Chevron Left
Back to Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
8,585 ratings

About the Course

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Top reviews

HP

Invalid date

During this time where the whole world is going trough a very rough time,it is very imp for the people to take care of their mental health and thanks to this course!It has taught me lot many things.

DP

Invalid date

The topic is discussed in a very understandable manner. Plus the guided relaxation really helps a lot! Basically, we need balance between crowding out and crafted structure. Thank you, Prof. Steve!

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 2,497 Reviews for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

By Akvile C

Oct 11, 2020

What I liked the most is lecturer! Calm, friendly, wise, smart and have a really calming voice. The information was also very interesting and helpfull. I already started mindfully using crowding out method!

By Sheryl M W S

Sep 17, 2020

Practical, succinct, empathetic. Science-based, intellectual but not overly-academic. I connect with the speaker's style very much. Hope to take another course by Professor Joordens soon. Thank you so much!

By Vudithyala S H

Aug 16, 2020

Very useful course taught in the required essential Pandemic time.The comparison between the things is very well done by the Professor. Learnt a lot of useful things of getting through these difficult times

By Constanzo A M D

Jul 10, 2020

I want to thank the Professor for sharing his knowledge for free during these difficult times. I learned a couple of unexpected things I can relate to as a long time patient of psychotherapy. God bless you.

By Beverly O

May 24, 2020

Great presentations and power point. Contained a lot of practical information for keeping anxiety in check. The presenter is clear and easily understood. I found this to be a useful and enjoyable course.

By Nadine N

Dec 16, 2020

This is course is amazing dan the way the lecturer teach really amazed me because he is really calm and use the language that I really understand so this sure helpful for me especially in the pandemic era.

By Kris C

Oct 19, 2020

Wow! A great course and very timely. Professor Joordens is amazing. I recommend this course to anyone who is dealing with stress and anxiety, or anyone interested in mental health. I was sad to see it end!

By Kate T

Jun 24, 2021

Kind teacher, calming, organized class, very intro level so didn't learn a lot that was new for me but I thought great reminders and good for those who don't know this information yet. Easy to understand.

By Anxhela K

Feb 23, 2021

thank you very much for this amazing couse, I did learned a lot about how to deal with anxiety during the isolation. My favorite part is the schedule for to do things and definitly the anxiety exercises.

By W. A M M W

Oct 12, 2020

I would like to thank professor Joordens for the valuable inputs. These inputs will really help me and my family to get through these difficult times. Truly educational!

Mahesh Wickramarachchi - Sri Lanka

By Betül

Sep 17, 2020

I'm so glad to have this course during this though time and Professor Joordens is an amazing teacher. Everyone should get this course, I highly recommend it. Thank you for this wonderful course Professor!

By Todd B T

Jul 28, 2020

This was a very enjoyable course. Prof, joordens was very exciting to watch and listen too. You can tell he really enjoys teaching. I absolutely enjoyed taking this course. Stay safe and healthy everyone

By HERRERAOVALLEPAULINAMARIA

Oct 12, 2020

I learned a lot about how to improve my mind control in difficult situations like the one that COVID-19 has caused and I learned many ways to reduce anxiety in my daily life. I really enjoyed the curse.

By Raymond B

Jan 11, 2023

Excellent Professor. Down to earth, explained the course in detail. Gave good examples on Mental Health, that puts you there and helps you realize that you are not alone in this pandemic! Great Course!

By Rocelle E

Mar 14, 2021

Very informative and helpful to me especially for those people experiencing Mental Health issues during Covid-19. Thanks so much for the opportunity. Great help and I have learned a lot. 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟🌟

By Roberta D L

Sep 7, 2020

Amazing course! Helped a lot. I wish I saw this a little bit earlier, but here in Brazil we are still dealing with a bad situation. It was good to think about everything the teacher proposed.

Big fan.

By Valery C L N

Mar 23, 2021

Deeply recommend this course, prof. explains in a way you get engaged and understand completely and is as well like having a conversation with a friend while learning so much. Thanks for creating it!

By Erika P

Aug 3, 2020

It's very practical and to the point, the strategies taught are very useful. I liked the little insights into psycology that explain the reasosn of anxiety, depression and consecuences of isolation.

By Andrea S

Nov 12, 2020

I loved this course! The instructor was very knowledgeable, helpful and his voice was so soothing, I could hear him all day! I immediately felt calm and at peace. Thank you so much for this course!

By BASCHIERI M

Jan 11, 2021

Thank you for this interesting and really useful course! It has been easy to follow and hopefully will be useful for many people all around the world feeling the same threats in this dark period.

By Bryan C

Jun 9, 2020

Excellent! It helped me a lot identifying some bad habits that were harming my daily life and now with the recommendations given I can take a different course of acction within my daily routines.

By Igor S

Aug 19, 2020

Great course, the professor really know what he is talking about and even with limited resources he managed to put together a great course that helped me a lot. Hope to get more courses with him

By Caroline A C

Aug 5, 2020

Thank you for this course, I learned valuable skills for life and it really helped me and my family to cope with this hard times. Professor Joordens definitely did something with a great impact!