Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,137 ratings
2,041 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

NS
Dec 22, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

EC
Sep 9, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 2,048 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Varadarajan B

Aug 14, 2020

Thanks and very informative gave good understanding and linear algebra. Can be taught with some easy examples and basics explained.

By AKSHAY K

Sep 16, 2018

It's a great foundation course for anyone who wants start their journey in Data Science.The content is relevant to ML applications.

By Daniel W

May 1, 2020

Spectacular class! Well-designed to be clear and also an efficient use of time. The instructors are top class. Highly recommended.

By Nushaine F

Jun 8, 2019

This is my first course on coursera, and it was an awesome experience! I will definitely be taking more courses in the near future

By Anjali K

May 7, 2020

This is an excellent course if you're willing to build your intuition on what happens when complex codes in Machine Learning run.

By Praveen J

Apr 19, 2020

The Graphics and teach the equations in a intuitive manner open up new networks to connect between different Concepts and domains

By Vipin S

Jul 29, 2019

Very well designed course to provide the background in a simplified form on a concept which is top of mind for several businesses

By liyimeng

Jun 18, 2018

It's really helpful to rebuild the fundamental, not very deep enough. It's better to read some books as well when take the course

By Mazhar A

Aug 27, 2020

This course is very helpful for me. Revised my Linear Algebra with the help of machine Learning. Loved this page rank algorithm.

By DESHPANDE H S

Jul 16, 2020

The tutors and the overall program was superb I wish I had enough money to travel to London and take admission at this instittue

By Pete F

Jul 6, 2020

Great course. Some really challenging assignments and tasks! It was also great to get a little insight to Google's site ranking.

By Iswarya K V

Jun 27, 2020

Great content delivered in a very concise manner with adequate examples and visualizations to aid in understanding the concepts.

By Neeraj R

Jan 26, 2019

I had already looked at Khan Academy and 3bluebrown1 before taking this course.

This course packs the best of both in one place.

By Hiren G

Oct 11, 2020

Thanks for this wonderful course of mathematics I have learn new practical applications of linear algebra in machine learning .

By Shenyi H

Aug 16, 2020

This course is kinda challenging for those who have never learned linear algebra before. But generally I recommend this course.

By Edward A

May 22, 2020

Exactly what I wanted. I am far better equipped to deal with linear algebra and the inner workings of machine learning models.

By awez h

Apr 12, 2020

This is Helped me to bridged the gap of understanding mathematical concept and to how I can use this in computational domain.

By Munesh L

May 15, 2018

Checked few courses and finally found this one providing great intuition and lots of confidence go deeper into neural networks.

By Hao W

Jun 7, 2020

It is a good math course to provide basic and useful understanding on the Linear Algebra. Thanks to the tutors. Good Teaching!

By Adman A

Aug 1, 2019

Very interesting course. I realy enjoyed all the explanations, the geometrical hints on every concept introduced.

Thanks à lot

By Nalluri R

Sep 27, 2020

Wow! Amazing course. The way it is taught gives insights into various operations on matrices and vectors. Highly recommended!

By Yashwanth M

Apr 18, 2020

I literally completed this course in a week. This is so interesting. I have recommended almost 10 of my friends to take this.

By Raghuram K

Jan 29, 2020

This course has broadened my intuition and empowered me to appreciate the Linear algebra, thank you very much for this course

By LUIS F S U

Aug 21, 2019

I think it is and excellent course because it has a really intuitively way of explaining important concepts of linear algebra

By Zhuoyu C

Nov 23, 2019

From a different point of view to learn linear algebra from my undergraduate study, which is really good and more intuitive!