Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by Deep Teaching Solutions

4.8
stars
75,761 ratings
21,474 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top reviews

KD
Aug 1, 2020

This course accumulates a clear and valuable set of thoughts that structure knowledge about learning principles and tactics. Also, it was interesting to know some new things about how the brain works.

EA
Apr 28, 2017

This was a great course! I learned a number of different techniques and strategies for learning more effectively that I can't wait to implement in my studies. I highly recommend Learning How to Learn.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 10,000 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Piotr M

Apr 18, 2020

I really liked the course, it was very interesting to find out how the process of learning work and why it is important to review information. When I ma learning something new on the internet i just want to go to the next step of the course or training to finish it fast and i never wanted to go back to the part that i already passed. It was like: " yee i have done the assignments and passed the test, so i don t have to go back". But now i understand i have been a little stupid in my approach and reviewing things i have learned is good thing and not counterproductive. Thank you for your teaching it was great experience for me .

By Julian C

Nov 29, 2015

Learning How to Learn is an excellent class for individuals wanting to polish their rusty learning skills, and expand their learning tool-kits. I especially enjoyed learning about new ways to learn, how other people learn, the common struggles many of us experience, and the latest in research on learning. The tools, suggestions, and topics have already helped me expand my Chunked Mental Library. Useful resources were also provided; I purchased the book Fluent in 3 Months by Benny Lewis and signed up for the Publicationcoach.com. I can't wait to dive into these resources. Thank you for a fantastic course. Julia, Carlsbad, CA.

By Leo S

Jan 31, 2016

It changes my mind about learning, long term before I encountered this course, I knew it must be something wrong in my learning method which conduct a very ineffective learning-product. This neuroscientific based course enlightens me in scientific learning and makes me start to think seriously about how to learn more effectively. It's really a great honor to encountered this course, and I'm sure it would be one of the most powerful asset I ever had in my lifetime. My sincere gratitude to Dr. Barbara Oakley, Dr. Terrence Sejnowski, How to Learn Team and all the interviewees invited. Thank you for all your great insights on me.

By Tony

Nov 29, 2019

It's a fantastic course. It has shed light on all the learning problems i have been facing in my career. My career needs me to keep updating myself. But I lost track over a period of time. Things I need to learn accumulated over a period of time and when I looked at them it was overwhelming. That's when I started taking this course. It has highlighted all the mistakes I have been doing learning and gave me tools address them .

Thank you so much Professors.

For other learners like me, a piece of advice: Watch the optional interviews given in the course. They are real eye openers. You get to hear a lots of stuff from legends.

By Ostap A

Jan 28, 2016

This course is great. I'd say I became an evangelist of this course. I told about it to lots of my co-workers and I already feel I'm getting better at learning.

One of the main issues I always suffered with was "cramming everything on 1 day". I still believe I did the same during this course. But now, at least, I recalled the material from time to time in various places, explained it to my co-workers, listened to summary videos from time to time and testedmemorizing various stuff using memory palace technique.

This is a great course! Barbara & Terrence, thanks a lot!

Best wishes & thanks for learning how to learn!

Ostap Andrusiv

By Peter K

Jul 18, 2019

I have been struggling with reading, and the more I read the better I have become at reading. Problem solving has improved greatly!

I am 67 years young, and look forward to new challenges everyday!

My hobbies include Photography, tinkering with devices [fixing them] also gardening, if it does not grow this year try next year! I consider failures as successes as long as I learned from the experience.

My deep appreciation goes out to Barbara Oakley [I am also a veteran US Navy I crossed the Pacific and Indian oceans] so I also have a deep respect for all the people who have taken this course no mater where they live and reside!

By Shubhra S

Apr 12, 2017

This course has been a wonderful resource about learning and I feel it has equipped me with many efficient tools of learning such as The Pomodoro technique, the importance of sleep, the importance of subconscious mind and the diffused mode of thinking and various ways of grasping the material and retaining it in our long term memory such as recall, testing, and spaced repetition and all of this has only made me a better learner. So I am really grateful to Coursera for giving us the opportunity to learn, and to our instructors, Barbara Oakley and Terry Sejnowski for dedicating their time and compiling such an amazing course.

