Chevron Left
Back to Love as a Force for Social Justice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Love as a Force for Social Justice by Stanford University

4.7
stars
339 ratings
113 reviews

About the Course

The objectives of this course are: -To introduce participants to different concepts of love, to empower them to be conscious of the power of love and the possibility of practicing it in everyday life, and to highlight in particular the idea of love as a force for social justice. -To communicate a sense of personal strength and empowerment by actively learning from each other and beginning to define how participants can apply their learning in service to society. This course will explore the concept of agape love (compassion/kindness) as a force for social justice and action and as the inspiration for service and the application of knowledge to positive social change. Biological, psychological, religious, and social perspectives of love will be discussed, drawing on the expertise of people from a variety of disciplines. During the six-week course, the following topics will be raised and discussed: kinds of love/defining love; non-violent communication; love and the biology of the brain; love as a basic concept of religious and ethical beliefs (e.g., Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Gandhian); love applied in action, and poetic expressions of love as a social force. This curriculum aims to foster a sense of the importance of love as a key phenomenon in creating community, connection, and functional societies among humans. Course materials will draw from a variety of sources. One of the goals of the class is to provide participants with some knowledge of the literature of love, and readings for the course are listed in the outline of the course on the pages that follow....

Top reviews

AG
Jun 17, 2021

Excellent concepts, theoretical models and practical applications of social justice work in educational institutions, business and non-profit and health care settings. Anindita Ganguly, Ph.D.

KL
Oct 31, 2019

I learned to find ways to look at how ordinary and mundane moments can be lived extraordinarily. This made me radically change my perspective on love and living life fully.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 117 Reviews for Love as a Force for Social Justice

By Margaret W

Nov 19, 2020

This course was the perfect course to take in 2020. By focusing on loving kindness, in my personal life and more broadly, and with the assignments that challenged us to make changes in our own life, I was able to rewrite the negative script of injustices that has been looping through my mind this year. I highly recommend this class for anyone looking to make a difference in our world.

By Skylar L

Jul 7, 2020

My only complaint about this course was that I wasn't able to give it the full attention it deserved. I didn't really know what to expect while coming into this course, but if I had to briefly sum it up, I would say that this course is about identifying acts of love, the history of love, love in action, and love on a bigger scale. Highly recommend this course.

By Iasmin L G

Jul 23, 2020

The course is marvelous, outstanding. The teacher Anne Firth Murray is stunning and extremely clever. The course and the topics overcame my expectations. Everyone else should do this course, it is a big lesson of humanity and empathy. I feel more human after this course and I can, finally, see my role at the society while woman and while person.

By Steve F

Jul 24, 2020

This was an excellent course. Thank you.

We had a local discussion group and enjoyed getting together weekly to discuss the material. If there is one thing we would add to the course, it would be a discussion of forgiveness and its relation to agape love.

Thanks again for understanding and compassion you are providing globally. Well done.

By Carmen S

Jul 22, 2020

I am delighted that I took this course. I have learned so much about Love and its relationship with Social Justice. Living a life with love is instrumental in fostering and assessing social justice. l feel such a difference in my attitude toward others. This course is an inspiration for a career path. Thank You, Carmen Schaye

By Rosaura S E

Aug 31, 2020

Content and instructor conversations are very well structured and organized. Is a course that helps us explore and deepen in those things we value, question and often hope were changed and which can bring justice with a little more openness to the different experiences of love which lead to empathy and social justice.

By Pia T

Oct 15, 2020

I liked reading about the different love and hear people speak about their resurge, experiences and participating in the discussions. I got more viewpoints, and also saw how people could overcome very difficult situations.

I'm happy I took the class, even I had to start 3 times, it was worth while.

thank you

Pia

By Mona K

Mar 27, 2021

I absolutely loved the course, it landed in my mailbox at the perfect time and aligned with the inner work and self development I have been working. I learned the word agape love and got to understand it at a much deeper love in all areas of life. Thank you for this course, I am so grateful.

By ann.tomlin3@btinternet.com

Dec 28, 2021

I have learned much from this course, about religions, about business ethics, but most of all about the power of love and kindness and non-violent action. I am working through the book on non-violent communication, tring to learn not to be too aggressive when making my views known.

By Catherine M

Feb 17, 2021

I found this course incredibly interesting and thought provoking. I enjoyed learning the tenets of various religions, how similar they are and how they relate to loving kindness and social justice. The science behind brain function and compassion was also enlightening.

By Amy J

Jul 9, 2020

This was an incredibly empowering and timely class especially during such this tumultuous epoch in world history. I thoroughly enjoyed the talks, readings, and writing assignments, and I urge anyone with an interest in the broadest and deepest forms of love to enroll.

By Preethy M

Oct 10, 2020

I am happy that I did this course. Looking forward to its continuation or the next level of the course. Could learn that love is such a powerful force and by aligning to it we could make a just society. I would recommend this course to everyone I know. Thank you .

By Jessica D

Jul 18, 2020

Exceptional class with great concepts, knowledge, beliefs and values. The structure of class was doable. Loved all the readings and guest speakers. Amazing class: Love as a Force for Social Justice. Thank you very much! Jessica Domanay, Los Angeles, CA

By Jaki A

Jul 7, 2021

This course helped me to realize that much of what I do is inspired by Agape in the search for Social Justice. Readings and videos covered a wide range of perspectives. I enjoyed this course and it will help to inform my actions.

By Martina C

Jun 15, 2020

What I really loved about this course is that it reinforced the idea of how strong love is as a force for a better world. How lobe for others and compassion is essential in social change. Thanks for teaching this wonderful course

By Acalia R

Jul 4, 2021

I loved this course! I've learned so much more about the different types of love and how love fits into everything from relating to strangers and business to religion and romance. Thanks for this amazing course.

By Tina B

Apr 11, 2021

This course has reminded me that love is more than a feeling. Love is a choice, and love is also a skill, a skill we can all work on. Agape lovers can change the world with love. It's not banal, it's radical.

By Daithi M W

Mar 31, 2018

Very stimulating and interesting course. There's a big variety of different perspectives on the main topics. Also, I thought the assignments and extra reading were all very informative and thought-provoking.

By Gabriela P

Aug 21, 2020

ES un curo que proporxiona bases sòlidas para abordar el trabajo en filantropìa con el corazòn abierto y un mejor entendiiento de la compasiòn y el amor por elpròjimo como las fuerzas de la filantropìa

By Anindita g

Jun 18, 2021

Excellent concepts, theoretical models and practical applications of social justice work in educational institutions, business and non-profit and health care settings. Anindita Ganguly, Ph.D.

By Zakharenkov A P

Feb 26, 2018

its close to my own philosophy

and i want to learn something what can halp me do work on it

and i find a people oppinions about it

good crossover biologocal culural and sociological course

By Franklin D S N

Feb 18, 2020

I fully believe that this course helped me to develop new skills in my daily life. it was an update on my future academic life. Since I met this platform, my life has changed.

By Kiona J

Aug 11, 2020

i learned a lot on my own time and that makes what i learned feel more valuable. it was challenging but i'm glad i pushed through because it was totally worth it.

By haiyan w

Feb 18, 2019

I really love this course, and it really teaches me to see people and the world with other perspectives.

Hope more meaningful and inspiring courses coming out.

By Klaudia S

Sep 5, 2021

It's an extremely interesting, informative and much needed course. I hope there'll be more similar courses in the future. Thank you very much!