Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by Deep Teaching Solutions

4.8
stars
76,201 ratings
21,579 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top reviews

JR
Oct 22, 2017

This Course Is awesome it gave me a new look on how my brain works and that i should actually take breaks which is probably why i get frustrated. I am Excited to Put what i have learned into practice.

ZL
Nov 22, 2015

First MOOC that I can accomplish, even in my busiest days, because I'm motivated to learn the lessons taught in it and I like the teacher and class format (small videos and always repeating concepts).

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 10,000 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Charchit

Jun 15, 2019

The thing is I love learning new things and try continuously to learn new skills. And that's the reason this course attracts me. After completing this course I came to learn about my brain and its working and how can I use my brain more efficiently. Also came to know about various techniques few I already using, few I learnt new and came to know what I was doing wrong.

So I would recommend this course to all students out there. Also recommend it to those who like to learn new things or trying to switch career by learning.

This course gives insight how can you do better in your academic/professional life.

By Matthew S

Jul 10, 2017

All the content in this course is really interesting and useful. I watch it at 1.5x speed most of the time.

This class should be required education before attempting to learn anything else. The idea that nearly all students are expected to learn subjects without having first being taught how to learn is ridiculous.Note to Barbara Oakley for whoever is managing this MOOC: Please remove the repetitive superfluous phrases from quizzes, "as several of the videos mentioned," "as one video emphasized," etc. Just remove all references to the videos. They are unnecessary, and only make the quizzes take longer.

By Manjit S

May 6, 2020

THIS Course is extremely useful for every one.The way Barbara Oakley explains is fab .I would recommend any one who is sitting free to utilize their time by doing this course u will love it professor Terrence Sejnowski teaches the working of our mind that will be great help for people not only for particular subjects like maths and science but in each part of life. One could apply THESE principles can take a full control over the procrastination. The course teach exactly what we need to overcome procrastination and will be enjoying various process in their life.Why r u waiting for enroll it now.

By Armando F

Feb 13, 2016

Muy buen curso, creo que todos los estudiantes desde la educación primaria, deberían tener una capacitación previa en el sentido del aprendizaje, y en las herramientas que permiten una mayor retención de lo aprendido. Cuantas veces hemos estudiado alguna materia solo para poder rendir un examen y luego en el tiempo nos damos cuenta que no podemos recordar absolutamente nada de lo que habíamos leído. La base fundamental no solo es adquirir nuevos conocimientos sino que ademas puedan permanecer en nuestra memoria de manera permanente, y este curso proporciona herramientas muy importantes para ese fin.

By Renato G d S

Oct 15, 2016

Very good insights. It is nice to understand how your brains works when it is involved on a leaning process. And even though, it uses some concepts and tips we already know, it is also important to rethink about then, for knowing something exists does't mean you use it properly.

The teacher are just spectacular. The lessons are really enjoyable. And i found it quite useful to learning and practice English.

The questions on the and of each video are very good. They are obvious most of the time but, by reading then, we use the recalling process taught on the second week, and it helps us to chunk then.

By Bohdan P

Apr 23, 2020

ENG|UA This course is very powerful. There are a lot of interesting and, what is important, helpful information and practice advices how to use your brain more effectively. And the main teller – dr. Barbara – has a very nice voice, so listening to her is not only interesting, but also enjoyable. Don`t think – JUST JOIN and ENJOY IT!

Надзвичайно корисний та захоплюючий курс. Багато практичних порад, підкріплених багатьма дослідженнями, та інтерв'ю з фахівцями у своїй сфері, які діляться своїм досвідом з навчання. Тому не тягніть кота за хвіст, а реєструйтеся на курс) Приємного навчання про навчання!

By Shuchao

Feb 28, 2017

This course is awesome. Dr. Oakley has taught many helpful skills on how to learn. But for me, the most important and most helpful thing, is that you are not born to become who or born to be specifically proficient in some subjects. As long as you learn with right methods, you can learn anything. For long I've been trapped and handicapped by the "einstellung" that I'm not a math or physics learner. Now I'm completely confident that all I need is to walk away from the comfort zone and learn efficiently with those useful and scientific methods. Many thanks to Coursera and the course team. Thank you!