By Jennifer M

Dec 10, 2015

This class is wonderful! I learned so many different things about the brain, thinking, memory, tools, tips for more efficient studying, and the list goes on. This is the first step in my journey, and I will take all that I've learned here and apply it not only in my future studies, but my daily life as well. Thank you Coursera for offering such wonderful opportunities for people to gain knowledge and understanding on many levels. And finally, ( the best for last ) Thank you so much to the fantastic professors for making it fun and funny at times, for all the wonderful tools and for the opportunity to Learn how to Learn.

By Kerim G

Aug 4, 2019

I came into this course skeptical and worried that it would be a waste of time. That it would be geared too much for young adults. But the information presented (and presented well) was very informative and useful even for more mature lifelong learners. Both me and my amazing girlfriend took this course together and will surely take the lessons with us and use them to learn more efficiently in our lives! Thank you very much to the professors.

What I really appreciated were the sources at the end of every video. I'm the kind of person who actually goes through them and sees if there's anything that could pique my interest.

By Rakhat A

Nov 9, 2020

This is an amazing course! The authors did a great job in structuring the course in a simple and accurate way. Lots of theory coming together with practical tools makes it easier to apply it in your regular day without even having hard time to adapt! I loved Barbar Oakley! When she says I am Barbara Oakley. Thank you for learning how to learn part! When she explains you feel that she applies all the knowledge on herself first and tries to teach us to do the same. Being a role model herself, she creates a feeling of trustworthiness with very insightful information to become successful in your learners! Thank you very much!

By Matthew G

Aug 20, 2017

This course is very informative and insightful. There are so many useful hints and tricks that, even though very small and almost insignificant, have made a huge impact on my ability to learn new things, and how proficient I am at learning them. Understanding what's happing "under the hood" helped rid me of the guesswork that's associated with learning new things - that is, it gave me a tool that I'd been trying to find within myself for many years. The video-nature of this course, and the informative visuals helped to make the experience interesting, inviting, and stress-free. I plan on recommending it to all my friends.

By Oliver C

Mar 16, 2017

Simply: this is the single best and most important course of learning I have ever done.

Not only has it inspired and uplifted me, it has given me real and concrete methods and techniques for becoming a much better student (of life!). For all people of all ages, backgrounds and interests I tell you: take the opportunity to do this course and you will not look back.

I wish I had this course when I started university; it should be compulsory material for learners and students everywhere. In short, this course is OUTSTANDING.

I want to thank Barbara Oakley in particular for teaching me how to be a much more capable human being.

By Hong W L

Jan 21, 2017

This is a course that is truly about learning which applicable and practical knowledge and techniques are taught. Each video have visual aids and analogies with some comedy added in that helps to retain information. Questions at the end of the videos test your understanding on the lectures and a summary at the end of each week is useful in recalling and retaining information. I feel that most presentations and lessons taught in school can definitely learnt from this course in teaching more effectively. The tremendous efforts put into interviewing successful people in different careers and hearing tips are very enriching.

By Russ P

Sep 28, 2020

The course has been life changing for me. I'm familiar with the latest theories on learning/teaching, and was chose as a semifinalist for the Community College Teacher of the Year for North Carolina (not to brag, but I do have come credentials in teaching).

This course is by far the best way to learn how to learn. Both structure and content are so very well thought out that there's no room for improvement.

The sections on procrastination, Einstellung, and the Pomodoro technique have been life-changing for me. I am much more productive as a result.

Kudos to the Barbara Oakley and Terrence Sejnowski, and many many thanks.

By Madhav L

May 27, 2020

It is a very well structured course, and of immense practical value. Although I completed my formal education long long ago ( I am a retired person), I decided to audit this course both out of curiosity and also to see if it can help me in my informal learning at this stage in my life. From my experience, I endorse much of what has been taught, and would highly commend this course for youngsters who frequently struggle to get their act together in academics or creative pursuits.The course has inspired me to learn what I have always wanted to do (like play music instruments), but for which I found little time earlier.

By Binsheng L

Dec 5, 2017

I love methodology of doing things. This course teaches me the systematic methods of learning, some of which are what I have already known and applied successfully. It provides me a systematic perspective to review and reinforce the methods. Additionally, it not only provides insights on how to learn but also the scientific evidence that underlies the methods. Understanding the rationale helps me applies the techniques better and more flexibly.

The course is not limited to any particular subject. It tells us how the brain works. It's helpful in learning anything. Anyone interested in learning should take this course.

