Chevron Left
Back to Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
8,585 ratings

About the Course

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Top reviews

HP

Invalid date

During this time where the whole world is going trough a very rough time,it is very imp for the people to take care of their mental health and thanks to this course!It has taught me lot many things.

DP

Invalid date

The topic is discussed in a very understandable manner. Plus the guided relaxation really helps a lot! Basically, we need balance between crowding out and crafted structure. Thank you, Prof. Steve!

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 2,497 Reviews for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

By Catherine F

Jan 20, 2021

Insightful and concise! Mind enticing and thoroughly informative! I enjoyed this course, and I have learned a lot about my body and mind! I thank you for taking your time to upload this course!

By Amber T

Sep 30, 2020

This course helped me figure out why I was feeling the way I am. I now have some tools to readjust my reactions and take control of my actions and reactions in this difficult time. Thank you.

By Karen F

Mar 14, 2021

Very interesting and useful. Thank you for introducing me to guided relaxation- I have been meditating with some success but knowing what relaxation feels like in my body is extremely helpful.

By Tenzin Y

Nov 19, 2022

Thank prof for this wonderful and the most enlightening course. Post covid, I am planning to use to the strategies for every crisis that i will face in my life. Thank you so much!

Deep regards

By Michael L

Jun 20, 2021

A very timely course for the people who are feeling uneasy for the pandemic. Easy to understand and provide a method to handle the psychological issues induce by the Covid-related situation.

By Julie G

Nov 15, 2020

Excellent information! Everyone should take this course considering we may lock down once again. Perhaps understanding “Physical distance” will remove the emotional from “social distancing”.

By Musfiqua M

Sep 21, 2020

A very informative, comprehensive and relevant course in the present scenario

I have benefitted immensely from this exposure I will share the information with my family, friends and students

By Cindy Q

Jul 8, 2020

Professor is knowledgeable and gives some nice points to control anxiety. It is amazing what the guided relaxation can do for you! I also think a schedule helps to give purpose to a long day.

By Serafeim M

Dec 20, 2020

I am excited about having this course. I wasn't even expecting it to be that way but it made a great impact since day one. Thank you once again for giving me the chance to take this course.

By Dr.Sundeep H K

Aug 11, 2020

I want to continue this course after week 1.Kindly unlock.I had missed the deadline due to certain issues.Now it is showing"Reset your deadline".I will greatly appreciate the same.Thank you.

By Nidhi G

Jul 7, 2020

I learnt how important it is to be healthy mentally during tough times like these . I learnt various activities which I could practice to keep myself calm and collected and be levelheaded.

By Samantha H

Jul 13, 2021

A very informative and helpful course. A huge "thank you" to the course Professor! From; Samantha Henry (Dr & MPH Student & Rotary Ambassadorial Scholar Alumni. From; Guyana, South America)

By Glacia S

May 5, 2021

Very informative and practical. This information has really expanded my approaches and techniques as a Child and Youth Care Practitioner. Thank you!!! I hope to find more of your classes.

By PEMS J S C

Apr 5, 2021

The course is nice and learnable. resource speaker in the video has able to present it well and comprehensable. So far, its good and it realy help me a lot specially in handling my anxiety.

By Stefan L M

Mar 27, 2021

Very well structured lecture. I'm a psychologist myself and I'm convincend that with this course Prof Joordens really offers a pragmatic and effective approach to cope with the Covid-Crisis

By MATIAS S F

Nov 18, 2020

Excelent Course it explain every with practice examples and is very usefull now that all are passing through this apidemic and I am sure that all this course will help me in my entire life.

By Sirli L

Sep 8, 2020

Really really awesome course. "Soft" topic, but full of deep knowledge and really useful tips and tricks to share throughout the communities. Thank you so for putting this course together!

By Ashly N

Jul 15, 2020

Extremely useful!! I am having a hard time during this time of uncertainty. My anxiety has been extremely bad and I found this course helpful and I am looking forward to using these tools.

By Phillipa V

Apr 10, 2021

This is an excellent course offering from the University of Toronto. Steve Joordans has done an excellent job on emphasizing the need for socially interacting while physically distancing.

By Ann R

Apr 18, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. I already have been learning how to relax with meditation but this has added other tools to help me get through this challenging time. So a big thank you.

By Gabriela A C R

Jan 21, 2021

Me parece un curso muy importante y digerible para toda la población, en lo personal, estudio psicología y es un tema de mi agrado. Felicitaciones al Profesor por compartirnos su tiempo.

By Kristina V

Nov 16, 2020

Great course with lots of tips! Even though I already studied psychology in my undergrad it was nice to be reminded of ways to manage stress, especially during these unprecedented times.

By Amalia S

Nov 7, 2020

Great course! Very helpful during these odd times but most of the things that was covered can and should be used in our everyday lives. Cant wait to see more courses from this professor!

By Jennifer T F P

Jul 8, 2020

Me encanto el curso. Los temas que se desarrollaron fueron muy pertinentes para la situación actual que enfrentamos, además del aprendizaje que adquirí me hizo sentir bien conmigo misma.

By Sandra M C

Sep 10, 2021

This course has a big value as a tool to manage your mind. It gives you practical tools to be aware of the efects of the isolation and how to think out of the box in order to manage it.