Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by Deep Teaching Solutions

4.8
stars
76,248 ratings
21,587 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top reviews

BH
Nov 13, 2015

I found this course to be incredibly helpful. I am 33 and wish that I would have been taught a more efficient way of learning many years ago. There are definitely some great takeaways from this class.

RS
Sep 6, 2015

I am a more effective learner as a result of this course. It has also, surprisingly, increased my enjoyment while learning. Thanks to Barbara and Terry for a well presented and informative production.

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 10,000 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By OumaimaRharib

Nov 15, 2015

This online course absoloutely deserves to earn these 5 stars , I can't seriously believe how much I've been taught and how much I've learnt in a such short period of time .

I'm beyond happy and pleased to be quite honest since this course reveals and uncovers many extremely helpful tools that we can use on daily basics in our lives and which will also come with great benefits and results to us , so therefore I would really like to cease this opportunity in order to applaud and show my big and sincere gratitude to whoever has contributed to the success of this splendid work !

By Taufiq P

Sep 11, 2017

A great course, divided into mini digestible parts that any person can grasp. Although sometimes it stated some obvious things, but that does not, in any way, lessen the impact of this course on forming a wider perspective towards learning. What I really loved is that, during and after finishing this course, I started to implement what I learnt here to other fields and in my daily life. I felt happier when I could relate the things they said while actually doing day to day chores. Maybe that was the main objective of this course, use this to better other parts of your life.

By Andrew

Sep 24, 2017

Wonderful course! I am a student that has been diagnosed with severe ADHD. My goal going into this course was to find a few techniques that would help me along the way but I found so much more here!

First, the instructors are clear and concise; giving just the right amount of information that you need to comprehend the material. I was certainly able to understand the techniques and have been able to apply them successfully to various parts of my life. I cannot thank you enough for putting this course out there as I can truly say that it has changed my life. Thank you!!

By Agnieszka

Aug 29, 2015

Very professional course, thank you for that! The only thing I was missing in this course was how to learn in non-academical conditions. How to find time if you work 8 hours per day and come home tired while you have prepare something to eat and so on...? How to motivate yourself if there is no test, if you are learning only for yourself? How you can practice that what you are learning if you are doing something completely different in your professional life? These are questions for that I really need an answer, the rest I know from your course, big thank you once again! :)

By Jennifer

Aug 15, 2015

This is an incredible course that gives insight on techniques to improve learning, and also helps you develop a better understanding of your learning style. Professor Oakley has a great lecture style and she also includes many other resources, such as interviews with academics of all different fields and even our fellow classmates, and plenty of reading material. Professor Oakley makes great connections from the material to real-life situations, and she shares some anecdotes and experiences, which really makes for a fun class setting.

I recommend this course to everyone!

By Mitzi C

Aug 29, 2020

Taking this course has changed my all my pre-existing views about learning thus allowing me to be the best learner I can be. Our lovely professors will teach you about how your brain works, giving you more insights on how to take better control of your learning. Learning is something we do lifelong, and I think that taking this course will really change your life and your approach. This is not just about "academic" learning or "learning in school"; this will really change your outlook and teach you all the things you deserve to know that weren't taught to us anywhere else.

By Amitabh S

Apr 22, 2020

Learning how to learn is an exceptionally well planned & executed course. For people who have like yours truly are pursuing a degree, also the same is very beneficial. To loosely refer to one of the quotes from the this course that I have completed , If we are thrown into the water and we do not know how to swim is akin to trying to learn something new without learning to learn. I thank Coursera & University of California to literally teaching me to swim (in the ocean of learning) & now its upto me to swim ashore or may I add cross the channel. Much Thanks & most grateful.

By Miran d

Apr 19, 2020

I have been in the work force for over 30 years and need to take courses to upgrade my skills. I decided to take this course to help understand the techniques that would help improve my chances of retaining the information that I'm learning in other courses. I enjoyed taking this course as it was fun and easy to understand the concepts and material being introduced. I recommend this course to anyone who think only their method of learning is perfect for them. You will realize that there are other methods that are much easier to implement. Thank you for this amazing course.