By Anthony M

Dec 29, 2015

I loved this course. It provides tools for learning that actually work (if you practice!). Not only does it describe the tools and how to use them, it provides the background, the accumulated understanding and proof of how and why the tools work (with creative illustrations and peer review docs). Dr's Oakley and Sejnowski do a great job in the curation and presentation of this knowledge. If they can keep my attention... they can keep anyone's attention. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in how we learn and also anyone struggling with learning any subject. Thank you Dr's Oakley and Sejnowski!!

By Jesus M

Sep 26, 2020

This course has been great in teaching the mechanics about learning and the practical techniques we can use to enhance our learning process and experience. Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski have presented key fundamentals to the science of learning in an easy to follow format and have made the process of learning tangible. I struggle more than most in learning new materials and subjects. Fortunately, after this course, I have a real practical application, e.g., Pomodoro, Recall, Interleaving, Memory Palace, I can use to progress my life-long learning endeavors. Thank you Dr. Oakley, Dr. Sejnowski, and the LHTL team!

By Stephanie W

Feb 18, 2018

Learning How To Learn (LH2L or LHTL) is really so much more than a course. Not only does a learner gain incredibly useful life skills, as outlined in many of the other reviews, but also a community. The Facebook group and weekly e-mail from Barbara Oakley are great resources for a whole plethora of techniques and ideas about improving one's life. I would have been much better off had this course come into my life at a younger age, however, better late than never. I see it as a foundation upon which all of my future learning in life can occur. Please check it out and engage with the community. You will only benefit!

By Deni

Mar 16, 2017

I am so glad I discovered this course right before I begin Ph.D studies. Not only were the lectures insightful, but also the optional expert Interviews and Supplementary readings. This course will definitely transform you into a more conscientious learner. Thank you Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowksi (and all other background workers) for taking the time to organize and share such useful content in a practical, succinct and lucid way.

Examination seasons are approaching in Jamaica, so I am motivated to write an article for the national newspaper to share effective learning strategies based on this course. Thank you again

By Vera D

Jun 11, 2020

Dr. Oakley is awesome. She teaches in such a way that learning is not a burden but an ongoing journey. And she doesn't teach as an authority but as a learner and fellow who has experienced the similar struggles or failures. She encourages the learners through the content and also through her expressions and body language. I like how the course is made up with short videos (some other courses have 20 minute long video for a single topic which is quite heavy for brain to digest) and frequently reviews what has been talked about before while teaching something new - just as it teaches, spaced repetition is effective.

By Eklaspure P V

May 19, 2020

Hello there, Coursera is helpful to learn about new things(about programming, languages,health... Etc). I'm enrolling more than two course on coursera. Poromodo technique, I never heard it before but I got all information about poromodo technique in this course. So many things which gave me the technique to study well and improvement towards success & one think, our teacher gave this learning how to learn powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects course as our assignment but when I started to watch i feel happy.One best thing about coursera is they give us certificate after completing enrolled course

By Bertho A

Mar 7, 2021

I learned a lot about how our brain works in learning: what are the should n should not do, why some are should and some others are should not, more effective and less effective ways and the reasons, and also tips and tricks. And these all make sense and have given answer to my questions of whether I am learning correctly all these times.This course also explain everything in a simple, easy to understand and concise way, that I believe the material should be taught to students in elementary school (with some alterations to fit their age, off course), to form their habit of learning correctly as early as possible.

By Sergio R C

Feb 13, 2019

Really powerful and useful course about how to learn any subject or skill we want to acquire. This kind of knowledge if something we all should have been tought in school, and I´m grateful to know about how to improve my learning process now and retain more information than before!

The course is structured in a way that will enhance your learning, and the classes with Barb are really funny and pleasant. This course is really valuable (much more than what I paid for it), and I encourage you to take it if you are a curious person who loves learning and would like to boost your ability to know about the entire world!

By Christinas W

Feb 3, 2021

I have already finished my bachelor's degree and am currently working towards my master's, so I thought I already knew pretty much about learning.

Indeed, I already knew about some of the concepts explained in this course but I never had the background information that really made me put them into practice on the long run. Other contents of the course were completely new to me and gave me a definite a-ha moment, where so much makes more sense to me now.

Lastly, the type of presentation of the knowledge and the videos were very well done. I truly enjoyed listening to them and would definitely recommend this course.