Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
6,396 ratings

About the Course

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Top reviews

HA

Aug 17, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

PC

Jun 4, 2021

Well taught, assignemnts are just right in complexity, its hard enough to no be easy and but not to be frustrating and tests challange your knowledge enough for it to be rewarding to complete with 80%

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,852 Reviews for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

By Miguel R C

Aug 14, 2021

This course is amazing. It takes a very mathematical approach to teach you python from zero, so if you are good with math and you have never seen any coding in your life, this course is for you. The instructors are amazing as well, the paced of the lessons are good and they give a you a summary file at the end of each lesson that covers all the concepts taught. 10/10

By Michael L

Jan 20, 2020

Challenging and super helpful course! Made all the difference in understanding the basics of programming, and what you can do with it, in terms of development scope. Nice training approach and tasteful, yet though provoking format. Decent Forum for researching questions. I did find the question / answers a little daunting and didn't submit any questions myself.

By Kiah A H

Sep 12, 2017

This is the first time I've ever done any programming or coding of any kind. I haven't been known to be computer or math savvy, and with the help and instruction provided by the course - I was able not only to pass, but to receive 100% on quizzes and assignments. I was able to do it at my own pace which gave me the opportunity to really learn the material. Great!

By José A R N

Dec 23, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Data Science and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by the Teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Teachers.

Regards

By S B M

May 4, 2023

This course is one of the best courses you can attend as a beginner , it gives you comprehensive point of view about basics of python programming and code execution structure, Of course, I must mention that this course is definitely for beginners and guys with more programming skills might find it kind of boring.

thank you for preparing this helpful course.

By Elizabeth O

Jun 13, 2021

Although challenging, I loved every bit of this course. The lessons teach you what you need to know and the mentors are always on hand to answer any questions. I learnt a lot these past few weeks and I am glad I was able to take this course. Great way to learn, especially for a beginner to the programming world. A huge THANK YOU to the instructors and mentors.

By Umair R

Dec 6, 2017

Hands down the best course on Python3 I have seen in any MOOC. I have done other courses from Coursera on Python as well, the professors of this course are absolutely great. The style of teaching, the practical approach, accurate prediction of what could cause confusion among students, and assessments that truly test the depth of understanding, all stand out.

By Udbhav J

Sep 30, 2017

Excellent Course for complete beginners to Programming. It really dives deep into the fundamentals and makes you very proficient through constant mini-quizes during the videos as well as larger quiz's at the end of each week. The larger programming assignments are also excellent as deepening your understanding and leaving you confident of the concepts taught.

By Lucas K

Jun 25, 2018

As an introduction to programming, this is a perfect course. The pace is good for someone who is keen and interested in learning, and if the content is too fast then you're always free to pause and review videos/materials. I would had likes more programming challenges, rather than just quizzes every week. The assignments were a good way to test your skills.

By Krishna P M

Jan 1, 2024

I found this course very useful. I had programming skills but not in Python. This course helped me learn the syntax and a couple of new concepts that I didn't come across in other languages. The structure of the course is highly systematic and quizzes in between help to evaluate in between. Thank you to the Professors for offering valuable course for free.

By Santiago E

Jul 10, 2020

Great course. Professors and tutors are always willing to come foward with a solution or answear asap when asked. And not in an easy-given-response way: they make you do your on way through, not just throwing correct answers. Initially I didn't thought i was going to buy it but definitively I will because of what I learnt and how I was treated. Thank y'all

By Emmanuel M

Jun 25, 2020

Overall an excellent course. Even if you're already acquainted with Python, this course has a lot to offer, in particular a lot of very useful insights into the inner workings of the language(how it stores and manipulates data) and best practices for creating functions. The bases of python are treated through a detailed and comprehensive approach.

Thanks!

By jörg k

May 30, 2019

I highly recommend this introductory course. It is easy to get into it, even with zero pre-knowledge and the lectures and quizzes make it easy to advance at a surprisingly fast pace. Online support in the discussion forum is perfect. The responses are super fast and guide to a positive outcome without just giving the answer to a programming problem.

By Clara C

May 19, 2023

I enjoyed this course. I learnt python a few years ago and took this as a refresher, and learnt new things from it. The quizzes were not too easy and slightly tricky for me, which I felt was good as it looked into the syntax nuances. It might be slightly challenging for absolute beginners with zero knowledge of python. Was fun! Would recommend it.

By kelvin

Jun 24, 2021

Kudos to the course instructors, coordinators and mentors! It is an excellent course for beginner although the assigments are challenging. It can perhaps be more useful to impart more tips, and "teach" beginners the learning process to break things down and how best to approach a problem. Nevertheless, the content is worth a full 5 star rating.

By Pauline

Aug 15, 2017

This course explained all content at a very good pace, with enough examples, clear definitions and nice summary-notes. The questions in the videolectures, the exams and the programming tasks kept me motivated by asking questions where I didn't just have to repeat what was taught, but activly had to search for a sollution. I loved it. Thank you!

By Joshua D C

Oct 29, 2020

This was an excellent course. It was very easy to learn, and at the same time, quizzes and assignments are challenging enough for us to practice what we have learned. Instructors speak very clearly and demonstrate concepts so that they are very easy to follow. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is completely new to Python programming.

By SIVA N G

Jun 19, 2022

I have enrolled in this course as an absolute beginner and after the completion of it I feel familiar with Python. Also I would like to express my deep gratitude to Prof. Jennifer and Prof. Paul Gries for providing the great course at free of cost and a big thanks to Mentor Patrick Dennis for helping me to complete the assignments on time.

By xiaoxia

Aug 3, 2023

I have already completed this course around 1 month ahead of my goal. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches me how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language. 7 weekly courses, 7 after-course-quizs and 3 assignments help me a lot to understand the Python language and programming.

By shashin p

Jul 5, 2021

Excellent course to understand the basics of Python. In-video quizzes, assessments and assignments were extremely interactive. On top of that it's free! So no reason not to do it if you're trying to learn Python. Just wish they gave us the correct answers and reasoning (just like the quizzes) after we pass the assessments and assignments.

By lavanaya g

Dec 27, 2020

This has been an amazing course for learning python. Starting from the basics the instructors, Jennifer and Paul covered the whole thing. They explained everything in simple language also I would like to thank them for showing the background working of the code by using the python visualizer. This course is great for a fundamental course!!

By Rashidur R

Nov 12, 2017

very good course for beginners to python or to coding in general to understand the fundamentals. If you are already experienced in another language this may be too easy for you as it goes over basics like for loops and while loops, however if you are completely new or have done some coding in another language but are rusty this is perfect.

By Alejandro N

Nov 10, 2020

Excelente curso introductorio. Lo hice sin tener la más mínima idea de programación. No se demora en innecesarias introducciones banales, va directo al grano. Las tareas están bien planteadas y son de un nivel intermedio, algunas más exigentes que otras. Los videos son en general claros, y están acompañados de unos resúmenes muy útiles.

By Anumita N

Jan 11, 2018

This is my first Python course so I have nothing to compare it with. From a learning perspective I found the course to be a good start. Each week concepts moved forward from the concepts of previous lectures. Also I liked how questions and programming assignments had thorough test cases which challenge your understanding of the concepts.

By Abhishek S

Jun 23, 2017

This is an excellent course for anyone who is learning to program for the first time. Also, for people with some background in other programming language (as in my case) this course helps to get quickly started with python.

Lectures and quizzes were engaging. I thank Coursera & University of Toronto for offering such a beautiful course.