Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning by Stanford University

4.9
stars
154,320 ratings
39,378 reviews

About the Course

Machine learning is the science of getting computers to act without being explicitly programmed. In the past decade, machine learning has given us self-driving cars, practical speech recognition, effective web search, and a vastly improved understanding of the human genome. Machine learning is so pervasive today that you probably use it dozens of times a day without knowing it. Many researchers also think it is the best way to make progress towards human-level AI. In this class, you will learn about the most effective machine learning techniques, and gain practice implementing them and getting them to work for yourself. More importantly, you'll learn about not only the theoretical underpinnings of learning, but also gain the practical know-how needed to quickly and powerfully apply these techniques to new problems. Finally, you'll learn about some of Silicon Valley's best practices in innovation as it pertains to machine learning and AI. This course provides a broad introduction to machine learning, datamining, and statistical pattern recognition. Topics include: (i) Supervised learning (parametric/non-parametric algorithms, support vector machines, kernels, neural networks). (ii) Unsupervised learning (clustering, dimensionality reduction, recommender systems, deep learning). (iii) Best practices in machine learning (bias/variance theory; innovation process in machine learning and AI). The course will also draw from numerous case studies and applications, so that you'll also learn how to apply learning algorithms to building smart robots (perception, control), text understanding (web search, anti-spam), computer vision, medical informatics, audio, database mining, and other areas....

Top reviews

AD
Apr 21, 2017

Very good coverage of different supervised and unsupervised algorithms, and lots of practical insights around implementation. All the explanations provided helped to understand the concepts very well.

RP
Jun 9, 2020

This is a great way to get an introduction to the main machine learning models. The professor is very didactic and the material is good too. I recommend it to everyone beginning to learn this science.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 10,000 Reviews for Machine Learning

By Amine M

Apr 11, 2019

I took this class to recap my ML knowledge. It filled up my ML knowledge gap! Anyone can take this class, regardless of background or level. There is always something new to learn in each lecture and topic!

By ALTANAI

Aug 31, 2020

A brilliant sequence of topics and fundamentals to get a stronghold on ML . The learnings I obtained from this course will always be my guiding factor in working through the projects in my life ahead.

By Caleo M S

May 23, 2020

Um curso incrível com uma ótima didática e exercícios que realmente estimulam o que foi aprendido em aula. Sem dúvida é a melhor fonte de conhecimento para adentrar no mundo de Máquina de Aprendizado.

By Juan J G P

Oct 25, 2016

Great course. A progressive discovery of the maths inner to the learning algorithms. This course gives that insight many ML practitioners don't have and is so important for making real use cases work.

By Omri M

Jan 16, 2019

terrific course, good balance of both high and ground level teaching. Good, hands-on experience. I actually appreciate the fact it isn't python or R - this way it's not geared toward a specific crowd

By Hejmadi P B

Sep 16, 2020

Loved the course. Andrew Sir explains the intuition behind the concepts really well. Excited to continue with the rest of the courses by him on my way to becoming an AI Engineer.

Thanks a lot, Sir!

By Muhilraaj A R

Jan 2, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed by doing this course.Gained lots of Knowledge on machine learning and practical skills on applying it.Thank you Andrew Ng sir,Standford University and Coursera for this course.

By Luís R

Jan 16, 2019

The course has an adequate degree of dificulty. It is not easy. But, the subject matter demands for that specific degree of detail if we really like to actually do something with machine learning.

By Sai G K

Jan 18, 2019

This is a great course for someone looking to learn Machine Learning from the ground up. I would suggest this course to everybody from beginners to professionals. Andrew Ng is an awesome teacher.

By Jag S S

Jun 9, 2019

Excellent course, everything is taught from the scratch. Anyone from any background can learn a lot about machine learning through variety exercises, tutorials and lectures. Highly recommended.

By Harshit S

Jun 6, 2019

Very Good Course to start into machine learning, It uses Matlab which is very useful, all mathematics behind different algorithm nicely explained by instructor, Instructor is very good teacher

By Mohamed M K

May 11, 2020

Really amazing course, Andrew Ng is one of the most successful professors in the world, not only he briantly teaches ML/AI, but he also does it with great sense of humility. Thank you Sir!!!

By Tu V N

Nov 3, 2019

This is one of the best online course I have learned over many years. Thank you very much Prof. Andrew Ng. Highly recommended for whom want to learn about AI & Machine Learning subject.

By Gil B

Jun 6, 2019

The instructor gives simple explanations, yet covers all the topics deeply. The coding exercises are well designed and teach you haw to write machine learning with no past experience.

By Lakshya G

Jan 2, 2020

Really well defined course on Machine Learning. It would be ideal if you have some background knowledge on Math. Do Linear Algebra from Youtube ( Linear Regression) as a compulsion.

By Nathan M

Jun 5, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed the videos and programming exercises. I think Dr. Ng has great insights that will help me approach future ML problems with greater understanding and efficiency.

By Camille C

Oct 18, 2020

This class was really interesting and the videos are very well explained with examples to show how machine learning is applied in everyday-life. I would definitely recommend it !

By Nicholas J P

Aug 5, 2020

Amazing introduction to machine learning. Broke down complex topics in a very accessible and interesting way, looking forward to using the knowledge I gained here going forward.

By Brian

Aug 7, 2015

It's amazing, I can learn fanstastic stuff through this free course. There is no boundary. I could implement the machine learning code , and understand well. Thank you so much.

By John M

Dec 13, 2018

Very detailed. The programming exercises were very well made, it was great to be able to implement the parts of the exercise one by one, and see the effect that each step has.

By Adam D H

Jan 2, 2020

This class is well worth your time to gain an excellent survey of the current ML state of the art processes. Very enjoyable and well taught, and the resources are very good.

By Rajkumar B

Aug 15, 2018

Much better than the lecture on machine learning than that is offered in my university. only problem is that if you are a fluent user of Matlab, you should skip week 1 and 2

By Tushar T

Aug 7, 2015

Its amazing course, very detailed and good explanation of each algorithm. Mr Andrew NG has good teaching skills, I am glad that I came across this course. Thanks Cousera. :)

By Ramdhani Y A S

Jun 20, 2020

A Great course for beginner in Machine Learning. Hope the exercise can be updated.

It will be good if decision tree, random forest, and bayesian is added to the course.

By Antoine G

Jan 2, 2020

A really good introduction to machine learning with real and practical examples. I can't believe we did so much in such a short time.

Well done professor Andrew Ng !