Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
33,486 ratings
8,612 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

PW
May 27, 2021

useful course for fundamental learners. Everyone can take this course easily.\n\nthe instructor gives me good teaching and more information.\n\nI can basically talk to Korean after finished the class.

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 8,595 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Jasmine J

Aug 28, 2020

Overall, a brilliant course and First Step into learning Korean. I loved the lesson and the availability of the worksheets, however particles and vocabulary were often added with a only brief explanation of them. I would have liked a bit longer sessions to practice the new or additional information, rather than just repeating the new phrases to better help them stick. Thank You for making this available!

By Rasika M K

Oct 9, 2020

I already had my basics but this course made it more clear and now I can confidently talk about my daily life and converse. I'm even able to differentiate words that I learned here while watching dramas, movies, or listening to songs. It's a complete basic course and your should go through it absolutely so you can advance further in the language. Hope you will enjoy the course and learn something new ^^

By Priyanka S

Jun 13, 2020

Absolutely loved the course. Perfect for beginners. Practice is key definitely in learning any language and Korean is no different. I have learnt so much from this course. Totally recommend it to anyone trying to learn this language. Thank you so much. Also I m really grateful for all the mentors who would answer all the queries in the discussion forums promptly. Really appreciate it. Thank you so much.

By Marianne O

Oct 27, 2020

Personally, enrolling a language online course is more helpful than self-studying because when I'm studying alone I only tend to write and memorize without really applying it and practicing the pronunciation and stuff. Secondly, the teacher is really good at teaching. The lessons are also at normal pace. I recommend everyone who wants to learn Korean to enroll to this! Thank you for the fruitful month!

By Victoria S

Jun 18, 2020

너무 너무 감사합니다!!!

I knew some Korean before taking this class so I wanted to take this course and see how much I knew, this course has helped me with some grammar and a lot of vocabulary also it has encouraged me to learn more and more about this beautiful language. I think with a lot of hard work I could at least understand sentences and read without the necessity of look into the dictionary all the time.

By asfaari r

Jun 24, 2017

Thank you very much seon saeng nim, I have learnt so many basic knowledge about Korean language, and it was very interesting. I was enjoying the lecturer so much. The lesson has been taught in very good way. I could understand the material very easily. Hopefully I could learn more about Korean language and become a fluent Korean speaker one day.. Thank you so much for your great lesson seon saeng nim..

By Kemly O C

Jul 30, 2016

Excelente curso y ampliamente recomendado. Gracias a las bases que he aprendido con "First Step Korean" y al apoyo de buenos amigos coreanos que he conocido online, puedo mejorar y poner en práctica los conceptos. Agradezco la oportunidad de aprender las bases del idioma coreano y la introducción a una nueva cultura. En el futuro, espero participar de nuevos cursos impartidos por la Universidad Yonsei.

By Gopika G

Oct 29, 2020

I got to learn the language, it's pronunciation and a how to start a friendly conversation in Korean language through this course. The tests where challenging enough, and I am pretty sure, with a proper continuous practice, I could be fluent as well as learn more of the language. Thank you for helping me learn this language as well as for encouraging me to dwell into it even after the course is over.

By Tram N

Jul 26, 2020

The materials are clear and easy to follow. The course teaches me some basic ways to make a conversation in Korean. Also, there are a lot of vocabulary to learn from in this course. Of course, not all Korean vocab is here, but it's helpful to learn quite a bit from this course alone. Would highly recommend for beginners wanting to get a first glimpse of Korean language. I really enjoy the course !!

By Dhanushka E

Feb 21, 2020

I am addicted to watch Korean tv series and its impressed me to learn Korean language, when I joined this program I know some of the words such as unni, oppa, harapuji and so and so on, when I started this course it drive me to the real world and I really engaged with this, and I need to thank Professor to teach the lesson in a way in which we can clearly understand, thank you so much. Kamsahamnida

By bryce g

Apr 11, 2021

i really liked this course and it gives you good thorough explanations to grammar structures. it may move a little fast for some but that's because of the 5 week span of basic korean. this is very good with helping you develop you vocab as well as improving your pronunciations. an important is that this course goes over more formal polite korean. overall great course and would recommend to people!

By Phoebe R L

Aug 14, 2020

Thank you for this course. I am able to understand sentence construction of Koreans. Also I may be able to understand some of the words from the vocabulary of this course and use it in a simple Korean sentence. I am confident that I may be able to create sentences when in a basic Korean conversation with my co-students. I hope Yonsei will provide more courses like this to help us to develop more.

By Tung N

Apr 12, 2016

FSK was well designed with clear explanation and relevant examples. This course is good for beginners, to those who are new to Korean and only know some Korean words though its dramas or musics. I hope to see the Second Step Korean course (or higher courses) from Yonsei in the coming months. Thanks professor and the course team for your hard work in getting this course up and running on Coursera!

