Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
5,942 ratings

About the Course

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Top reviews

AG

Dec 15, 2020

Great course for refreshing your python basics, and any beginner looking to pick up Python basics will be in a comfortable spot after completing this course and a bit of practice with the assignments.

HA

Aug 17, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 1,732 Reviews for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

By Haroun L

May 30, 2020

This is very useful course. I learned a lot and i benefited from this tutorial. Also i really like Mrs Jennifer Campbell and ms Paul Gries. And i want to thank you for your amazing lectures.

By Pramod S K

May 15, 2020

I enjoyed learning this course. Apparently this is my first Coursera course. Huge Shout out to both the instructors. They explained the topics very clearly. I'm happy that I took this course.

By Mary

Jan 18, 2022

Very informative sessions. Both the professors covered every topic in a very detailed way by providing plenty of examples. The quiz in between the video lessons were very helpful. Thank you.

By Jin W W

Jan 25, 2020

Good explanations, logical, covers the common mistakes newbies make, assessments are not too difficult but challenges your knowledge and how sure you are on a topic, makes coding fun to do!!

By Carlos A M C

Apr 28, 2019

Great course, the lessons are very well explained and the homeworks are very useful to put in practice everything you learn during the week, this is really an amazing introduction to python.

By Sid

Jun 12, 2021

It was very helpful and easy enough to understand for someone with no experience in programming whatsoever. I was able to learn many of the basics of programming in a week's worth of study.

By Jack S

Jun 2, 2020

I would strongly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in learning Python for the first time or to anyone looking at honing their logical, analytical and problem-solving skills.

By Alexander B

Jan 14, 2020

Course is easy to understand and mostly easy to follow. The practise parts helped a lot for keeping everything in mind.

It is just a pitty on the certificate nothing is written about Python.

By James C

Aug 24, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. It certainly does not hold your hand! However you get from it what you put into it. learning = desire_to_learn,

if desire_to_learn != time:

learning = False

By Janaina N C C

Apr 8, 2020

Thanks a lot to Jennifer Campbell and Paul Gries! They use an easy language and explain a lot of details that beginners like me didn't know. Already looking for another course with you! :)

By Luis E G R

Feb 20, 2020

Me ha encantado. Siendo muy suscinto en sus videos y lecturas, toca cada tema con profundidad y brinda unas claves que impulsan y facilitan el auto-aprendizaje. Felicitaciones y gracias!

By mridula m

Jul 7, 2020

This is an excellent course for beginners. The faculties are amazing. The assignment, quiz during lectures and weekly assessment give a clear insight to the concepts. Thank you so much!!!

By Kien N

Jul 5, 2021

Easy to follow and simple course for beginners who are new to python and those who want to refresh their python language. Quizzes and assignments for weekly lessons is good for practice.

By NIKHIL R N

Jul 13, 2020

Well the course was really interesting. The class were never boring cause there were interactive quiz in the middle to make it even more interesting, and the teaching was really amazing.

By Dorival B T F

Jan 30, 2020

It is a detailed enough course to demonstrate how much the Python language has evolved. It makes clear the need to seek more in-depth techniques and knowledge of the resources presented.

By Kevin L L

Mar 3, 2021

Simply and well explained, although I recommend follow the classes with the recommended book (in one of the first classes they mention it), for deeper learning. Absolutely recommend it!

By Sebastian R P

May 24, 2020

The course was absolutely fantastic. It is a perfect introduction into programming, at just the right pace. I also loved it when Paul saw himself in a video file and said "Don't look!".

By David M

Jun 25, 2017

This course was just right for me as a beginning coder. It challenged me to think in detail about how the code works, while remaining clear and practical with its material and examples.

By Atharva C

Jun 8, 2022

Really good course for beginners who wish to learn programming. The concepts were taught in simple language, every important topic was covered. Recommended for learning Python quickly.

By Andy B

Aug 12, 2017

Great primer on the basics of programming and Python. Some of the videos can be fast paced and may require additional viewings but it's worth it. I'm glad I stuck with it and finished.

By Oscar S

May 4, 2022

Despite having experience with Python, this course made me reflect on my discipline when I'm programming. It really helped me to be more formal when writing a program or designing it.

By Heng Z

Apr 9, 2022

This is an excellent course that helps you refresh you knowledge of Python, and particularly strengthen the logic and fundamentals behind Python's flexible usage. Highly recommended.

By Elroy K

Aug 17, 2019

I was originally a C++ programming student and never thought I will ever get to python. But this course, thanks to the lecturers, has opened a gate in my life. I am grateful

Thanks, K~

By Steve T

Mar 1, 2018

Great, well instructed course. It helped with no only learning the fundamentals of Python, but also how to use them practically which is often missing from other programming courses.