Chevron Left
Back to Magic in the Middle Ages

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Magic in the Middle Ages by Universitat de Barcelona

4.6
stars
1,368 ratings
442 reviews

About the Course

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

Top reviews

BW
Mar 23, 2018

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

NM
Jul 14, 2020

This course was really thorough and interesting. I liked how it covered a range of religions and regions and I think it's great how there are interactive assignments which judge out writing.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 438 Reviews for Magic in the Middle Ages

By Sharavanakkumar S

Aug 14, 2020

Fantastic course, gained lot of knowledge in history of medieval Europe.

By Natalia M A

Aug 21, 2016

Un curso magnífico. Sólo señalaría la complejidad del tema del Islam...

By Brisilda P

Dec 26, 2020

Its a very interesting course and gives you a good insight. Thank you

By Kimber D

Mar 23, 2020

Great course, beginner level. Interesting and thought provoking.

By cesar p

Feb 6, 2018

i cant grade this course because i dont see the optional videos

By Matheus V S

Sep 1, 2020

Ótimo curso! porém, senti falta de mais textos e leituras!

By Aisha B

Mar 10, 2018

really enjoying this - wish it has more reading material!

By Stuart M

Oct 18, 2020

images not easily viewable on astrological assignment

By Clara

Jan 18, 2018

Really interesting and highly recommended course.

By Alessandra

Dec 16, 2017

Great course, the visual aids could be improved

By Sherin C

Aug 6, 2020

This is an interesting course.. Worth the time

By Todd G P

Jun 22, 2019

Excellent as an introduction to the subject.

By Princess M

Oct 12, 2016

Good course but more room for improvement

By krishi a

Jun 11, 2020

Would like more ways of Interpretation.

By Hans V E

Feb 5, 2018

interesting but a bit superficial

By Gerardo M P

Mar 27, 2017

I am grateful for take it thanks

By Alejandro

Jul 25, 2020

muy bueno,gracias

By Michelle I

Nov 17, 2017

Interesting!

By cereza c

May 22, 2020

Very Good

By laura b b

Mar 4, 2018

r

By Carlos J

Jan 23, 2017

I

By Phil R

Jun 27, 2020

I greatly enjoyed this course. Yes, it's pretty basic and lacking in depth at times but hey it's a beginner's course, designed to introduce the topic and highlight the main areas which you can then go off and look into in more detail off-line. It's very wide-ranging, covers off the key issues/themes and does it with passion and intelligence. There is some housekeeping to do around the final assignment where a key link was broken and hadn't been repaired but otherwise, highly enjoyable. It filled the Covid 19 lockdown admirably; thank you!

By CARLOS R A H

Mar 10, 2021

Good and interesting course. I think videos could be made more entertaining, lectures are very dense and I think they could be broken up a bit more, and the links for the final assignment are not working (You need to take a deep look into the forums to find working links and guides made by classmats) and I think the "optional" videos should not be optional and be evaluated as well. Other than that, the course is very fun, interesting and there's a lot to learn from it.

By Sofi D

Feb 11, 2021

When I first read the title I thought it would be very different to what it really is. It's interesting from an historical point of view.

The inquisition and religions are the main topic, and how they treated magic back then, but it doesn't explain much of what was done.

I couldn't complete the last assignments because the links are broken, I suppose because the course is a little bit old.

By Jesús A P N

Nov 25, 2019

All information is useful and interesting. Teachers are kind and you can tell they love their field. Unfortunately the videos are too simple; no extra images, important sentences (very few) it´s just the person talking. I had to just read the transcripts in order no to fall asleep.