Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by Deep Teaching Solutions

4.8
stars
75,761 ratings
21,474 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top reviews

KD
Aug 1, 2020

This course accumulates a clear and valuable set of thoughts that structure knowledge about learning principles and tactics. Also, it was interesting to know some new things about how the brain works.

EA
Apr 28, 2017

This was a great course! I learned a number of different techniques and strategies for learning more effectively that I can't wait to implement in my studies. I highly recommend Learning How to Learn.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 10,000 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Sharry L A

Nov 3, 2020

I recommend this course 100%! As learners, we think our personal learning ways are satisfactorily effective for us. But upon taking this course, it opened my mind to how our brain actually works and how we can actually override cues by being aware of what's happening back in our brains. It made me realize that yes I have lots of things to work on with the way I learn. Some of the topics that really made a mark on me are the methods to prevent procrastination, test-taking tips, modes of learning, and how these things can be applied in my day-to-day learning. :) I'm positively looking forward to be able to apply this in my everyday life.

By Laura C

Feb 13, 2020

This course makes me opened my mind about how we really learn and make me realize how wrong I was about the techniques I was using to study, that only helped my at the moment for the exam but not to understand and remember in a long term way. I thank you because not only you helped us with teaching how we learn but also you taught us tips that will help us in daily life like how to manage stress, how to avoid procrastination (so difficult now a days) and how our thoughts can helps us in our learning.

Thanks to the teachers for teaching us your knowledge and also to make us believe in ourselves that we can achieve everything that we want

By Risa T

Jul 23, 2020

I am at the stage where I have to take many exams that will determine my career for the future, and that will enable me to be where I want to be. I am so grateful for finding this course just in time. It has helped me learn so much about learning. I have never learned about so many learning tips in my life, and I am sure that these tips that the course offers will change my life forever, and will hopefully help me fulfill my dreams. To tell you the truth, I am already seeing a huge improvement in my understanding of the subjects I'm taking and I was able to do my tests well. With all honesty, I highly recommend this course. Thank you.

By Guillaume C

Jun 7, 2020

I have just finished the Massive Open Online Course entitled “Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects”. I think this course is the quintessence of a good course: it is interesting, well-illustrated, and transmits with passion by Barbara Oakley and Terry Sejnowski.

I truly recommend it to everyone as this subject concerns everybody. It really is an eye-opening course. I think I will go back to it in the future as some of the concepts I learned are really relevant for me (the Pomodoro, the Impostor Syndrome, the Hard start – Jump to easy technic, the concentration on process rather than product …).

By neha

Jan 19, 2017

This is a fantastic course. It really helped my understand how we learn and how to become a better learner. It combines facts about the brain with our daily life which makes the information not only interesting but also highly relevant . Questions at the end of the videos are a great tool to make sure you were actually paying attention. during the video.

Barbara Oakley is a splendid coach and made this course a memorable experience for me and Terry Sejnowski helped me understand science simply without over simplifying it. :)

Kudos to the entire team of Learning How To Learn !

Cheers!

p.s. Thank you Coursera for offering such courses. :)

By Barbara L

May 15, 2020

Initially I started taking this course to keep my mind stimulated during the COVID-19 stay at home order. Soon I realized how valuable it was for not only any future courses I take, but also for training and learning new things at home and in my job. Or learning old things better! This course is very relatable. It was enlightening; it helped me discovery some of my own weaknesses and potential ways to correct and strengthen. I intend to recommend it to friends and family with school-age children. I believe if a parent understood this information, they could better relate and assist their children. Loved it!

Thank you very much!

By Valeria

Jan 25, 2020

This was my first Coursera course and it has been absolutely brilliant! Thanks Dr Barbara Oakley for putting this together because you have outlined so many practical tips for optimizing learning. On top of that, I really appreciated the interviews you did with different people on the subject - sharing their personal experiences in learning. You even addressed many of the challenges people normally face and demystified it all - Einstellung and Imposter Syndrome for example. You delved into a essential topic and made it so accessible - an indispensable start to learning anything else! I wish I knew all this when I was at school!

By Holly

Jan 28, 2016

This course is the foundation to success in all you do! I can't praise these instructors enough for the time they spent in laying out the groundwork so clearly and efficiently. For those of us with ADHD, it's a life changing discovery of skills. Years of feeling like our brain is "broken" and doesn't function like others that are "normal" can be embarrassing and defeating to say the least. For those of you that want to simply improve your study habits and retain more, deeply... this is the course for you. Simple, effective and practical... This course was a delight! I highly recommend it, no matter your IQ, skill level or profession.

