Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
38,606 ratings
9,954 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AP
Aug 27, 2021

I have learned so much and I really enjoyed learning this beautiful language. I know that I will learn to speak and read with lots of practice and perseverance. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

RN
Oct 6, 2021

This course is really a great start to learn Korean language. It taught me Hangul, particles used, vocabularies and how sentences are made. Thank you to Professor Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By queenie a

Jun 8, 2020

It was my first time studying KOREAN and I'm glad that I decided to do it. The course is very systematic and easy to learn. I learned a lot and now I am going to use this course to further enhance my skills and understanding about the language. Also, the whole lecture series is clear and concise and I love how Ms 강해승 teach.

By Adriana H

Feb 27, 2021

Congratulations! Your course is very good, I'm happy I did it, it was interesting and good for my knowledge because I had no idea what the language was like, the course made it easier for me to learn the basics of the language. Finally I would like you to consider creating more course on this. sincerely my congratulations.

By Sanchez B I

Oct 12, 2020

I loved it very much, the explanations are clear, solve doubts, and the videos, as well as the presentations, are very interactive, dynamic, and attractive, now I have much more knowledge in terms of learning Korean, which is one of my dreams, I'll continue studying and make sure to do better. Thank you very much!!! 감사합니다!

By Lovely H B

Aug 2, 2020

Hello, I first started on my own learning the grammar and then took this course, It made me understand that I was lacking of pronunciation and the basis of history, this really helped me a lot more!

You were supposed to finish this within 5 weeks but i finised it in 4 days, so.. if you are truly into it, you can do it! 화이팅!

By Arlen N T C

Sep 22, 2019

I enjoyed this course! I finished it after coming back for the second time (I didn't have time) and the videos were very helpful to explain the language. The exercises were in my opinion the best part since I had to put into practice and think about what I learned. I think is a complete course as a basic level. Thank you!

By Yulieth D C L

Apr 12, 2021

It's a really comprehensive course, the time is a bit skewed. I had to designate about 1 hour or 1hr30 to each video in each unit to be able to fully understand and internalize the concepts and meanings of the topics and vocabulary. But other than that i really enjoyed the course, it was well pased and beginner friendly.

By Marianne J E B

Sep 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! Before I started, I just wasn't able to understand the structure of the sentences I was reading. During the 5 weeks, that I followed this course I learned how to make sentences and how to pronounce many different words.

I also really appreciated the clear examples used to clarify the matter!

By Natalia X C P

May 18, 2020

Excelente curso, sin embargo mi idioma nativo es el español y me encontré que varias videos de la semana 4 en adelante no se encontraban traducidos completamente aunque puedo decifrar algunas palabras mi ingles no es fluido por lo que esto me causo un poco de problemas sin embargo excelente, me encanto, aprendi bastante

By Johana M

May 14, 2020

Excelent course and even more excellent instructor. The course includes a lot of vocabulary and practice to get familiar with it.

The classes advance at a steady peace. It's never overwhelming and yet teaches you a lot.

I recommend going back on your notes after the final week :) . The syllabus is amazingly well structured

By Amnuaysak T

Apr 15, 2020

The course covers most of the very basic things needed to know and learn of Korean language.

The professor is good and always gives learners a little things that are good to understand the language further.

I recommend anyone who want to learn Korean language to start from this course.

Amnuaysak Thoonsiri

April 15, 2020.

By Sneha S

May 25, 2021

I am very thank full to Coursera for offering us this course through which we got to learn about the basics of korean language.

Wish I could personally greet and thank our teacher.

I would suggest to go for this course whosoever is enthusiastic to learn korean.

I am looking forward to go to the next level in this language.

