kristyn S

Nov 7, 2016

The videos went a bit fast for me and the course tried to cover too many things in each video in my opinion, but overall it was a good introduction to Korean! The lecture notes were very helpful--I recommend printing them off and using them to follow along with the lecture videos.

By Porncharas S

Jun 18, 2020

This course is very informative and help learners understand Korean language from the basic. Professor is really good at grammar explanation. However, I would like to suggest the course to provide the phonetic of vocabulary that will make the learners pronouncing them correctly.

By Devillers A

Dec 9, 2020

The lessons are really interesant with many vocabulary, but it could be really nice to have some reaction expressions, banmal etc. I love the concept with the conversations, on the other part the exercices doesn't change. Also I really appreciate the quizz. Thanks you so much!

By Ariadna B

Aug 23, 2020

Me gusto mucho este curso, te explica muy bien las cosas básicas que podrías utilizar.

Las primeras lecciones fueron muy entendibles y con este curso termine de memorizar y aprender todo el hangul. Las últimas lecciones no están traducidas, así que me fue un poco más difícil.

By Jean D O O

Jul 20, 2019

¡Me gustó mucho este curso! cada vídeo me enseñó sobre todo lo básico que necesito saber para empezar a aprender coreano. Les recomiendo que se traduzcan mejor los subtítulos en español; los subtítulos de la semana 5 estaban en inglés aunque selecccionara el idioma español.

By Diana B

Nov 16, 2020

Personally, as a Foreign Languages graduated I was expecting for more grammar points. However, it's a good course for an introduction and basic Korean communication skills. The subtitles, however, could be better if they didn't ommit the korean words usind the '[FOREIGN]'.

By Cole B

Dec 31, 2020

This course offers a great introduction to the Korean language. This course covers reading, writing, speaking, and listening. Overall, the course was very pleasant and smooth. I do encourage students to devote as much time to studying as they can, in-between each module.

By Noemí R H

Oct 4, 2020

El curso estuvo muy entendible, y te va guiando paso a paso, al final del curso tines la habilidad de formular una conversación con temas de la vida diaria, como presentarte, dar la hora, preguntar sobre qué hace la otra persona, etcétera. Para mí fue un excelente curso

By Anusowmiya A

May 17, 2020

The lectures were very fruitful. This was my first attempt in learning Korean and I am happy to have begun it with a course in Yonsei University. The Lecture notes were helpful too. As a beginner I am proud of my comprehension of Korean. I owe this to the online course.

By somaya T

Mar 22, 2020

I really liked the videos and the explanation, and i want to keep learning ❤

I'm currently studying Korean at The Korean Culture Centre in Egypt '세종학당에소 한국어를 배워요', but because of the Corona virus we are taking a break, so i enjoyed keeping in touch with Korean.

감사합니다 ❤

By Susan E

Feb 25, 2016

I have studied Korean for about 10 months and still found some of the information useful. The numbers and dates always confuse me till this day. Quizzes were on average too easy, just listening or multiple choice. The answers were easy to find without much thought.

By Guillermina L G

May 30, 2020

ME GUSTO, PERO EL LA SEMANA 5 NO ESTA TODA TRADUCIDA AL ESPAÑOL Y ME COSTO MAS TRABAJO POR QUE NO SE INGLES, ME CUESTA TRABAJO EL VOCABULARIO, NO ENTENDIA LA CONJUGACION DE VERBOS Y LAS PARTICULAS.

SI RECOMIENDO EL CURSO ME DIVERTI APRENDIENDO, GRACIAS POR EL CURSO

By Shaina K R

Sep 30, 2020

Professor Kang was excellent in her teaching! I learned a lot! Although since it's a beginner course, I have hoped there was a 'romanization' part in every new word presented--especially since correct pronunciation is imperative in any language! Still, thank you!

By Ana S

Feb 8, 2021

Very useful to start learning.

I would give it 5 stars but I find the structure a bit mixed up sometimes, with vocabulary repeated and words in the assignment that are given in the following unit.

All and all, thank you very much for the opportunity to start up!