By cjpembo

Sep 16, 2015

I was a first-generation college student back in 1990. I was intelligent, hard working, and had excellent grades in high school. But I was totally lost in college. I didn't know how to spend my time efficiently to maximize my learning potential. My method was to just carve out a block of time at night to sit down and brute force my way through engineering homework. That was the hard way to do it... this course will introduce the correct way to tackle tough courses.

The subject material is not difficult at all; putting it all into practice may take some un-learning and effort, but you will certainly see benefits in the long run.

By Madina N

Nov 13, 2020

That course was extremely mind-shifting toward better, full of energy and the value life. I am grateful for the insightful technics and interviews with extraordinary people. Along with other resources that I was reading during completing the course it persuades me to change my daily routine, to plan the day work at night before, and make Pomodoro tracker my partner in completing all kinds of cognitive tasks. The way of organization of the course makes all underlined technics and concepts stick in your brain, so I do not have any fears to forget it. Thank you for the unforgettable experience and your contribution to my new lifestyle.

By Denis E

Apr 4, 2021

I liked the course.

I want to emphasize the main points:

1. Helped to understand that there are different ways of thinking.

2. If you are unable to focus quickly and memorize a lot of information, then you belong to a creative group of people.

3. That I can train my brain.

4. Running helps to create new ideas and solve complex problems

5. How to train memory

6. In order not to procrastinate, you need to focus on the process, not the result

7. It's important to practice

8. The best memorization and assimilation of knowledge is a recollection in a new place of what you have learned, and also share this knowledge with others

Thank you!

By Angela H

Jul 7, 2020

I've generally been a good student for most of my life but I was interested in what this course had to offer. I was very pleased with the subject matter and it helped me really figure out how I could learn new and challenging concepts more effectively, as well as why I had trouble with certain subjects going through college. I really wish I had this knowledge when slogging through math and chem classes for my undergraduate studies! The instructors are very personable, professional, and knowledgeable. I think that anybody can benefit when learning how to learn, and I cannot wait to apply these techniques and new insights to my life.

By Li L

May 22, 2018

Thank you so much for teaching us this important lesson in my life! Truly inspiring, and useful. I found it drastically improve my effectiveness in my studying. I used to lose confidence in my science subjects, thinking I am just lacking the so-called "math/science talent", but I found out from this course that it's actually the problem of my methods! Now I am implementing the methods I have learnt from this course, and improve my grades dramatically. Now I am recommending this course to my friends who are struggling with their studies, helping them with what I have learnt.and I believe this will help! After all, thank you so much!

By Chris H

Aug 3, 2016

I found this course extremely helpful in doing exactly what it proposes to do. It breaks down ideas on how to study more efficiently, as well as focusing on retention. I especially enjoyed the week focusing on procrastination, as I have a hard time with that to point debilitation at times. This course has helped me to view things I would ordinarily avoid and I now try to make them a challenge or a goal to overcome. The course did not take so much time either, there is no reason you could not fit this into your schedule. I definitely recommend this course to strangers and I have already suggested it to my friends and family as well.

By roberto p d

Apr 28, 2019

Ha sido un Curso de muy elevado nivel. Con un formato excelente con preguntas de práctica que me ayudaron mucho a comprender, nuevas formas de aprender, a utilizar la memoria y me siguen entusiasmando para estudiar, más y mejor.

Agradezco a TODOS los profesores, especialmente a la Profesora que dirige los videos, su calidad al presentar los mismos. A los científicos y especialistas en el estudio del cerebro que me han dado una nueva visión de, como somos y de cuánto provecho podemos obtener de nuestras potencialidades! A todos, Muchas Muchas Gracias , desde Uruguay los recomendaré y los recordaré SIEMPRE! Roberto Pagola Uruguay!

By Matt C

Sep 17, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal. This course should be required for an person who owns a human brain. Dr.'s Oakley and Segnowski have given the world a great gift in this course. The theory resonated with my personal experience over the years and really helped me connect the dots around how my mind works. I was able to apply the practical suggestions immediately (and in fact while taking the course to the course itself!)

This tools I've learned in this course have helped me become more productive in my work and home life and even beyond that I've been able to use what I've learned to help my kids with their schoolwork. Wonderful stuff.

By Bojana

Oct 22, 2018

Huge thank you to Dr. Barb Oakley and Dr. Terry Sejnowski for this invaluable gift. I wish I had been taught how to learn before starting school, instead of stumbling blindly through by using my own methods (though it turns out many of them correspond with the concepts of this course).

