Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
9,927 ratings
1,994 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

EC
Sep 9, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

CS
Mar 31, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,994 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Mahyar G

May 31, 2020

A great course covering key aspects of Linear Algebra with the lecturers giving a good intuition about what's going on with the subjects.

(PS. I loved the sense of humor of Prof.Dye it was really fun!)

By Shuang J

Nov 17, 2019

This course is not for people without any knowledge on Linear Algebra, but for those with who want to build intuitive understanding of how Linear Algebra works.

I particularly like Dave's instruction.

By Vitória C

Jul 11, 2018

The content of the course is very relevant, and the instructors are really fun and helpful.My only suggestion is to upload revisions for each assessment, so we can understand what we are doing wrong.

By Bincheng W

Mar 4, 2019

Satisfactory. Most satisfactory. Actually, this course is possibly the best linear algebra MOOC class in terms of instructor teaching style and how they pick and convey the most insightful concepts.

By David V

Jun 25, 2019

This was a terrific course; the instructors' are passionate and knowledgeable about the course material, the assignments are engaging and relevant, and the length of the videos feels "just right".

By Pinas G

Sep 14, 2019

Excellent course!! The Mathematics for Machine Leaning : Linear Algebra offered by the Imperial College of London it's a good step into building a strong foundation in the field of Linear Algebra.

By Jitender S V

Jun 30, 2018

This is the BEST course if anyone wants to learn linear algebra for machine learning. Lectures are clear and very understandable and quiz questions are great, too. Thank you for this great course.

By Dinesh T

May 30, 2021

This is a great course to built foundation for Machine Learning. Both the lecturers are amazing and great use of technology in presenting the concepts. Great example linked to PageRank algorithm.

By Anurag S

Jul 12, 2019

It's a nice course but instructors should go in more details. It's mostly high school mathematics. I was expecting undergraduate level Linear Algebra. Otherwise it was a good learning experience.

By Peter H S

May 9, 2018

Excellent course on the relevant parts of linear algebra for CS. Both instructors are great fun to watch and the assignments use up-to-date Python programming and Jupyter notebooks. Well done !!!

By James B

Jul 31, 2020

Efficient, targeted course for learning the language and basic operations within linear algebra. Excellent for those working full-time, and for those without much experience with linear algebra.

By kmccall

Apr 5, 2020

really good. i would have been fine with a slightly longer course that worked through more examples and alternative explanations in order to ensure more solid understanding of complex concepts.

By Archana D

Mar 3, 2020

Brilliantly explained, loved the use of different marker which helped to understand better. Only one suggestion, if the summary has the mathematical equations/python equivalent would be helpful.

By Roshan B

Jul 17, 2019

Excellent overview of Linear Algebra for those who had not formally taken up a course on the subject. I had taught myself linear algebra about 18 years back and this was a great refresher course

By Vincent L

Aug 7, 2018

The concepts are explained well. However, might not be very useful for people who have some basic understanding of linear algebra. Taking this course is not as effective as reading the textbook.

By Rafat R

Jun 19, 2020

Absolutely brilliant course. Mr Dye was absolutely marvellous. Got a clear and evolved concept of matrices and vectors hopefully that will help me in some ways in my machine learning pursuits.

By Kwame A G

Mar 8, 2019

Taught in an intuitive way. Never have I been able to understand linear algebra better than after following the first 3 weeks of this course. I can't wait to complete the entire specialization

By Pushkar B

Mar 8, 2019

It's been excellent so far as the instructor has mixed the basics of linear algebra and real world examples to highlight the application in machine learning. Looking forward to further videos.

By Clinton P

Oct 23, 2020

Aside from Linear Algebra lessons (finally I got to know eigen-stuff), I was enlightened on how those light board works! I realized that I only know/met a reflected version of the professors.

By Abhishek C

Sep 25, 2020

Really liked this course and I will recommend those who want to know insights of machine learning and relation of it with Mathematics. Vector and algebric relation were very nicely explained.

By Thanawit S

Jun 29, 2019

Good course with nice lecturer.

Some topics should be explain more in detail and have some further reading / exercise for practicing.

For overall, this course is worth the time and money spend.

By Tobias K

Apr 22, 2019

Great review of a topic I learned in College. Not sure how it would be for the first time, would probably take more repetition on certain subjects. Maybe going over the videos multiple times.

By Jerome F

Dec 4, 2020

It's been 20 years since I studied this in college and all of sudden, I was in job where I had to know it again. This was the perfect review course. I can't wait to do the following courses.

By Umesh S

Nov 14, 2020

beautiful course and challenging assignments. but requires background reading to fully enjoy the videos. pace is fast for beginners/ people who are not in touch with linear algebra recently

By Theo V C

Oct 8, 2020

Excellent course. Got to see the application of linear algebra in machine learning. Great introductory course to inspire you to enroll in more courses related to python and machine learning.