Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning by Stanford University

4.9
stars
163,453 ratings
41,933 reviews

About the Course

Machine learning is the science of getting computers to act without being explicitly programmed. In the past decade, machine learning has given us self-driving cars, practical speech recognition, effective web search, and a vastly improved understanding of the human genome. Machine learning is so pervasive today that you probably use it dozens of times a day without knowing it. Many researchers also think it is the best way to make progress towards human-level AI. In this class, you will learn about the most effective machine learning techniques, and gain practice implementing them and getting them to work for yourself. More importantly, you'll learn about not only the theoretical underpinnings of learning, but also gain the practical know-how needed to quickly and powerfully apply these techniques to new problems. Finally, you'll learn about some of Silicon Valley's best practices in innovation as it pertains to machine learning and AI. This course provides a broad introduction to machine learning, datamining, and statistical pattern recognition. Topics include: (i) Supervised learning (parametric/non-parametric algorithms, support vector machines, kernels, neural networks). (ii) Unsupervised learning (clustering, dimensionality reduction, recommender systems, deep learning). (iii) Best practices in machine learning (bias/variance theory; innovation process in machine learning and AI). The course will also draw from numerous case studies and applications, so that you'll also learn how to apply learning algorithms to building smart robots (perception, control), text understanding (web search, anti-spam), computer vision, medical informatics, audio, database mining, and other areas....

Top reviews

AB
Aug 30, 2020

A brilliant sequence of topics and fundamentals to get a stronghold on ML . The learnings I obtained from this course will always be my guiding factor in working through the projects in my life ahead.

YN
Jul 18, 2021

Amazing really felt that I learnt something substantial. Very happy that I chose this course over others Andrew Ng Sir explained everything very clearly to a required level of depth.\n\nThank you Sir!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 10,000 Reviews for Machine Learning

By Nimish B

Jun 5, 2019

I loved this course. Helped me learn about concepts specific to Machine Learning in a very interactive and intuitive manner. Working on Octave took time at first but is easy to pick up. Thank you Andrew Ng for this really well thought out curriculum!

By Nitin A

Oct 9, 2020

Thank you for this amazing course on machine learning. Each topic was explained perfectly and concisely. I was able to learn all the basic concepts of ML and how to implement them. It would be better if python was used for the programming exercises

By Praveen K

Jan 17, 2019

This course is very well put together from beginning to the end. The simplicity and approach towards teaching this kind of new and complex subject is amazing. I highly recommend for anyone who would like to get into Machine Learning space.

By Shanthan K P

May 25, 2020

A very good course packed with the fundamentals of ML. It has given me a great overview of what ML is and the assignments were well organized. Neil Ostrove and Tom Mosher were very quick at replying to the queries and were very helpful!

By Tony X

Jun 5, 2019

Quite good, suggest for beginners. There is no much mathematics knowledge deeply involved.

Andrew Ng used a simply way to describe machine learning algorithm. It's really helpful to understand the concept.

Thank you very much!

By John C

Jun 5, 2020

I will just simply say that this course was awesome! Prof. Ng broke down the ideas very nicely and “de-mystified” the area of machine learning. I highly recommend this for anyone who is just getting started in this area.

By Glenn B

Oct 21, 2015

Absolutely brilliant course and lecturer (simply brilliant Andrew!!!)

So precisely spoken; such brilliant tutorial notes, wiki, forum (mentor Tom Mosher - Thank you)

This course is better than many paid university courses.

By Amine M

Apr 11, 2019

I took this class to recap my ML knowledge. It filled up my ML knowledge gap! Anyone can take this class, regardless of background or level. There is always something new to learn in each lecture and topic!

By Omri M

Jan 16, 2019

terrific course, good balance of both high and ground level teaching. Good, hands-on experience. I actually appreciate the fact it isn't python or R - this way it's not geared toward a specific crowd

By Raman H

Apr 22, 2021

One of the greatest courses I ever passed!

First weeks may seem easy especially if you've got mathematical background, but don't be fooled by it. Latest weeks are interesting and pretty difficult.

By Muhilraaj A R

Jan 2, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed by doing this course.Gained lots of Knowledge on machine learning and practical skills on applying it.Thank you Andrew Ng sir,Standford University and Coursera for this course.

By Luís R

Jan 16, 2019

The course has an adequate degree of dificulty. It is not easy. But, the subject matter demands for that specific degree of detail if we really like to actually do something with machine learning.

By Sai G K

Jan 19, 2019

This is a great course for someone looking to learn Machine Learning from the ground up. I would suggest this course to everybody from beginners to professionals. Andrew Ng is an awesome teacher.

By Jag S S

Jun 9, 2019

Excellent course, everything is taught from the scratch. Anyone from any background can learn a lot about machine learning through variety exercises, tutorials and lectures. Highly recommended.

By Harshit S

Jun 6, 2019

Very Good Course to start into machine learning, It uses Matlab which is very useful, all mathematics behind different algorithm nicely explained by instructor, Instructor is very good teacher

By Mohamed M K

May 11, 2020

Really amazing course, Andrew Ng is one of the most successful professors in the world, not only he briantly teaches ML/AI, but he also does it with great sense of humility. Thank you Sir!!!

By Ng C Y

Mar 24, 2021

This course is amazing, I have learnt the detail about machine learning algorithm and also implmentation on Octave/MatLab. Thank you for Professor Ng sharing this knowledge via this course.

By Jody R

Feb 14, 2021

Professor Ng is a great teacher. I learned very quickly from his easygoing style. The content helped me understand the machine learning problems much better. Thank you very much Andrew!

By Tu V N

Nov 3, 2019

This is one of the best online course I have learned over many years. Thank you very much Prof. Andrew Ng. Highly recommended for whom want to learn about AI & Machine Learning subject.

By Gil B

Jun 6, 2019

The instructor gives simple explanations, yet covers all the topics deeply. The coding exercises are well designed and teach you haw to write machine learning with no past experience.

By Lakshya G

Jan 2, 2020

Really well defined course on Machine Learning. It would be ideal if you have some background knowledge on Math. Do Linear Algebra from Youtube ( Linear Regression) as a compulsion.

By Nathan M

Jun 5, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed the videos and programming exercises. I think Dr. Ng has great insights that will help me approach future ML problems with greater understanding and efficiency.

By Camille C

Oct 18, 2020

This class was really interesting and the videos are very well explained with examples to show how machine learning is applied in everyday-life. I would definitely recommend it !

By Nicholas J P

Aug 5, 2020

Amazing introduction to machine learning. Broke down complex topics in a very accessible and interesting way, looking forward to using the knowledge I gained here going forward.

By Brian

Aug 7, 2015

It's amazing, I can learn fanstastic stuff through this free course. There is no boundary. I could implement the machine learning code , and understand well. Thank you so much.