Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,123 ratings
2,041 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

EC
Sep 9, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

NS
Dec 22, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

Filter by:

2026 - 2048 of 2,048 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By John D

Jun 30, 2019

Overall, rushed and poorly explained. It attempts to condense a semester-long course into laughably short videos (maybe 30 mins per "week"). If you had linear algebra before, probably won't be very challenging. But if you haven't... there is no help/explanation to the quizes and the message boards are filled with unanswered questions. Essentially, this course builds a very shaky foundation.

By Tom D

May 10, 2020

The lectures will cover basic principles and then rather than build on basic principles to solidify the knowledge with practice and repetition, this goes straight to extremely challenging scenarios and me banging my head against a wall. Many comments within the forums are from other students like me who had to access external resources to bridge the gaps.

Not worth the time.

By Gemma G

Mar 8, 2021

Do not bother with this course. There are some amazing free resources on youtube (3 blue 1 brown, and rootmath are two). This is poorly explained, the grading system is ridiculous and buggy, there is zero support from the tutors. Worst Coursera course I have ever taken.

By Aerrow N

Aug 28, 2021

There is no support or interest from the creators to help you through and the automatic grading scripts are erroring out. You will never complete the course as the final assignment wont work at all and no one will help.

By Rajeesh O T

Oct 1, 2020

to be honest it was not that understandable i had to go through other materials and videos to get some concepts. i think I speak for a few portion of people who too would have felt the same!

By Rawitch M

Apr 14, 2020

Unclear explanation, week 3 final assignment is a huge discouraging no matter how you can do the previous exercise with ease or not. Maybe this course is not for me.

By Ian G

Dec 18, 2019

Bad content and broken links run otherwise adequate lectures. Fortunately I was taking this course as a refresher--there are much better ways to learn linear algebra

By Cindy C

Jul 5, 2020

Didn't thoroughly explain concepts. Tested on concepts not covered. I regularly needed to go to Khan Academy videos to fill in the gaps this course has.

By Kimberely C

Dec 19, 2019

Not very good. Had to use YouTube as I had no knowledge of Python. Needs to have more examples and walk you through Python to be able to understand.

By Priyabrota S

Jun 8, 2020

No practical example. Like University hard mathematics lecture. This course content does not relate to the course title.

By Alp S

Jul 20, 2019

It is disrespectful that programming assignments are not accessible for audit users.

By Zicheng L

Jul 13, 2021

That course content are not descriptive enough. Also, there are no slides.

By ankit p

Aug 24, 2020

Not for someone with less knowledge about terminologies.

By Jules A d C

May 6, 2020

Doesn't explain how it is related to Machine Learning.

By Ephraim N

Oct 5, 2020

Please I am not interested in taking the course again

By Himanish C

May 4, 2021

Terrible course, skips through a lot of concepts

By Deleted A

May 29, 2020

Don’t waste your money with Coursera it’s a con.

By Andrew E

Jun 17, 2019

First quiz doesn’t work properly. Can’t submit.

By Chris Y

Aug 30, 2019

very bad, everything is not clear

By Hadi A

Oct 1, 2021

It is not at all for biggners.

By Enyang W

Aug 23, 2019

worst course ever

By Arup B

Sep 20, 2021

very bad

By Vaibhav J

Aug 10, 2020

Bad