By Diego C

Sep 3, 2017

Great course. Very useful techniques, easy to understand concepts and helpful to make you more productive. I learned how to stay focused in my studies, keep the information in my memory for more time, how to avoid procrastination, how to prepare for a test and the importance of stress management before test. Also, which part of the material I should focus on when I'm learning new topics. I recommend this course for everyone who's focused in develop yourself and learn techniques that help to learn fast and more easily. The last month was great. Thanks for all. I'm a new student after this course.

By Kelly J K

Sep 14, 2015

This course was invaluable to me in teaching best practices for learning. I consider myself a lifelong learner and have been seeking useful techniques for learning difficult material and retaining new material. I didn't take to any suggestions from a previous informal "study habits" mini-course, and for over a decade, I just resigned myself to not being intellectually able or disciplined enough to tackle certain subjects, but Professor Oakley's teachings encourage me to mount and master learning mountains. This was a fantastic course, and I have already recommended Prof. Oakley's work to others.

By Maria-Elisa D

Jul 22, 2020

I am 50 years old, I love learning, and I keep on learning! I took this course to get "how to" learning tips to share with my elementary students and my 11 year-old son in their studies; however, even though I have a bachelor's degree and I thought I knew enough techniques on how to learn, I found myself learning interesting and very efficient techniques that I had never heard of before.

I recommend this course to any student, no matter their age, to learn how to efficiently increase their retention capabilities and even how to relieve stress prior to testing.

Thanks Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski!

By CHRISTOPHER B

Feb 24, 2018

This Course was hands down phenomenal and so fundamental for anyone wanted to facilitate a better understanding in how are brains work and process information. If you ever once wonder why sometimes you beat information into your cranium and come to find out a few days later you forgot everything, well this course will explain and talk about focused mode and diffused mode of learning. I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to be a well rounded and efficient learner. I would like to thank the amazing instructors for this course and this opportunity to grow and enhance our brains.

By Bob Q

Jan 28, 2021

Wonderful course: lots of useful and relevant information along with a ton of techniques to learn and use to improve your learning curve. I recommend it.

But, I found the online presentation a bit difficult and confusing to use. When I would sign in for study time, I expected the program to take me back to where I stopped yesterday and firmly guide me to my next step/lesson. Or if I wanted to find a video to see again or an article to read again, it took me a fair amount of searching to locate it. So, I give the course content five stars but the organization and presentation of it three stars.

By Julia S

May 9, 2021

Thank you for this course! The form reflected the content, i.e. you used the methods you taught us to help us learn, which is the most convincing thing you could have done! I knew some of the things you shared but learned many more, and as an English teacher I was really looking for a way to help my students learn by explaining to them how learning works, and that course is a great inspiration for that - actually, I'll probably be using some of your videos in class! I've recommended this course to my university classmates as well, but actually... I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE! Thank you so much!

By Mukul S

Apr 22, 2020

well at the starting of this course I think that the topics that are in this course are already known by me. But when I go through this course I found that the small things that we don't consider during our learning phase will make us suffer in the particular subject. So here I have got those small and necessary things that are required to learn new things or subjects very effectively, not only for temporary time period but also for life time.

If someone is thinking about doing this course then my opinion is you should definitely go for this, before starting learning new subjects in your life.

By Pavan C

Apr 8, 2020

This is an amazing course. First of all, it was well made. Every video is entertaining and informative. They include sources for each point they make. The quizzes are also very useful to help you understand the info. In addition, the instructors speak clearly and passionately in the course. It's rewarding to not only learn how to learn, but also see the neuroscience behind the process. The syllabus is clear and helpful for anyone. It covers everything needed for one to be a successful learner. From chunking to memory tactics to how to tackle procrastination and tests. Overall, a great course.