By Andrea S V S

Mar 15, 2021

Aprendí bastante rápido, aunque me gustaría que añadieran vocabulario. La estructura del lenguaje me quedó en mi mente. Puedo leer, escuchar y entender coreano básico. ¿Recomiendo el curso? Sólo si quieres aprender a llevar conversaciones cotidianas y aprender la gramática y las reglas gramaticales. Si vas en un nivel avanzado de coreano donde ya dominas esto, entonces este curso no es para ti.

By Cheonsa D

Nov 28, 2020

I loved the classroom style lectures, it really helped me to focus and take learning Korean more seriously. While there are PDFs for the course notes, I really suggest writing out your own notes as well because it has helped me to memorize things better, plus my Korean handwriting is becoming much more natural this way. I've been recommending this course to everyone who wants to learn Korean!

By M 1

Jun 25, 2020

Este es un curso realmente bueno, me ayudó mucho a conocer más vocabulario en Coreano e incluso me ayudó a leer un poco más, me encanta.

Lo único es que hay clases que no tienen subtitulos en español, para mi no fue difícil por que también hablo inglés, pero pueden haber personas que no entiendan el inglés por lo tanto les va a costar más avanzar, pero por todo lo de más es excelente este curso

By Cheryl T H

Jun 6, 2020

Thank you Coursera and Yonsei University for putting this First Step Korean lessons together. The lessons were easy to understand and complete. It helped me to better understand the vocabulary, sentence structure and pronunciation. Thank you so much for Professor Kang who worked hard to explain each lesson. I really appreciate everyone's hard work to present such an amazing On Line class.

By Sarah A A

Jun 20, 2020

It really is clear and very helpful for first-time Korean learner as it gives the basic of Korean language and gives a foundation in understanding the language. Classes are clear, we get all parts needed in studying a language. Reading, Speaking, Listening, and also Writing (by practicing ourselves using the review session). I look forward to more advanced classes and is excited to take them!

By Iosephf E M S

Jun 21, 2018

Este curso es perfecto para una iniciación al idioma coreano, sin embargo es muy importante el estudio por tu cuenta para no quedar rezagado durante el mismo.En lo personal, es un curso para principiantes con un leve conocimiento del hangul, considero que es necesario un estudio previo acerca del hangul para evitar confusiones en la pronunciación de sílabas, a su vez, de palabras y oraciones.

By marco a v

Aug 27, 2020

Fue un curso diferente y hermoso de realizar mediante este curso comprendí y aprendí varios puntos del idioma y del país de Corea, es agradable poder aprender más de una cultura y más aún si es través de su idioma siendo esto uno de los mejores cursos de idioma o de mi misma área de aprendizaje que he cursado hasta ahora, gracias por brindarnos este y por hacer que sea gratis Gracias. 감사합니다.

By Lisawaty

Apr 16, 2020

At first I cannot make sense at all how to read the Korean letters. It seems like Kanji. But, after I take this course, I find that Hangul is much simpler than I thought, it is not like Kanji at all. In fact, reading it just like reading a Romanian alphabet with combination of vowel and consonants. Thank you so much Professor Seung Hae Kang for developing such a good course with good videos!

By Adriano H S

Feb 12, 2019

Very nice course. The big problem is the time your servers take to provide de video. I am in a 2Mbps internet line (FTTH) and it takes 10 min to open. After that lot of spikes in transmission, which become very dificult to follow the teacher. But your course survey was fast, which make me think it is not same provider infrastructure. But anyway, i am still on the first section and i like it.

By Nuttaporn

Jun 14, 2020

i studied your course from Thailand. So this course is so so good for the beginner like me. It easy to understand, have a picture and some detail of the lesson in the video to explain more things. Thank you so much to Ms.Seung Hae Kang and the team who handle and prepare all the things about this course. I will keep learning about Korean language. However, Thank you so much again. 감사합니다!!

By Joanne F M

Apr 9, 2020

I have learned a lot. I gained much confidence in speaking and making simple sentences that I can use in interacting with my Korean friends and other Korean language learners. The modules are well-organized especially the way Professor Seung Hae Kang explained each lesson made it easy to learn and understand. Thank you so much Professor for the wonderful learning experience you taught us.

By Cheng-Yin T

May 28, 2017

the lessons are designed well for a beginner. It build up my confidence to recognize the Korean alphabets through the dialogs. Meanwhile, repeating the form of the sentences get used to speak Korean for learners. Daily life conversations sometimes matched with Korean dramas I watched. With clear and slower speaking speed I can understand the sentence easily. I like this course very much.