Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
9,932 ratings
1,996 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

PL
Aug 25, 2018

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

NS
Dec 22, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

Filter by:

1901 - 1925 of 1,996 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Jorge G

Aug 14, 2020

I would give it 3.7, examples are good but the vectors the lecturer draw were no easy to understand because of drawing by hand.

By Badri T

Dec 29, 2019

The Eigen system could have been better explained. The last quiz was too hard and the concepts required were not covered

By Aaron H

Oct 17, 2019

Lot of the concepts seemed glossed over and could have used more guided practice and/or linkages to real world problems.

By Indira P

Mar 7, 2021

It is so complex and contains so much knowledge but hard to understand for beginner or intermediate in mathematic

By Kate G

Nov 19, 2020

The instructor is skipping a lot of material and the quizzes require working with external sources to be solved.

By Matt P

Feb 24, 2019

This course would be perfect if more elaboration on the maths required to complete the quizzes, was provided.

By N s n r

Dec 11, 2019

i expected a practical mathematic approach rather than only mathematical approach.but page rank algo is good

By Tony M

Oct 23, 2020

Good course, but could add extra steps for those a little rusty with algebra, matrices, vectors and so on.

By Jared E

May 26, 2018

Overall good, but some nasty difficulty with the programming assignments... especially the last one.

By Almir B

Oct 15, 2020

The programming part is too confusing for someone that is just starting.

Thanks for the opportunity.

By Aniket D B

Aug 9, 2020

Everything is good. But I still don't have any idea about how I will use this in Machine learning.

By Alberto M

Apr 4, 2019

Good material if you want to refresh your knowledge, poor programming assignment support/feedback

By Ahmad A R

Oct 1, 2019

Repetitive/redundant questions in the assignment and minimal use of coding during the videos

By Carlos R T G R

Mar 18, 2019

The videos need to be updated, there are quite some errors that are already identified...

By Roberto V

Apr 12, 2021

Lack of feedback or more help from instructors to doubts, but the course is very good.

By rishabh t

May 5, 2020

Explainations was good but some topics was difficult to get may be due to my basics

By Adam R

Nov 16, 2018

Some of the quizzes go beyond what is in the videos and often spent ages on them.

By Nicholas K

Apr 20, 2018

Enough gaps that I finished feeling like I really had no idea what was going on.

By David R M

Jul 13, 2020

Requires an understanding of python that doesn't seem to be expressed anywhere

By Jose H C

Dec 19, 2019

I did not see any specific application of what was learned to Machine Learning

By Tory M

Sep 3, 2020

All in all this course served as a good refresher for linear algebra.

By Gary M F T

Oct 29, 2020

Esta en el idioma inglés. Seria factibles en el idioma español

By Alejandro T R

Aug 2, 2020

Really difficult to understand the explanations of the course.

By Ayala A

Jul 25, 2020

The course is good but the explanations are not clear enough.

By Ninder J

Jun 17, 2019

not well explained...Rather than this go for khan's academy