By Matt N

Jan 12, 2019

This was an excellent primer on the subject of learning. As someone who's passionate about learning, this course was basically like healthy crack-cocaine - I think I finished it in 4 or 5 days because I enjoyed it so much. I particularly enjoyed the section on procrastination. There is a lot of actionable advice throughout the course that is complemented with solid neuroscience. Learning is basically a superpower that impacts every other area of your life, so a course like this has massive carryover to everything you do. Overall, I highly recommend LHtL and will be pointing friends toward it.

By Ahmad H

May 1, 2017

life changing course for me. i think everybody should take this course and that it should be included in the curiculum of all schools. this course helps you maximise what you learn from every course. to maximise what you learn from this course you need to have taken this course (do you see our dilemma here !). here is a tip from someone who has completed this course using the material he learned from this course. try recalling what you learned after each video. and try to make a list of practical applications that this course has inspired you to do and write them down and start applying them.

By Akvilė Č

May 24, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Just a few days before I've joined the course me and my colleagues have submitted the draft of the course for teachers "How to apply metocagnition in order to help students to learn". Improving that course I will be able to use some ideas from this course. It's a pitty that I had not enough time to work on this course because of the very busy time for teachers at the university. But I was also able to see how the distance course ir organized and will be able to apply some ideas working on my distance courses (if it will be needed because of the pandemic). Thanks

By Kingsley D G A

Nov 16, 2018

After completing this course, the enlightenment has not only enhanced my learning of courses, concepts and ideas but also given me valuable tools to be more productive in my personal life: Tackling other topics like procrastination, handling fear, being confident, looking to broaden your passions rather than limiting yourself to things that you are "naturally good at", and more has greatly improved my life!

There should be no hesitation towards taking this course, even if you have a way of going about your learning, there's always a perspective you are missing out on (Einstellung) !

Regards!

By Phạm Đ H

Aug 1, 2021

I am a college student who had spent 16 years learning, but I am still happy with this course and learn a lot of tips and tricks to become a better learner. I find this course coincidental on Coursera. I am still a student and recently day I lost motivation to learn more and sometimes I feel very frustrated. This course will help me a lot. This is a great fundamental for me to start a lot of other courses. I really happy and enjoy this course. Thank you for this course will help me find my self-motivated for lifelong learning and overcome impostor syndrome. Thank you instructors very much.

By Minita O

Aug 7, 2020

it's a very good course, useful for all. It explains learning techniques in a scientific way. I learnt here how to train my mind to learn things effectively and keep them in my memory for longer time. The course explains how to use focused and diffused mode to solve new problems. The course very well explains how to deal with a habit of procrastination and also how Einstellung prevents us from learning new things. Actually every video teaches us so many things. Barb and Terry are awesome in teaching. I recommend this course to the people of all age groups who are willing to learn something.

By Valeriy S

Jul 23, 2017

Thanks a lot for the cource and for your job.

It helped me to look on learning process with new and fresh perspective.

Some ideas i did't know, I find usefull for me even in daily small tasks as well as during my learning and training process.

But not only small techniques, the whole cource like big and strong concept how you can understand, organize build you learning process and get you learning goals done more effective

and be more productive much easier with no frustration )))))

It provides you to understand how it's works on more deeper level.

Thank you very much

And Greetings from Russia

By Jonathan N

Dec 5, 2015

I found the course material and the presentation style to be very engaging and very easy to apply in my personal and professional life. As a project manager, a team leader, a teacher, and just as a person who is always looking to learn new things, I left this course very satisfied and fulfilled. I've already recommended this course to several of my friends and have already applied techniques, such as the pomodoro technique and recall in my daily life, while also examining how einstellung transpires in my day to day decision-making.

Thank you for the wonderful lessons the past few weeks!!!!

By Archisman D

Oct 27, 2015

This is an excellent and valuable course. It is useful for all people, whether young or old. It has the ability to change, not only the way people learn, but also the entire life of an individual. The instructors are extremely knowledgeable, as it is seen from the videos itself, and fascinating too. During the course, I was continuously gaping and marveling at the videos and the wonderful facts that were completely unknown to me. Never before, had I even ventured to know about the brain and the things that affect it. I hope each and every individual has the opportunity to view this course.