Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by Deep Teaching Solutions

4.8
stars
80,891 ratings
22,514 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top reviews

RB

Mar 13, 2018

this course is great! I actually already know some of these Technics and concepts before i went into this course but this course did such a great job of explaining it the now it really sticks with me.

PL

May 23, 2020

This course provides soft skills needed for continuous improvements which enhance my learning capabilities. It covers conceptual and practical approach to learn effectively and efficiently. Thank you!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 10,000 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Karen F

Jun 8, 2020

Course illustrated very effectively many enhanced approaches for successful learning processes based on neuroscience and proven methodologies. Recommend this course for others who find their usual approaches to studying and learning to be less than satisfactory.

By A. F M M H B

Jun 9, 2020

This course is really very helpful course. I suggest everyone to go through this course before enrolling any course. Because before learning we have to know properly how to learn. This course will help you to achieve this skill.

By Mohammad T R

Jun 9, 2020

The course was amazing! Now I do know about my brain and how to control it. Looking forward to learn new amazing stuffs using the techniques I have learned through this course. Thank you very much to make a course like this.

By Stephanie S M P

Jun 9, 2020

This course opened my mind to understand me better, the ways I learn and respect my process learning, not focused in the product. I love it. Thank's Barbara to share this knowledge for free! I really appreciate it. <3

By eduardo t

Mar 21, 2019

I wish this would be taught in schools at early age and through out. Many fail because many don't have a frame of study to rely on. This is a course that has help me have a more grounded study habit that works.

By Daniela D

Jan 15, 2019

This course gave me a new perspective on how to approach learning anything new from now on. Would have loved to have been aware of the concepts and ideas discussed in these chapters while I was still in school!

By Kenrick S T

Apr 10, 2020

Practical and simple - 1) outlines relatable misconceptions and 2) provides clear solutions that I'll surely apply to my own learning goals ASAP. Very few "filler" videos, which were interesting anyway.

By Rashad M s

Jan 1, 2022

This class really focused on the process of learning. It taught me so much. I even shared ideas with my college and high school student. They were surprised as some concepts were helpful to them also.

By Abdul H

Jun 9, 2020

This course give me a new perspective about learning. give new spirit and motivation to start learning again, after 5 years i get graduated from college which i feel don't master my study material.

By Natalia B

Jul 21, 2020

This was an amazing course! I've been doing so many of these techniques presented without ever knowing much about them! I'm so glad I took this class, it's very insightful, and helpful too.

By Tyler

Jun 9, 2020

Terrific - great overview of the basics of learning and memory complemented with practical tips for beating procrastination, effective studying, and test taking. Great course.

By Carlos S

Jun 9, 2020

Great course, no matter how old you are this will help you understand better how to learn, what to do to be a better student and how to retain the information. i love it.

By Carlos A

Sep 16, 2021

this was a very informative course that should be taught to high school and college students i recommend the course to anyone that want to improve their learning skills.

By Dilyara S

Apr 16, 2017

plenty of userful information about how brain works in terms of learning and lots of userful tricks how to organize yourself to be as much efficient as possible!

By Andre J

Apr 27, 2019

All the information in this course is VERY USEFUL. As a student and a teacher, I've learned a lot and have changed my way of learning and teaching. Thank you!

By Terence M R

Dec 13, 2018

This course is remarkably densely packed with concrete techniques I am excited to apply (and am already starting to apply) in all my learning.

By Caela C

Jan 27, 2019

Who knew learning could be fun?! I have been out of school for 20 years now and this was a great course to take to ease myself back in.

By Brocton R

Apr 11, 2019

Anyone interested in improving their ability to learn should take this course.

It stands alone as the single best resource available.

By Ronit Z

Jun 8, 2020

A great course for any person who wishes to get valuable tips on how to learn effectively and understand the process of learning.

By Ahmad N H A

Jan 28, 2019

Reading the book at the same time is great and made the course very easy to understand. Thank you dear Barbara Oakley and Terry.

By Thomas v H

Jan 29, 2019

This is a basic skill for life. Everyone should learn this! How to learn any other skill and avoid procrastination.... Amazing!

By Arnav R

Mar 22, 2019

Really refreshing and simple course that being said , it's a must have skill as simplicity is very hard to acquire nowadays!

By Mumitul M

Jun 8, 2020

This course helps me much. If someone follows this course outline, definitely she/he will learn something with great joy.

By John L

Apr 29, 2019

Interesting - and fun. You can't leave it without feeling your understanding of learning has changed for the better.

By Manh H D

Nov 1, 2021

I must say, AMAZING!!! New insights into the brain really provide me with many tips for better learning.