Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
29,640 ratings
7,900 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

Filter by:

7126 - 7150 of 7,853 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Chloe M

May 10, 2020

It was a really good course. The only feedback would be: sometimes there were words used in the dialogue that were not introduced to us before or after the conversation, or throughout the whole lecture video. I also wish there was an online method to fill out the notes and review.

By Kristyn S

Nov 7, 2016

The videos went a bit fast for me and the course tried to cover too many things in each video in my opinion, but overall it was a good introduction to Korean! The lecture notes were very helpful--I recommend printing them off and using them to follow along with the lecture videos.

By P. S

Jun 18, 2020

This course is very informative and help learners understand Korean language from the basic. Professor is really good at grammar explanation. However, I would like to suggest the course to provide the phonetic of vocabulary that will make the learners pronouncing them correctly.

By Devillers A

Dec 9, 2020

The lessons are really interesant with many vocabulary, but it could be really nice to have some reaction expressions, banmal etc. I love the concept with the conversations, on the other part the exercices doesn't change. Also I really appreciate the quizz. Thanks you so much!

By Ariadna B

Aug 23, 2020

Me gusto mucho este curso, te explica muy bien las cosas básicas que podrías utilizar.

Las primeras lecciones fueron muy entendibles y con este curso termine de memorizar y aprender todo el hangul. Las últimas lecciones no están traducidas, así que me fue un poco más difícil.

By Jean D O O

Jul 20, 2019

¡Me gustó mucho este curso! cada vídeo me enseñó sobre todo lo básico que necesito saber para empezar a aprender coreano. Les recomiendo que se traduzcan mejor los subtítulos en español; los subtítulos de la semana 5 estaban en inglés aunque selecccionara el idioma español.

By Diana B

Nov 16, 2020

Personally, as a Foreign Languages graduated I was expecting for more grammar points. However, it's a good course for an introduction and basic Korean communication skills. The subtitles, however, could be better if they didn't ommit the korean words usind the '[FOREIGN]'.

By Cole B

Dec 31, 2020

This course offers a great introduction to the Korean language. This course covers reading, writing, speaking, and listening. Overall, the course was very pleasant and smooth. I do encourage students to devote as much time to studying as they can, in-between each module.

By Noemí R H

Oct 4, 2020

El curso estuvo muy entendible, y te va guiando paso a paso, al final del curso tines la habilidad de formular una conversación con temas de la vida diaria, como presentarte, dar la hora, preguntar sobre qué hace la otra persona, etcétera. Para mí fue un excelente curso

By Anusowmiya A

May 17, 2020

The lectures were very fruitful. This was my first attempt in learning Korean and I am happy to have begun it with a course in Yonsei University. The Lecture notes were helpful too. As a beginner I am proud of my comprehension of Korean. I owe this to the online course.

By Paula P

Mar 21, 2021

Es un curso muy completo y claro, Además de que te enseña no solo sobre el idioma sino también sobre la cultura. Lo único que creo es que deberían poner subtítulos en español en todos los videos, ya que en los últimos cuando le das click en español, aparecen en ingles

By somaya T

Mar 22, 2020

I really liked the videos and the explanation, and i want to keep learning ❤

I'm currently studying Korean at The Korean Culture Centre in Egypt '세종학당에소 한국어를 배워요', but because of the Corona virus we are taking a break, so i enjoyed keeping in touch with Korean.

감사합니다 ❤

By Susan E

Feb 25, 2016

I have studied Korean for about 10 months and still found some of the information useful. The numbers and dates always confuse me till this day. Quizzes were on average too easy, just listening or multiple choice. The answers were easy to find without much thought.

By Guillermina L G

May 30, 2020

ME GUSTO, PERO EL LA SEMANA 5 NO ESTA TODA TRADUCIDA AL ESPAÑOL Y ME COSTO MAS TRABAJO POR QUE NO SE INGLES, ME CUESTA TRABAJO EL VOCABULARIO, NO ENTENDIA LA CONJUGACION DE VERBOS Y LAS PARTICULAS.

SI RECOMIENDO EL CURSO ME DIVERTI APRENDIENDO, GRACIAS POR EL CURSO

By Shaina K R

Sep 30, 2020

Professor Kang was excellent in her teaching! I learned a lot! Although since it's a beginner course, I have hoped there was a 'romanization' part in every new word presented--especially since correct pronunciation is imperative in any language! Still, thank you!

By Ana S

Feb 8, 2021

Very useful to start learning.

I would give it 5 stars but I find the structure a bit mixed up sometimes, with vocabulary repeated and words in the assignment that are given in the following unit.

All and all, thank you very much for the opportunity to start up!

By Nidaa Q

Jun 21, 2020

Really loved this course, it was really easy to follow. Only thing that I would have liked was for the spoken examples to be repeated more than once to properly understand, as when speaking it can be a bit too fast for beginners. However, overall a great course!

By Nathakorn A

Apr 20, 2020

When I already finished the course, I have a simple skill to read easy words but use a lot of time. I should study this course with more practice. Some sentence speaks too fast but it's okay if replay and repeat many times. Thank you so much to have this course.

By Irina J

Jun 8, 2020

Overall it was a very good course and really easy to do! i found that week 4 and 5 were a bit challenging due to the amount of material you need to learn but regardless im really happy I took it and now i can read,write, and understand some words which is great

By Jhamile G

Aug 10, 2020

Estas semanas fueron una experiencia muy divertida! Las dos ultimas semanas no están por competo en español, pero por suerte sé un poco de ingles y no se me dificulto entender. Mi próximo reto es el chino, pero creo que seguire estudiando ingles y coreano haha

By Ishita S

Apr 11, 2021

The course is very well adjusted for beginners starting with a basic understanding of the language and tackles important elements like time, work and verbs. More assignments would provide even better learning environment for students across the world. 감사합니다

By Damarís R

Jun 20, 2020

Me gusto mucho el curso, lástima que los últimos videos no esten en español, pero estan los documentos en la sala de discusión.

La manera en la enseñan me gusto. No es q sea fácil, pero en muy práctica y muy bien estructurada.

Espero actualizen los videos

By Juan R Z V

Jul 16, 2020

aveces los subtitulos estaba en ingles aun cuando los ponía en español , y eso me trajo muchos problemas al entender pero la señorita del curso lo resumía y era mas fácil aprenderlo así , me agrado el curso pero por favor corrijan el problema de los subs

By Miriam C

Jun 28, 2020

It was really interesting! It made learning some of the basics of the Korean language fun and easy! It would be nice if it could also include more common phrases and the informal part of the Korean language. Other than that, it is a great course to take!

By JIRANAN R

May 25, 2020

Some units have duplicate vocabulary. Would you like to add more variety of them and vocabulary in daily life is missing for examples position and location on on at bottom left right etc.And I enjoy your class so much hope you add more classes thankyou.