By Gillian H

Feb 14, 2020

Inspiring!

There are truly no limits to what you can learn and achieve. Find out how you can move on from the limitations that you, or others, might have placed on you because of your earlier academic performance or the subjects that you have studied.

This course will also show you how to best utilize your study time to get the best results. Some of the principles taught can be used beyond the classroom and can help in other areas of your life.

The course content is always interesting and I've thoroughly enjoyed the bonus interview material.

Thank you for an excellent course!

By Gilda D P

Mar 13, 2016

It was really cool to learn research-backed information on what is happening in our brain while we are learning and to get some tips to improve our learning skills. I hope to use this knowledge for the many topics I still wish to learn throughout my life and also to teach my girls how to learn better . Thank you Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terry Sejnowski for sharing your knowledge with the world. Learning is one of the most fulfilling and empowering experiences one can have. Thank you for encouraging and making this experience accessible to anyone who wishes to pursue it.

By Dermot P D

Aug 27, 2015

I have given this course 5 stars even though I think that there is room for improvement in the videos. At times it feels like I am watching somebody reading slowly from an autocue/teleprompter. Apart from this I would recommend this course to everyone. I would even like to see Coursera have it linked directly to their landing web page. After all, this site is all about learning, and making sure that everybody is approaching the learning process as well prepared as possible is in everybody's best interest (including Coursera and those that create the course material).

By YUANYUAN L

May 11, 2018

I have learned the really powerful techniques to tackle procrastination in this course. Time plan is really useful and efficient. Write down the task list for the next day is really helpful for me to keep thing on track. Review the task list to mark the unfinished work is also important. Before taking this course, I always waste time on trying to remember what to do at the beginning of a day. And I always begin to do a task without finishing it, then forget it totally. This is the only course I have persisted to finish all the quiz. The feeling of fulfilment is amazing.

By Muhammad S K

Aug 31, 2017

This MOOC will change your mindset about learning. I have learned a lot about learning during this course. It is well-structured. I loved the optional readings and interviews because these helped me gain a deeper understanding of the concepts.I have unintentionally practised some of the methods taught in this course in the past and I would endorse them like spaced repetition helps you recall materials much quicker and working on difficult problems helps you become a better and faster problem solver.I hope to incorporate the teachings from this course in my study routine.

By Nufile U A

Jun 25, 2020

Hands down one of the best courses I have ever taken. The reason I found the course extremely helpful is because even before taking the course, some of the techniques discussed were implemented in my study routines and they helped me boost my grades significantly. So naturally, when I find those techniques and many others that I wasn't aware of in the course material, I am assured that I am in the right place. Also Dr. Oakley radiates such a warm and encouraging vibe that that makes you want to have some patience and take tiny steps toward your learning goals!

Loved it!

By redenergi1

May 25, 2019

I'm a bad learner, and have never been a teacher favorite. I've struggled with procrastination for my entire life and it has knocked me down over and over. I found the tips in this course to be helpful, and relevant. I started this course to give myself the best chance in a college program, and I even started it with a bad attitude. After finishing the first week, I'm so excited to put what I've already learned into action, and I really feel a connection to Barbra Oakly, guys shes a northern badass. Thanks for this course, you've got this bad student on the right track.

By Richard K

May 17, 2017

Looking for something different that will increase your knowledge of new areas? Consider taking this course. One of the most fundamental skills that people are not taught is how to learn. This course will give you some very insightful insights about how to be a more effective learner. Topics such as memory loss, procrastination, connecting ideas, sleep, and so forth are covered on this. It is an easy course that does not require a lot of time, but will be valuable for learners. My learning abilities greatly increased after taking this course. Highly recommended!

