Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
38,635 ratings
9,961 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

AP
Aug 27, 2021

I have learned so much and I really enjoyed learning this beautiful language. I know that I will learn to speak and read with lots of practice and perseverance. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

Filter by:

9126 - 9150 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Anais B

May 3, 2020

This courses were really hepfull but i'm 100% beginniner! To be honest it was really complecated for me to understand first how to read korean because we dont have any space in sentence and also for the pronunciation. So, at the beginning of the courses it was really hard and i continued because i really want to learn this langage. So for me it's 70% good and 30% hard!

By Yamin P

Aug 18, 2020

The course was extremely useful, especially the engaging videos that have a high quality in sound and visual. The cooperation of cartoons for the conversations help me learn it in a slower pace which was great for the beginners like me. I love the real-life scenarios that hooked the class. I would suggest to include engaging activities that can be linked from the class.

By Yarely J R C

Aug 3, 2020

Muy buen contenido y muy bien explicado. Excelente la opción de de los archivos para repasar. Lo único malo es que los subtítulos en español no son correctos, están desfasados, no están traducidas algunas cosas o aparecen subtítulos en otro idioma, esto dificulta un poco el aprendizaje para los que no entienden muy bien el inglés, de ahí en fuera todo es excelente.

By Urvi K

Jul 10, 2016

The course is mind blowing!

With time and patience it is easy to get the language and the phrases.

I only struggled really hard with telling the time.

Also being hard of hearing made it a little hard to pinpoint exactly what time they were talking about.

Overall this course is wonderful and anyone who is interested in basics of Korean should take it!

Thanks a lot!!

By Thais R

Jun 30, 2020

Its currently 2:19 am but I just finished this course and honestly, I am so glad I took it because I feel like I was able to get a better grasp at basic or common phrasing to push me out of my shell. I know I still have a bunch to learn but this is a great first step. It was flexible and easy; it also gave me something to look forward to during this quarantine.

By Amy L

Aug 5, 2016

I have been teaching myself (attempting to) Korean via various methods over the past 9 months, but I really enjoyed the structure of this class. It helped me understand WHY sentences/words are structured as they are, instead of just memorizing a lot of vocabulary and cramming too much information in my head at once. Can't wait for more from Yonsei University!

By Kübra A

Mar 20, 2020

Ms. Seung Hae Kang really focused on the pronunciation which was great. The course really helped in lots of aspects and it provided circular teaching method. The only problem for me was the only Korean written parts. As new words can be hard to remember, I could really use a little more English backup in sentence practices. Thanks a lot for the opportunity!

By Cynndi N

Dec 23, 2018

The discussions and the playbacks were essential. However, not sure if it were the audio, but the enunciation would not be as clear as I needed to learn; so I did venture outside the class for other resources. But very interesting to learn about formal/informal and addressing younger/older brother from sister or brother and other language and counting tips.

By Laura C

Jul 16, 2020

Es la primera vez que estudio coreano y me gusto mucho, la forma de explicar de la profesora es excelente, lo unico que me gustaria que solucionaran es que el curso sea 100% subtitulado al español dado que en las unidades de las ultimas dos semanas no habia subtitulos en español, lo cual puede ser un incoveniente para aquellas personas que no saben ingles.

By Robyn C

Jun 19, 2018

The videos were informative and the lecture notes provided the information written down. Within the notes you can practise the target language again in your own time. The only drawback is that, there should be some more questions. I feel that asking 6 and then 7 is not enough for beginners. I personally already know some Korean and did this to refresh.

By Claus L G

Jun 6, 2021

Good vocabulary and introduction to hangul, but very much information in each module. 18 hours is definitely not enough to complete the courses, so it's quite a lot work for a 5 weeks course. I would like some more vocabulary for generic tourist stuff like ordering food and drinks, and asking for directions.

But all in all it's been a good experience.

By Monica M F

Jul 26, 2020

Le pongo cuatro estrellas por que yo soy una persona de habla hispana y el curso esta en ingles, claro que hay la traducción escrita en español pero no en todas las clases hay la traducción, pero como sea me las arregle para aprender el idioma que estaba estudiando, pese a las limitaciones del idioma logre completar el curso.....me encanto la verdad.