Dr. Oakley - this course is now in my memory palace associated with an image of you holding the octopus of attention in one hand and a flying mule in the other, all three perched atop my window sill and no taller than 4 inches :)

I promise to teach as many of the concepts I've learned here to people around me who need to know them.

Thank you so much!

By Jozra G V P

Feb 17, 2018

I'm doing a PhD on Physics and Astronomy in prestigious university in UK, so one would think I have mastered learning. Nothing would be farther from true, I spent many years in the usual way of learning, which did not leave me with deep knowledge, it was just for the tests. This course have showed me the right tools for really learning, it has brought to my attention several key aspects I inadvertently dismissed when study previous degrees. More importantly it proved me that no matter how old you are, or how far you have advanced in higher education and academia you can still learn how to be better at learning! Fantastic course!!

By Micheila

Nov 8, 2015

Phenomenal course content delivered in fun, easily digestible chunks. I loved the references to the latest neuroscience and the stories of hard work and perseverance that led to success, like Santiago Ramon y Cajal. The bonus/extra reading was really helpful and entertaining as well (especially about writing and languages).

It was a real pleasure to have taken this course, my first with Coursera. I wish I'd known this stuff 15 years ago when I was in university... I fell into the trap of re-reading as a learning technique.

I'm telling everyone I know about Learning How to Learn, particularly those who are currently in university.

By Abhay B

Sep 20, 2020

The course on learning to learn was immensely helpful. The content presented here was non-trivial, insightful, original and very well presented. I used some of the new techniques that I learned in this course to master the course material itself and also had an easier time completing the final test. I am very confident that the techniques that I've learned from Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski will help me become a better student and a software engineer. I would love to be associated with this team and learn about newer research and developments that can help me get more out of life, perhaps a "Learning How to learn - Part 2" ?

By Luana O S

Jul 4, 2020

I encourage everyone to take this course! The teachers and instructors are amazing, the content is really useful, especially if you are in school, college or just learning in general. Learning How To Learn changed my way of approaching different subjects, by showing study techniques and tips to use in exams and tests that are effective. The neuroscience content also really helped me to understand how the brain works and show me important daily habits that i can bring to my life to help strengthed my mind and take better care of my wellbeing. A huge thank you for everyone involve in this MOOC! Congratulations for the good work!

By Huiyi L

Jul 24, 2017

It is really a fantastic course, which I am more than willing to introduce to my families and friends. I have applied some of the techniques I have learned from the course, and they are useful and effective. It also debunks some myths regarding learing. But what I think is the most important is that it have changed my mindset. It alters my conception of learning, and even of other things in my life. I feel lucky having a chance to take this course. And Now I am taking another course of Barb andTerry (Yes, it's Mindshift! ). It's glad to see them again, and to learn something new that will also have a profound impact on my life.

By Lhamo T

Oct 16, 2015

I really wish that I had the chance to take this class while i was in college or before I went to college. I was such a dumb that I didn't have these great techniques and I just wasted my 3 year college life. When I recall my college life, I just didn't learn much. I just went for the exams. It's pathetic honestly; however, now I have learned the GREAT tools from this class that I am going to teach all to my brother who is a sophomore in college now, and learning never ends that I can apply all the tools into my life long learning. Thanks a lot for offering such an incredible class for free.

I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS CLASS.

By Salvador B L

Jul 3, 2020

When I started this course I was eager to learn and grow, I was already familiar with the pomodoro technique and I did use it some time ago but for some reason I lost the habit. Understanding why it works, along with other concepts such as chunking, the zombie mode, procrastination, the focused and diffuse mode of learning/concentrating is so interesting and eye opening. What I learned through this 4 weeks I will take it with me forever and I'll share this knowledge with everyone I can, It's a must! I'm happy that I was part of this journey, thank you dr. Barbara and Terrence for this class and god bless you. Namaste everyone!

By Tejashree T

Jun 4, 2020

Wow, this course.There is so much of information online, so many videos, apps, articles on "How to improve your learning skill?". Like most of the people, I have read a lot about it, indeed. They all had little effect on me. It was all random.Trust me and take this course. It is an organized learning platform and will for sure help. I'm no extraordinary person but I already feel the better change in me. This course has given me a whole new perspective on learning. I got to know my past mistakes. I have changed my way of learning new things for good, to effective and efficient ways. Huge thanks to the whole team of this course!