Chevron Left
Back to Scalable Machine Learning on Big Data using Apache Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Scalable Machine Learning on Big Data using Apache Spark by IBM

3.8
stars
1,202 ratings
306 reviews

About the Course

This course will empower you with the skills to scale data science and machine learning (ML) tasks on Big Data sets using Apache Spark. Most real world machine learning work involves very large data sets that go beyond the CPU, memory and storage limitations of a single computer. Apache Spark is an open source framework that leverages cluster computing and distributed storage to process extremely large data sets in an efficient and cost effective manner. Therefore an applied knowledge of working with Apache Spark is a great asset and potential differentiator for a Machine Learning engineer. After completing this course, you will be able to: - gain a practical understanding of Apache Spark, and apply it to solve machine learning problems involving both small and big data - understand how parallel code is written, capable of running on thousands of CPUs. - make use of large scale compute clusters to apply machine learning algorithms on Petabytes of data using Apache SparkML Pipelines. - eliminate out-of-memory errors generated by traditional machine learning frameworks when data doesn’t fit in a computer's main memory - test thousands of different ML models in parallel to find the best performing one – a technique used by many successful Kagglers - (Optional) run SQL statements on very large data sets using Apache SparkSQL and the Apache Spark DataFrame API. Enrol now to learn the machine learning techniques for working with Big Data that have been successfully applied by companies like Alibaba, Apple, Amazon, Baidu, eBay, IBM, NASA, Samsung, SAP, TripAdvisor, Yahoo!, Zalando and many others. NOTE: You will practice running machine learning tasks hands-on on an Apache Spark cluster provided by IBM at no charge during the course which you can continue to use afterwards. Prerequisites: - basic python programming - basic machine learning (optional introduction videos are provided in this course as well) - basic SQL skills for optional content The following courses are recommended before taking this class (unless you already have the skills) https://www.coursera.org/learn/python-for-applied-data-science or similar https://www.coursera.org/learn/machine-learning-with-python or similar https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science for optional lectures...

Top reviews

AC
Mar 25, 2020

Excellent course! All the explanations are quite clear, a lot of good quality information provided from amazing teacher. Additionally, response times for any question is very fast.

CL
Dec 11, 2019

Really really REALLY enjoyed this course! The instructor does a masterful job of going from simple examples and building up complexity in a very logical and thorough way.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 305 Reviews for Scalable Machine Learning on Big Data using Apache Spark

By Ali T

Feb 23, 2021

I had a bad moment passing this course because the instructor, He is jumping directly to the points without giving a proper introduction about the upcoming topics along with that he is explaining with bad English accent.

By Enrico B

Aug 16, 2020

I am rather unsatisfied of the quality of this module. The pace is too fast and many things remain unclear even at the end of the class. Also I have found appalling that the trainer has broadcasted videos from his car.

By Ashutosh K

Apr 22, 2020

very very superficial, there is no way anyone can learn apache spark. I feel like I have wasted so much time but not learnt anything at all. Really disappointing stuff from coursera

By Li

Apr 19, 2020

Poor delivery of course material, even worse video.

Instruction on quiz and assignments confusing.

You may get a bit hands-on experience of Spark but you LEARN nothing substantial.

By Pierre-Antoine M

Apr 20, 2020

Started nice with the first two "weeks". But week 3 and 4 are jokes with little to no content and final project is just running a pre-existing notebook and reading results

By nauman s

Aug 4, 2020

HEY, TO BE HONEST, I DID NOT LIKE THE TEACHER DUE TO MANY REASONS: 1. HIS VAGUE ACCENT, 2. HIS SPEED WHILE PRACTICINF CODE WAS HIGH AND STUDENT DO THE PRACTICE MEANTIME

By Pietro M

Feb 5, 2021

The course is awful, avoid it. The instructor is evidently capable, but the course is just improvised, confusing, with lots of errors and not-updated material.

By Karim F U

May 4, 2020

Very poor content quality, nothing to do with the quality of the first module.

new and complex concepts are assumed to be known from the get go.

By Rodrigo F

Jul 15, 2020

Can`t believe this module was part of the course. very hard to follow. This course needs to be updated asap. what a waste of time.

By Mohammed K

Jul 5, 2020

This course is outdated, topics unclear, I had to jump to Udemy and Udacity to learn Spark.

Hope to see this course updated, Thanks

By Sebastian W

Apr 19, 2020

This guy should never teach any person at all.

The videos are very bad processed and the exercises are very bad documented.

By Oussama B

Feb 25, 2020

I am really disapointed by this chapter!!!! I learnd nothing, week 2 evaluation is ridiculous I did it with Excel....

By Róbert K

Feb 23, 2020

Low-quality videos, not relevant quiz questions. I can set up the same course in one day. Waste of time.

By Lei W

Sep 14, 2020

The quality of the instruction, video recording and scripts is ridiculously low! Avoid at all costs!

By Hari R

Jan 28, 2021

It was NOT a course where a CC was NOT required. I unenrolled and oprefer to learn by using Youtube

By Berkay K

Jun 19, 2020

Hard to understrand teacher. Content of this course unfortunatly not enough for learning.

By Parijat K

May 3, 2020

The course didn't live up to the expectation. Very little explanation. Too superficial.

By Raul S

Feb 27, 2020

muy malo por eso me di de baja de todos los cursos ni si quiera están las traducciones

By Nissim L

Apr 17, 2020

Instructed with python 2.7 -old material they didn't bother to update.

NOT OKAY!!!

By wasim m

May 22, 2020

the worst course by ibm

my confidence level goes down after taking this course

By Yutaka R

May 25, 2020

If the video without subtitle, I swear I can't understanding the lecture....

By lorenzo a

Apr 3, 2020

It really feels like the course was prepared in a bit of a rushed fashion.

By Mriam A

Mar 2, 2020

Useless course, waste of time, but i had to take it for the certificate.

By gurdeep s

May 25, 2020

Not much explanation regarding concepts. Disappointed.