By SUSY V

May 13, 2021

estoy muy feliz de haber concretado el curso, de ahora en adelante lo pondré en practica y algún día viajare a Corea del Sur para conocer con mas profundidad sus costumbres, cultura y hablar fluidamente su idioma. excelente la profesora que transmitió de una manera u otra sus conocimientos. Felicitaciones .Aprendí mucho

By Chandra

Nov 15, 2020

This is a very good course, many thanks to Yonsei University for kindly granting the opportunity to attend this course,

One difficulty I experienced is regarding pronunciation of some letters which appear to vary in different contexts. Also, clear instruction may be given where we have to use Korean and Chinese numerals.

By Obianuju I

Oct 12, 2020

I learned many verbs and how to conjugate the present tense, a lot of vocabulary and sentence structure. My favorite aspect of this course was that I got to practice my listening and reading skills with the quizzes. I also practiced writing, by copying out the vocabulary rather than printing the PDF files. 고맙습니다, 선생님.

By Cynthia M

Sep 6, 2020

Me ha impresionado gratamente la oportunidad entregada tanto por Coursera y la profesora Seung Hae Kang, en conjunto con Yonsei University. Pautas muy claras y precisas, las cuales han ayudado bastante a mi entendimiento y aprendizaje a nivel personal. Quedo muy conforme y agradecida por esta bonita experiencia... 감사합니다

By Yasmine K

Apr 9, 2020

I really enjoyed the learning process, the videos are well organized, i learned more new things in a more efficient way, since i used to learn korean alone but with this course was better since it give you a structure to follow.

I highly recommend anyone who is considering to start learning First Step Korean to do it !!

By Dania a D

Aug 1, 2021

its really worthy and i highly recomend everyone to try this course for once, im sure youll never regreet it, just be cooperative and take your lectures daily, and yup no cheating....best of luck and i hope everyone here learn korean language successfully and lastly.....LETS MEET IN KOREA (ig: danis_xx) lets talk on ig

By Suhaila M

Mar 28, 2021

Thank you for the easy and wonderful introduction to my very first basic Korean Language course. I am interested to continue and upgrade my Korean Language further. Thanks to Prof Seung Hae Kang for the videos that made my learning much easier to follow and the notes were of much help as I practice the Korean language.

By América M

Feb 28, 2021

I love learning with First step Korean , has very useful language sentences for daily basis and also has good material to review . I appreciate your effort in making such a great content . Hope I get the opportunity to visit and live in Korean soon, I am in love of the language and also of its gastronomy very delicious

By Sobuha L

Jan 14, 2021

I really enjoy this course. The professor makes the grammar easily to understand. There are very clear can-do statements for each lesson with good amount of practice. The topics introduced in this course are also very practical. I would recommend this course for whoever wants to learn Korean from the very beginning. ㅋ

By Brenda A

Sep 26, 2018

I enjoyed this lesson. But I'd need to practice on my own more. I think that the handout should include wording in English so that it is more understandable. I find myself using Google translate a lot, just to listen to the pronunciation. Then again, I need to practice more. Thank you so much for this wonderful course.

By Samirah S

Oct 27, 2017

Very clear explaining and teaching method. The flow of the topics is indeed nicely laid. I suggest making the quizzes a bit more harder and more complex to fully enhance the learning experience. I will definitely introduce this course to my friends as this is a really informative starter pack for basic Korean language.

By Apichaya J

Aug 3, 2021

If you teach the sentence structure first ,I think I can understand the conversation better. And at first ,It's a little bit hard to listen to natives in conversation because they talk very fast but you'll get used to it through the lessons . Overall I enjoyed the classes. It's a great course to start studying korean.

By May T P S

Jun 4, 2021

I recommend this course not only people who want to learn Korean for the first but also people who have learnt Korean before. I learnt Korean again through this course and make me realise the difference of pronunciation.I also learnt things I didn't know before. Thank you for let me learn this amazing language course.

By Ester S S

Aug 30, 2020

Thank you very much for guidance in this study. I am very happy to be able to learn a foreign language. While studying, I realized that it was very difficult to learn Korean. But I am happy because I was given the opportunity to learn from the basics. Now I started practicing it with my friends. Once again, thank you.