Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
6,396 ratings

About the Course

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Top reviews

HA

Aug 17, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

PC

Jun 4, 2021

Well taught, assignemnts are just right in complexity, its hard enough to no be easy and but not to be frustrating and tests challange your knowledge enough for it to be rewarding to complete with 80%

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,852 Reviews for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

By Grace M

Jul 25, 2022

Pretty good, only overwhelming in a couple of the weeks

By Virág N

Mar 4, 2021

Very entertaining course, I learned a lot, thank you!

By Jack C

Jul 1, 2022

Nice for python beginner. Thanks for free course.

By Ali K

May 30, 2021

Very good explinations and excersices

By Arnab C

Jul 1, 2022

Great Course for absolute begineers!

By Tendesai C

Oct 31, 2023

I thoroughly enjoyed the challenge

By Jigar K

Jul 30, 2022

Very good for absolute beginners.

By Sergej N

Jul 31, 2022

Great couse. Would recommend.

By Shuka

Nov 6, 2022

great way of start python

By Oleksandr L

Jul 13, 2022

course is very intresting

By Alexandre d F O

Jul 28, 2021

I´m giving 4* not as a demerit, but only as cautionary warning:

This is not a course that will dive really deep in explaining For, While and If.

So if that´s a subject you have problem understanding go solve it before doing this.

A strong feature in this course is that they really make you write your documentation right, "def" is explained since week 1, which I find is an amazing strategy instead of teaching everything and then forcing you to do this.

What would improve this course would be more exercicies, since the only 3 assignments you have are a major jump, so if you havent yet programed you'll most likely be lost and have a real hard time completing it.

The Quizzes are really challenging, and not in a nice way, I find they are sometimes unfair, that's why I think would be better to have more exercices and tasks instead of those insanely difficult quizzes (and I already have experience in programing so I can imagine someone unexperienced).

If you already know python and programing take this course, it will not be demanding and will teach you great stuff, a real nice way to improve some areas you may be found lacking in your development.

By Akshata P

Jun 4, 2021

Awesome course, very well structured. Good pace. Not too easy, but when you are seriously trying to complete the course it was also not too difficult. Highly recommend!

By Inamul B

Jul 4, 2022

This course teachs you basic, core fundamentals if one gets it right then rest is bit easy... Focus on fundamentals is always good

By Kevin G

Aug 8, 2022

I learned a great deal. The reead/write of files was a bit quick but otherwise it was well-paced.

By Nishant S

Dec 3, 2022

Very well explained. Good to start.

By Richard G

Apr 15, 2024

This was a solid course that taught me the basics of the Python language. I especially learned a lot from the assignments & from the use of the dir() and help() functions. The quizzes were not done as well as some other courses. In this course when I got a question wrong it did not point me in the direction of where I learned that concept. The quizzes also did not have Python code imbedded in them so I couldn't test the code I was writing in the quiz itself which was less convenient.

By Loh N E A

Nov 13, 2022

Good course to cover basics, but some answers for quizzes are not accurate, which is disruptive to learning. There were many times when my answer was marked wrong, I tried to figure out for hours what the correct answer could be, only to see in discussion forums that "oh ya, the answer is wrong. It's a coursera issue"

Please kindly resolve the issues please. Thank you.

By Brett M M

Jul 19, 2017

Good introduction to Python but very basic, not for anyone with programming experience as you could learn all this in about an hour.

Audio Quality was quite poor.

By Jen Y

Nov 24, 2020

As a complete beginner, I was disheartened to have the same questions as others from as far back as 4 years ago in the course discussion forum and have the material presented not updated to reflect the information to answer these questions. It's frustrating and shows me a lack of actual involvement of the instructors that they won't update their course material. If I wanted to have to research all the answers to my questions, I wouldn't have taken a course.

By Ricardo A S

Feb 21, 2023

O curso está demasiado desatualizado no que toca às versões the python a utilizar, o que faz com que a instalação do software seja quase impossível para acompanhar o curso.

By Mike G

Nov 12, 2022

They offer no help if you get stuck!! If you start this your on your own!! This is not a good course to learn python!!!! Vital information is withheld. They show you how to do one function body and then expect you to know everything about creating a function body!!!! You have to go off site to get 25% plus of the information is needed. What a Joke!!!!!

By moustafa

Jul 21, 2020

outdated ,

video lectures are from 8 years ago , which is like a century in terms of programming.

although the material maybe useful , most of the programming exercises deal with an IDLE that is in 2012 so features are different than IDLE in 2020 . I don't want to spend most of my time trying to figure how they did something in 2012.

By Yosr K

Sep 3, 2023

i didn't know that i have to verify my name only after receiving the certificate with(coursera learner' . and after verifyin my name, i was chocked .. i have to buy my certificate ... i feel sorry and sad ..it's one month of work and sacrifice in order to get this certificate that fallls down .i'm so sad

By Ana M

Oct 20, 2020

Very poorly designed course, they only focus on mac and don't even explain that everything works differently on windows, yet they take time to make you listen to elementary school level math in the first week materials.

By Mark W

Jun 25, 2023

Had to quit. EVERY TEST, even when forced to use Python code, FAILED. Something is wrong with answer keys.