Chevron Left
Back to Linear Regression and Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Linear Regression and Modeling by Duke University

4.7
stars
1,480 ratings
270 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces simple and multiple linear regression models. These models allow you to assess the relationship between variables in a data set and a continuous response variable. Is there a relationship between the physical attractiveness of a professor and their student evaluation scores? Can we predict the test score for a child based on certain characteristics of his or her mother? In this course, you will learn the fundamental theory behind linear regression and, through data examples, learn to fit, examine, and utilize regression models to examine relationships between multiple variables, using the free statistical software R and RStudio....

Top reviews

TM
Jul 21, 2020

A great primer on linear regression with labs that help to establish understanding and a project that is focused enough not to be overwhelming, and allows the learner to play around with the concepts

PK
May 23, 2017

Very good course taught by Dr. Mine who is as always a very good teacher. The videos are very eloquent and easy to understand. Highly recommend it if you are looking for a basic refresher course.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 267 Reviews for Linear Regression and Modeling

By Roel M

Dec 18, 2020

A nice experience, clear explanations, lots of exercises that are really important. The project also allowed one to reflect carefully on how to use R to carry out the analysis.

By Charles G

Jan 20, 2018

Good but I felt some gaps in the material made it difficult to learn. Also, the quiz questions are focused on attention to detail "gotcha" questions. This can be frustrating.

By Aydar A

Dec 20, 2017

Nice course. The downside is that it only explains interpretation of linear regression, but not enough details about how linear regression is performed from math point of view.

By Jessye M

Jan 13, 2017

This course was good. However, compared to the other courses in the specialisation had less content. I would have liked to have videos on logistic regression as well.

By 冯允鹏

Nov 27, 2016

Compared to the Course 2 Statistic inference, this session seems to be a little be informal and rush. But still learn a lot from the conception of linear regression!

By christian a

Apr 25, 2018

Really good course as the previous ones in this specialization. Could have included something more on checking for collinearity with categorical variables.

By Dgo D

Mar 30, 2017

It was a really good introduction to Linear Model, I recommend this course to all people who wants to learn more about statistical analysis

By Ana C

Oct 30, 2016

Excellent Course. Mine, the teacher is a great great teacher. The mentors help a lot.

Technical parts, coursera platform should work better

By Janice H

Jun 5, 2020

Lecture explanations are fantastic as are slides. Pace is appropriate. R information is a little sketchy but manageable with diligence.

By Nathan H

Dec 19, 2018

Very informative for an introduction. Wish it was longer and more mathematical, but there are other courses on Coursera for that.

By Tony G

Jan 29, 2017

Good overview of regression modeling. Would have liked to see more on logistic regression. But that's ok, can read it on my own.

By Scott T

Aug 9, 2016

Great course. I only wish there was more time spent on dealing with more complex situations such as overfitting.

By Shivani J

Apr 5, 2020

I liked the course. I learnt a lot while working on its project. Instructor's way of teaching is very engaging.

By Elham L

Apr 7, 2020

The material in this course is explained very well. However it requires one has the knowledge in using R.

By Siyao G

Aug 6, 2019

Contents are easier compared with other courses in this series. Quite systematic and easy to understand.

By Natalie R

Jun 3, 2019

Clearly presented. R instruction is pretty minimal, so there is a lot of trial and error and googling.

By Guillermo U O G

May 12, 2019

I liked, but I guess it could improve little by including more topics in linear regression analysis.

By marvin m

Nov 6, 2020

The Lab could be better if there was a video that goes with it. But overall I love this course.

By Jian S

Dec 12, 2016

I learnt quite a bit. One of the most useful courses! I would suggest add more exercises in R.

By NG Y W

Dec 12, 2016

This course has provided me with a good and simple understanding on the concept

By Amir Z

Aug 31, 2016

This is a great course for this specialization but don't expect much depth.

By zhenyue z

Jun 6, 2016

nice lecture, but it is really too short, not into too much details.

By Luis F R C

Oct 27, 2016

Excellent course, I think it still could include more content!

By Anna D

May 22, 2017

Great course and lots of useful knowledge!

By Nikhil K

Jan 25, 2020

Not covered entire regression technique