By Marie-Louise B

Sep 7, 2015

I absolutely love this course. I have studied Positive Psychology and are working with children with learning disabilities. Everybody can learn and succeed with these tools... Regardless age, regardless "labeled with learning disabilities". Im personally deeply fascinated by the brain and I am very fond of the explaining of the brain in the course, which explain so perfectly, why we act as we do.... And for children (or families) with working disabilities they need more than anyone to understand why they act like they do.

EVERYONE CAN LEARN.....EVERYONE CAN FLOURISH....

By Lau M

Dec 11, 2020

I started this course because I was spending a lot of time procrastinating and for me was very difficulty have concentration in finish my task on time.What I found in the information and concepts below help my mind and me to be better with my projects and studies.I began in use the pomodoro technic in most of my activities and the results are amazing and stunning.I feel less anxiety thinking in the process and not in the product.Understanding how works my brain in terms of distraction or building memory can improve myself in choose a better way to do every assignment.

By Khaled

Jul 13, 2019

a life changing course! During the course i have changed many small habits that were keeping me from reaching my personal and professional goals. By understanding how the minds works, you can trick it by setting rewards and following well studied anti-procrastination methods.

During the course i was also listening to Dr. Jordan Peterson podcast, which made a lot of sense in according to this course's material, so if you're looking for an extreme change to your life, take this course, listen to Jordnan Peterson, and you'll be a different person within weeks.

Thnak you!

By arnob c

Apr 16, 2017

Doing this course was indeed a very good experience. I am looking to change my career and trying to learn computer programming and which is exactly why I have done this course. After finishing the course, I believe it is not only my study that is being helped, I believe I have got a very good amount of real life tips as well which will help me in my career as well. Being a procrastinator, I have harmed my life already a lot. But now that I know how to handle procrastination, I will try my best to implement the tricks that I have learned in this course. Thanks a lot!

By Dylan D

Nov 7, 2016

Learning How To Learn will get you to think differently about procrastination and what you can do about it now. Do yourself a favor. If you are struggling to understand tough subjects or suffer like most people from procrastination, this course will offer a fresh perspective on why we do what we do and what you can change to turn it around. This course should be mandatory in high school or for first year incoming college students. You will walk away learning at least one new thing that will help you to improve your studies, test taking and performing under pressure.

By Andriy G

Mar 4, 2016

It is a wonderful course that indeed makes the difference. Over it "I've met myself" almost in each video and each topic. Very surprisingly that somebody knows me better than I do and is searching for sintific solutions of my problems in a daily professional fashion. I did realize a lot of things about myself and how things work for or against me, how to reinforce my cons and extract maximum efficiency of pros. How much learning means and how strongly influences human beings. All from the above will be essential for you if you wish to upgrade yourself and your life.

By Ambur F

Sep 10, 2021

This is a great course. I now have tools to help me learn mathematics for a career that I love. I am interested in marketing and data analytics. In order to obtain a degree in this field I would need to take classes in statistics and other types of math that I thought I could not do. I am now more confident because of the tips I have obtained through this class. I have also been able to keep up in my present data analytics class with these techniques. Learning to Learn is one of the most informative empowering classes that I have taken.

I appreciate Barbara Oakley.

By Fiona O

Jun 11, 2020

Really enjoyed this course and it helped me get back into learning during lockdown! Very effective format and really helped me understand and unlock more about how the brain works to learn (or try to not learn) and what I can do to get myself out of those procrastination ruts and to switch off from things I think I have no aptitude for when actually it's all about my efforts. Barbara was an excellent Teacher and Facilitator, loved her insightful and interesting explanations that kept me engaged throughout the course. Loved this so much I've signed up for Mindshift!

By norbert b

Jul 6, 2021

Great course, i would recommend it to all human beings. Prof Babara Oakey and Prof Terrance Sejnoskwi are great facilitators of learning. Their presentation materials are well done. The course was so captivating, when i started a module, i could stop till i take the examinations. The examination were challenging so you had to understand the topic well to pass it. This is the best course on learning, the neuroscience in it, rubbishes that old and tired theories of learning that we have taught for years. It does explain how people learn. Thanks for the sponsorship.