Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
4,782 ratings
1,440 reviews

About the Course

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Top reviews

HA
Aug 17, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

AG
Dec 15, 2020

Great course for refreshing your python basics, and any beginner looking to pick up Python basics will be in a comfortable spot after completing this course and a bit of practice with the assignments.

Filter by:

1251 - 1275 of 1,424 Reviews for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

By Fady S R S

Sep 12, 2019

it was a very good source for me as a beginner. the sequence also motivated me to keep going week after week. thanks for your efforts

By Katayoon S m

Aug 27, 2019

up to week six was good, but then I got lost. I think the instructors should explain the week six material better and go to details.

By Dominique D

Jan 2, 2018

The course was very informative and interesting. It taught me a lot about the fundamentals of Python and I really enjoyed the class.

By Arvinder P S

Apr 8, 2018

This is a fantastic course specially for beginners. Tutors are highly skilled and clears (nearly) all doubts about Python basics.

By Preston B

Sep 20, 2020

A good start, it shows where you can go deeper without overwhelming you. Some parts could be explained a bit more clearly though

By Jorge S

Jun 15, 2020

I feel like the way the questions in tests are explained could be better. I'd say the same thing for some parts of the projects.

By Gabriel E

Jan 3, 2021

Nice flow of the topics. Clear explanations. More examples or a booklet with exercises and examples would be a nice complement.

By Ganesh V

Feb 24, 2017

This is a great course for beginners . If you can spend more time after the second week, you will get best out of the course .

By Andreea U

Feb 12, 2020

Very good balance between giving clues and leaving the student figure out the solution. A good introduction to programming.

By Mohamed E

Oct 13, 2019

i actually enjoyed the course, especially the final exam when my gf came and prayed that i solve it, and guess what? i did!

By Deleted A

Mar 7, 2018

If you want to start the python from basic, then this is the right platform.There are lots of fun in the course assignment

By Preeti I K

Jul 25, 2020

It's very useful for this lockdown period it will be helpful so thank you for Coursera for this opportunity ..thankyou .

By Balaji G

Mar 3, 2018

Excellent introduction to Python . Instructors have a very good technique for explaining complex topics in a simple way

By Álvaro C R

May 27, 2017

Good course in general, some of the descriptions of the functions to complete in assignments and exams were confusing.

By RaviTeja N

Dec 11, 2016

This course is very good for the beginners but the last two weeks lack some content which is required for the quizzes.

By Tan W Y

Sep 19, 2017

will be great to introduce other useful operators such as += etc. also, will be great if can teach the basic of OOP.

By Seha I O

May 30, 2017

Quick introduction to the basics of Python. It was easy to follow, and assignments were straightforward. Thanks!

By Peter M

Nov 13, 2016

Well taught course which does as it says and introduces the fundamentals of programming using the python language.

By Jennifer L

Jan 21, 2018

Great course. Loved that the quizzes were graded without having to pay. Assignments were challenging, but doable.

By Aaron Z

Jul 4, 2017

Some wording in quizzes were a bit ambiguous. Lectures and note summaries were very clear and easy to follow.

By Richard V

Jan 10, 2017

Great course. I learnt the importance and use of a good docstring! Some of the quizzes are a bit heavy going.

By Kazi S J N

Jun 19, 2018

The approach is very helpful. I already had previous experience with c++ but this course renewed my view.

By Shamim M

May 30, 2020

It was very good. I have found this course very interesting. Both the teachers are very good at teaching

By Ricardo E

Jun 23, 2017

This course covers the basics of Python. I would be nice an introduction to classes and OPP methodology.

By Rickard K

Dec 2, 2017

Great content that is recommended with companion book, video and sound quality could be better though.