By Nichakorn S

Jul 26, 2020

เนื้อหาเรียงลำดับได้เหมาะสม เข้าใจง่าย

พื้นฐานตัวอักษรสอนค่อนข้างละเอียด ทำให้จำได้ สามารถเรียนต่อบทอื่น ๆ ได้ไม่ติดขัด

ผู้สอนมีตัวอย่างให้ฝึกพูดทวนหลายครั้ง ทำให้พูดได้คล่องขึ้นทุกครั้งที่อ่าน

โดยรวมถือว่าเนื้อหาดี เข้าใจง่าย แต่ระยะเวลาจำกัดในการทำแบบฝึกหัดค่อนข้างเร็ว หากติดธุระ หรือ ไม่รีบทำให้เสร็จก่อนอาจไม่ทันเวลาส่งได้ ถ้าแก้ไขได้จะดีมาก ๆ เลย

By Grisalida J C C

Aug 16, 2020

Estuvo realmente bueno y útil, pero es un tanto anticuado. Quizás vendría bien una actualización más dinámica y menor rígida. Además, las traducciones al español no estaban del todo completas. Por lo demás, es una excelente guía de introducción al idioma coreano. ¡Muchas gracias por compartirlo de manera accesible al público de otras naciones! :)

By Nicol E O P

Feb 17, 2021

las clases muy completas, tiene buen material y se entiende facil si pones atencion, me gusta que haya varias cosas en las pruebas, como escuchar, leer y observar ayuda harto, le resto uno porque algunas partes falta traducir, y otras estan mal traducidas, incluso vi algo de chino cuando puse sub español pero en cuanto a contenido todo genial

By eima c

Dec 17, 2016

very good start to those who love to learn korean and have watched couple of korean drama before (it will help alot at some point in this course) the only thing this that disappoint me was they didnt explain Final Double Consonants, which really make it little harder for me ( actually i went and learnt it from YouTube ) .

but

Huge Thx Yonsei

By Lee Y S J

Dec 7, 2016

Easy to follow the lectures which are systematic and structured. Besides learning grammar, I found that the points about pronunciation were really useful which were not gone through in great detail when I attended Korean classes in language schools due to time constraint. Hope that there will be future classes of higher levels from Yonsei!

By Fulya K

Jun 30, 2021

I started this course with a basic knowledge of Korean. I liked that I learned some tips on Hangeul. I liked learning new words. However, I wish the pronunciation rules were explained in the first week as rules instead of showing them whenever one came up. I already knew them, but for beginners I thought it could have been hard to follow.

By 林渭倫

Aug 17, 2021

Although the teacher teaches Korean with quite fluent English, the example-oriented teaching way lacks systematic lecture, making it difficult to have a global view of Korean.

Besides, under the influence of the teacher being a native Korean speaker, she might not know exactly what foreigners will confront when it comes to pronunciation.

By Maricar V M

Jan 31, 2021

This course teaches hangul well and provides you with lessons on every day conversations you may need when speaking to Koreans, supplemented by a wide array of common vocabulary words. It does not, however, teach you basic sentence structure and grammar, which are only discussed in passing during weeks 2-5 and are not really delved into.

By Lucía V

Oct 30, 2020

Me parece un curso muy completo pero en las últimas unidades los subtítulos en español no estaban disponibles más que solamente en inglés. Tambien creo que un aspecto a mejorar sería dejar más espacio para que de tiempo a copiar ya que son clases online y tenemos que estar parando cada 2/3 el vídeo para que de tiempo a seguir la lección.

By Camille R

Apr 5, 2020

The course was great and well-organized for a beginner to take that first step in learning korean. I particularly like the pronunciation parts, as they provide additional guides that not many course does. I do hope there was more of it, but still, thank you very much for this. 너무 고맙습니다! I'll be waiting for a second 'higher' course. hehe

By Khin Y K

Jun 1, 2021

It's a very nice course. The modules are quite enough to cover basic Korean words and provide clear explanations. The practice section and review section are very much of helpful since they revise the lessons in each modules. It's a lot clearer to me now for further learning of Korean language. Looking forward to next-level new courses.

By Panratchayaporn S

May 15, 2020

It really easy to understand and suit for beginner but I thought it wasn't cover basic Korea language because some important situations weren't contain in this course to use in daily life. However, this course makes me funny to learn and helps me so much about Korea language. So I'll keep learning next step soon for improving my skill.

By Karen H C

May 7, 2020

Me gustó mucho por la organización de los temas y la selección correcta de ellos puesto que me parece muy correcto comenzar o tener un primer acercamiento al idioma de esta manera. Me gustaría que añadieran otro tipo de ejercicios, un poco más prácticos por que regularmente lo de las lecturas es como ver el video pero en un documento.