Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
38,916 ratings
10,021 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

PW
May 27, 2021

useful course for fundamental learners. Everyone can take this course easily.\n\nthe instructor gives me good teaching and more information.\n\nI can basically talk to Korean after finished the class.

Filter by:

1126 - 1150 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Piyarat T

Apr 21, 2020

I really love this course so much. Easy to Learn! and a professionnal have a great English pronunciation that make me get easy to understand :) Thank you so much for First Step Korean. This course is very useful :-)

By Sude Y

Sep 2, 2018

I found the course very helpful and have a solid understanding of basic korean in the areas that were taught. Thank you so much Yonsei University for this opportunity as well as Mrs Seung! She is an amazing teacher!

By Inês P C

Sep 4, 2016

I liked it. I am Brazilian and, though english is not my first language, it was very easy to understand the explanations. The korean was very well explained too, and helped me on my own self studies of the language.

By Vanessa

Sep 5, 2021

to Seung Kae Hae ssaem, Coursera, and Yonsei Univ. Thank you so much for teaching me very patiently, im so happy i can finish my korean languange in online course Yonsei University. Can't wait to lean more! 감사합니다

By prerna p

Apr 25, 2021

This course is really helpful for the beginners... It explains each details of a conversation... practice this daily would really help to be more confident comfortable and fluent in Korean language....love korea!!!

By Mei C C

Feb 25, 2021

This course had been very helpful to me. It helped me understand why and what words had to be used in a certain way. Thank you Professor Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University for facilitating this course at Cousera.

By vivian

Sep 8, 2020

this really help me to learn things from everyday life! and the explanation is so clear and simple, not hard to follow also, the quiz as well. its easy and simple, but you have to pay attention carefully. thankyou!

By Diana B

Aug 17, 2020

I want to get certificate but I don't have money for now to purchased certificate. I'm currently unemployed because of pandemic.

I'm very happy that Yonsei University provide this kind of course.. Thank you so much

By Olga B

Jul 31, 2020

es war der beste kurs den ich je mitgemacht habe ich hoffe es kommt so schnell wie möglich weitere Kurse von dieser wunderbaren universität mit der besten Lehrerin kumapsimnida (ich habe keien Koreanische Tastatur)

By Eurídice R E

Feb 17, 2019

No sabía mucho sobre el idioma coreano, por lo que este curso me pareció un buen primer acercamiento a la que yo considero una enigmática lengua. Lo recomiendo sobre todo a aquellos que deseen empezar a aprenderla.

By Mega K A O

Oct 23, 2021

This course really helped me in understanding the basics of Korean, the explanations were easy to understand, and the quizzes provided also helped to evaluate my abilities. thank you very much "first step korean".

By Thida T

Jun 20, 2021

I really thanks to Yonsei University for providing this course and looking forward to provide Advanced for Korean Language. I would like to learn Korea language more and speak fluently.

With regards, Thida, Myanmar

By Jackie A

Jan 22, 2021

I really liked to learn with this course, it would be great if there were a second part. I could learn how to write and read Korean. Thank you very much for having this space to help people to learn something new.

By Stephanie I

Dec 10, 2020

This course is quite easy to understand and the material is good. This course helps me to understand the Korean language well. You should take this course if you want to improve your skills in the Korean language.

By NITCHAON N

Dec 7, 2020

Dear Instructor Seung Hae Kang,

Thank you for your lecture First Step Korean.

I love to learn Korean Language.

This course is easy for the beginner.

Thank you very much.

Best regards.

Nitchaon Nithipatikhom

from THAILAND

By Neetu T

Aug 13, 2020

Awesome Course.. Material and the Professor was the best thing happened to me, Learning from alphabets to numbers, I was able to learn and read and write basic Korean sentences and understand.

Khamsamita

Saranghe <3

By Marienna D L N

Aug 11, 2020

This course, is very complete. I learned much about gramatical estructure in the sentences and others things basics for communicated with the people. I recommend this course with this teacher in Yonsei University.

By Ainul F C R

Jul 12, 2020

Firstly, I'm sorry for my broken english. Such a pleasure learn hangul from Seung Hae seonsaengnim. It was fun and clearly understand. Thank you so much for everyone behind this course, I send you all my grateful.

By SOPHIA I A

Jul 9, 2020

Learning language is never easy but with the help of Professor Sung Hae Kang, learning Korean is bearable. Thank you so much Yonsei University for the chance to learn Korean and your culture as well. Kamsahamnida!

By Javiera L A

Jun 29, 2020

El curso tiene un buen método de enseñanza, provee de un vocabulario de uso cotidiano, además genera espacios de estudio personal y colectivo a través de los foros. De fácil comprensión con subtítulos adicionales.

By Skye T

Jun 11, 2020

Very detailed and easy to follow course! Perfect for beginners. I wish you would add more details on how to change the verb and 'yo'. And may you have Second Step Korean course? That would be awesome! Komabsubnita

By Maryn E V M

May 14, 2020

I learned a lot from this course and it encourages me to learn more about korean language. The instructions are rather clear and easy to understand. Highly recommend this course for those who want to learn korean.

By Sanjukta B

Nov 30, 2017

Very helpful course for beginners. Acquiring pronunciation skills may take time, but I can definitely say that I can identify Hangul characters and can read the words formed. Thank you Professor Kang and Coursera!

By Tony L

Aug 26, 2017

This class is definitely more than I expected. Especially the first a few weeks when explaining the origin of Korean language, it really helps me to better understand the meaning and the construction of the words.

By Pragustiajeng 2

Oct 12, 2021

I've taken a Korean language course before, but this one is unquestionably more efficient because the schedule is so flexible and I can attend class anywhere and at any time. Thank you so much, this is fantastic.