Chevron Left
Back to Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
8,339 ratings
2,449 reviews

About the Course

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Top reviews

AM

Jul 17, 2020

So grateful that a course like this exists. I found the information that was presented easy to understand and in such a way that small changes to my daily routine seem manageable. Thank you very much!

VS

Jul 19, 2020

The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 2,463 Reviews for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

By Kundan K P o K

May 11, 2021

It is extremely enriching and that too in this period of crisis. Pandemic has instilled anciety and depression into many but this course by Steve Joordens guides us how to remain positive during the same. GREAT LESSONS! Thank you for this.

By Ng S R

Mar 7, 2021

I really enjoyed it! It allows me to reflect on myself and tell myself that everyone is going through the same feelings as I did. I was also fortunate enough to have companionship in my household and made me more empathetic towards others.

By Charmaine G M

Oct 26, 2020

This course helps me to understand and analyze my mind, emotions and actions in the past eight months of lockdown. Thank you Coursera and University of Toronto for this kind of course which is essential in this chronic times. More power!!!

By Tanvi M

Sep 4, 2020

Very few people in the world stand out not by becoming famous but by helping others to learn and cope with the changing world

I thank all who have taken efforts to explain us the things which are present in the world but we tend to ignore.

By Santanu B

Jul 5, 2020

Great course. Much needed for a time we are in. During these difficult times we have to stay together and stay strong to overcome this pandemic, I hope a lot a people benefit from this course and I wish everyone good health and happiness.

By Rhoby C

Jun 26, 2020

This is course is practical on how to manage anxiety during COVID-19. After finishing the course, I felt empowered to manage my thoughts and emotion during this pandemic. I suggest this course to everyone even to non-psychology graduates.

By Iain F

Dec 18, 2020

A very good course in helping people with anxiety at the time of the pandemic. The tips are very useful and from a personal point of view, I found the relaxation technique to work. Thank you to Dr Steve Joordens for creating this course.

By Daniel J T C

Jul 13, 2020

I am truly grateful and satisfied for taking this course. Really very well explained with precise information and very necessary to put it into practice. It also motivates to continue learning and grow professionally. Thank you very much

By Sarah A

Mar 24, 2021

Wonderful, positive, relaxed course very well timed with this pandemic. I really appreciate knowing more about how I can be positively and calmly decisive in my presence with friends, family and strangers in my community. Thank you 🙏🏼

By Shadeen A

Mar 4, 2021

This was an exceptional workshop, I would encourage everyone to take the timeout to watch it. The professor did a tremendous job and gave great points on how to manage and deal with anxiety and depression during these uncertain times.

By Annette A

Aug 15, 2020

.This course is fit for todays concerns dealing with COVID 19. It is always a plus to instill positive reinforcements to situations as they arise so that they know they are not alone in a matter such as this. Good job with the course.

By Johanna M F

Dec 3, 2020

It's very timely and very helpful. I had a soft of anxiety experience during this pandemic and this made me feel a lot better about how to control my emotions. it also helped me cope up easily despite these things that are happening.

By Борисенко А А

Sep 16, 2020

This is the best course I have ever seen on Coursera, especially at post-Covid-19 period of time. I want to recommend this course for all who want understand how to deal with the problems of mental health during hard epidemic times.

By NOBLE P

Jul 26, 2020

the course was really helpfull because at the current senario we all be very anxious becausse of the covid but by doing this course i have studied how to overcome the anxity. thank you for putting this course and stay home stay safe

By ROSALIND K W

May 7, 2021

An inspiring course presented by a very real and excellent professor.

I really feel ready to embrace all the strategies presented to manage my mental health more effectively, and feel positive that I will achieve better Mind Control.

By Ana L G S

Feb 27, 2021

I would like to learn about concrete accions that we can do while we are having an anxiety or panic attack to minimize or disappear those horrible symptoms.

I really found this course ver interesting and usefull, thank you very much

By Erika K

Jan 21, 2021

Uses real world examples and easy to implement strategies to cope with the challenges facing all of us during the strange time. Calming, empathic voice. Really enjoyed. Glad I heard your interview on CBC that led me to this course.

By Clare M

Oct 30, 2020

I suffer with anxiety before COVID-19 and this course has taught how to try to manage my anxiety. I'm also trying to help someone who is extreme OCD, and suffers with a horrible case of anxiety and depression; so thank you Coursera

By DEEPIKA S

Aug 13, 2020

I hope everyone is doing okay! The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

By Cecille B

Jul 16, 2022

Managing mental health issues are very important especially during this covid times. This course is really useful to me and I am sure as to others who took this course as it teaches me how to manage stress, fatigue and depression.

By MOLLISON N

Jan 18, 2021

Just what the doctor ordered. A good insight into what is being experienced with Covid-19 and how to understand it better, how to deal with it and how to apply the course contents to ourselves, our family and those closest to us.

By Farabi S S

Aug 24, 2020

My experience was quite good. As a Pharmacy student, I had interests in Psychology.

So, right now , I have completed a course on this. Feeling very good.

Thank you so much ,, Mentor for helping me in this course.

Again , Thank you !!

By Angélica d R A M

Jun 24, 2020

Fácilmente ayuda a comprender como manejar la ansiedad generada por el cambio mundial que el COVID-19 ha traído a nuestras vidas. Conceptos bien explicados y apto para que cualquier persona pueda entender la información explorada.

By Aurora L

Sep 29, 2020

This was a short but meaty course about practical ways on managing our mental health during this pandemic. Prof. Joordens was calm, friendly, and engaging. I absolutely enjoyed his lectures. Thank you for this much-needed course.

By Kyla M G I

Jun 30, 2020

Very helpful in gaining perspective during this stressful time we're at right now. It reminds me that I am not alone in my worries and that we are all in this together. Kept me hopeful that we will also get through this together.