Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
5,274 ratings
1,557 reviews

About the Course

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Top reviews

AG
Dec 15, 2020

Great course for refreshing your python basics, and any beginner looking to pick up Python basics will be in a comfortable spot after completing this course and a bit of practice with the assignments.

PC
Jun 4, 2021

Well taught, assignemnts are just right in complexity, its hard enough to no be easy and but not to be frustrating and tests challange your knowledge enough for it to be rewarding to complete with 80%

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,546 Reviews for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

By Saeed H

Dec 12, 2021

This course was beautifully designed and executed by both Mr Gries and Ms Campbell. Thank you for your information and assistance in helping shaping the minds of your many many worldwide students. Much Appreciation, from Trinidad and Tobago.

By Стрельникова К С

Jun 11, 2018

This is a great course for beginners. It gives you a glimpse into Python's syntaxis and its functions. It is enought to understand if you want to continue to learn Python in the future. The tasks are challenging enough if you are a beginner.

By Edgar L V

Aug 17, 2017

I had many "Intro to Programming in Python" options, and this one really helped me "break the ice". I am already recommending it to friends and I'll keep doing it to everyone I meet that is interested in initiating programming. Great course!

By Tianyue F

Jan 25, 2017

It's very fundamental and easy to understand. If you have no knowledge of programming, I strongly recommend you this course. However, if you have some basic knowledge of whatever programming language, the course may be a little bit simple.

By Yuliya K

May 10, 2021

This course cover the basics of python, so it wasn't challenging at all for me. But many details were very useful. Lecturers are very good. And this course offers sooooo many opportunities for practice. I strongly recommend this course.

By Miguel A S F

Jul 15, 2019

I think this is a very good course. detailed enough and with good examples. I also think that it is very good to have some assignments to do additionally, I'm currently on the first one but this is very helpful to practice the learning.

By Waldo A F d A

Jan 7, 2018

Great content, great classes. I am glad that, in just a couple of weeks, I can consider myself enable to create my own math/finance programmes, based only on the vast content that these 7w-classes presented. Congratulations to UoT team.

By John O

May 16, 2020

I found the course very useful, the programming exercises and the multiple choice quizzes were challenging but not too much so, and forced me to open up python and try to work out code and refer back to lectures/notes to figure it out.

By Lesly O

Sep 28, 2016

El empezar esta curso me ha hecho comprender mejor la programación, siendo este con un poco de una clase muy bueno, la verdad siento que estoy aprendiendo mucho, y creo que la forma de enseñanza de los maestros es muy clara y concisa.

By Oscar D

Jul 31, 2019

Really loved this course. It was very systematic. The explanations were very clear. It was challenging at moments, but never frustrating. Many thanks to the instructors for putting this together and making it available for free.

By Hassan Y

Jul 14, 2019

An excellent starting point for anyone looking to learn Python. The videos are clear and concise. I wish there were more exercises and the grading system for assignments was better. Overall, worth the time and would recommend 10/10!

By Anton M

Mar 4, 2018

Coming from trade with very little programming, this course brought me up to speed on the fundamentals. Thank you to the amazing teachers, I was able to understand and apply the topics that I have learned in my occupation. Thanks!

By Ruth F

Sep 10, 2020

Excellent presentation of material and comprehensive / prompt assistance through the discussion forum. I was pleasantly surprised that much of what I learned applies to other programming languages and general problem solving.

By Menno K

Jan 2, 2022

Nice course with reasonably challenging mc questions, and well designed programming assignments. Good aspect of the course is that attention is paid to qualitatively good programming instead of just learning Python statements

By Michelle

Jul 19, 2017

I really enjoyed the course. I was able to do it in my own pace. There was an appropriate amount of time given to complete assignments and lessons. Profs were clear. Course provided lots of resources that were very helpful!

By Neha

May 30, 2020

This course is easy and fun way to learn coding. The assignments given in the course touch base each component which you learn week by week. It also helped me build my confidence that coding isn't that difficult.

Thank you.

By Fernando M

Mar 28, 2018

The best curse about programming that I've ever done. This course helped me to really understand for the very first time the essentials of programming. It's worth every second of your time and energy that you invest in it.

By Kevan I

Jul 14, 2017

Excellent course that goes through the basics of Python, as advertised. I personally used the course to refresh my knowledge of Python, but the course is also well-suited for beginners with no prior programming experience.

By Emmanuel L

Nov 17, 2017

It was hard as hell. I think that working a full-time job and doing this simultaneously provided a big challenge over 7 weeks. I REALLY appreciate that extra week to submit everything. Would not have made it without that!

By Levent K

Sep 21, 2017

It's a great course. Thank you professors! A small warning for learners: Prior coding experience is very helpful. Otherwise, this course may take lots of your time. I think it's a great course for some language to python.

By Noora

Aug 10, 2017

Incredible for someone like myself with next to nothing programming skills. I highly recommend this for anyone looking to understand python. I especially thank the mentors for their tireless help on the discussion forums!

By Behzi

Apr 19, 2020

I am really thankful for this very well designed course. It is a great course as the first step into python and data science and I really appreciate the Coursera platform for providing the opportunity of self-education.

By Jean-Bernard G

Apr 26, 2017

Very clear, and non-intimidating introduction for somebody who had never been exposed to programming before.

I feel I am now equipped with some fundamental concepts, and a concrete understanding of how programming works.