Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
5,945 ratings

About the Course

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Top reviews

PC

Jun 4, 2021

Well taught, assignemnts are just right in complexity, its hard enough to no be easy and but not to be frustrating and tests challange your knowledge enough for it to be rewarding to complete with 80%

HA

Aug 17, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,733 Reviews for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

By Severo B

Apr 6, 2020

Awesome course! Recommended especially if you don't have any programming knowledge. Even if I knew some programming concepts already, I found it very useful to strengthen the basics!

By Francesca D M

Mar 30, 2020

It's a perfect course if you have no knowledge of Python. If you do have some knowledge, I think you might be interested in something more advanced. Great step to start! I enjoyed it

By Zi J C

Apr 16, 2019

The bite-sized videos make the contents easy to digest. The mini-quizzes in the videos, the quizzes at the end of the week, and coding assignments help us to gauge our understanding.

By Marshall T

May 26, 2020

One fo the coruses that lets you see how to use IDLE. Its better than datacamp because the quizzes really force you think about the logic rather than just copy pasty code verbatim

By Thomas L

Sep 28, 2018

A very nice course. It is not that easy as I thought at the beginning. Everybody who wants to learn programming and to learn python (a realy nice language) should take this course.

By Ishita P

Jan 19, 2021

This was an excellent course that taught a lot. I did this course because I wanted to review programming, but it is excellent for beginners as well. Very thorough and informative.

By Muhammad A F

Jan 20, 2020

Truly recommended for beginners. The course's pace is just right, and the material is no to deep but still makes you think like a programmer. Really motivated for the next course.

By Martin G

Jun 5, 2018

This is a perfect course for me as I am just getting back into programming after a 1 year break. Very intuitive and simple to use, and easy to understand. Thank you and great job!

By Rishabh M

Jul 20, 2020

I had a bit of programming experience but not in Python. This course is ideal for anyone who wants to learn the basics of programming/ basics in Python. Kudos to the instructors!

By MacMike

Apr 24, 2020

A well-designed course with testing tests and gentle presentation that covers a broad introduction to Python. Now on to Paul and Jennifer's next course - Crafting Quality Code...

By Ray G

Mar 2, 2019

Really good Python course! Good lectures and references. Autograding enforces learning; ensures learning the concepts as well as the details needed to be efficient with Python.

By Smahi P K

Jun 30, 2022

This cousre is really elaborated. The quizes and assessments with 3 assignments makes it more interesting. This is very good for beginners. I had a great time doing this course.

By Alex B

Jun 29, 2020

I had no background in Python prior to this course. The instructors and mentors really help guide your growth and completing this course gave me a great sense of accomplishment.

By João F d A J

Dec 19, 2019

It's pretty good,I am not so good in english. i like it very much because i did know about docstrinc of functions and "python functional",is very easy to learn with this course.

By anu g

Jul 3, 2019

super good to follow and lots of nicely tricky questions. would love more programming assignments though. i thought it would lead up to one that we would do mostly on our own!

By Michael O

Aug 20, 2018

This is the best programming lecture I have taken so far. I trusted the competence (ability to simplify the concepts) of the lecturers and that kept me to the end of the course.

By Igor G

Apr 21, 2022

I truly enjoyed the course, the way it is structured, the instructors and the way the material is presented. I highly recommend it to those looking to get started with Python.

By Tan W C

Apr 5, 2020

This is a very good course with very hands on approach that teaches basic Python. And also the quiz is challenging your understanding and often i learned more from it. Thanks!

By Omer R H

Oct 4, 2019

The teachers are great and the workflow is fast, you get hands-on right away and the forum provides answers really fast! I think it's a great start for people to learn Python.

By Can Ü

Aug 20, 2018

Great course with very engaging material. I had no prior experience with Python, this course made it possible for me to start writing some basic code. Very highly recommended!

By Marc G

Jul 24, 2018

Really designed couse. Makes it the somewhat abstract and at times intimidating material very approachable. Look forward to the next in the series: L2P: Crafting Quality Code

By Michael D

Apr 27, 2017

This was an excellent course. So well designed, and really carefully planned. Great professors. The assignments and the exams really help with developing knowledge. Thank you!

By Sanjana B

Jun 6, 2020

This is my first course on coursera. I loved this course. This is the best I could start programming in Python. The assignments were good and helped in the learning process.

By Alison

Aug 5, 2019

The course is friendly to new programmers, and its great design of videos and quizzes helps the learner to fully understand what each piece of code means and how it results.