Chevron Left
Back to Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
8,577 ratings

About the Course

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Top reviews

VS

Jul 19, 2020

The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

AM

Jul 17, 2020

So grateful that a course like this exists. I found the information that was presented easy to understand and in such a way that small changes to my daily routine seem manageable. Thank you very much!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,495 Reviews for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

By Arvind G

Sep 11, 2020

I have given 5 stars to this amazing course because it helped me to understand my mental state in the COVID-19 period. This course boosted my confidence to step ahead in my life. Due to social isolation, I was depressed and anxious. I had lost my confidence. But this course guided me very well to bounce back. I learnt some of the valuable tips from this course which are healthy food which will nourish my mind. Truly helpful course for anyone how wants to develop their mental strength. Videos were too simple to understand. Course instructor Steve Joordens explaining technique is mindblowing. He can teach anybody. Hat's off to his teaching. Thanks, Steve for your immense guidance. I am very much happy to complete this course.

By Kathleen C

Nov 8, 2021

Professor Joordens was so easy to listen to. After taking the course I realized that I have been doing many of the things mentioned. What is going to be helpful is the guided relaxation strategy. I will be integrating that into my daily routine. I also will be limiting my news consumption. I have connected with friends via ZOOM through most of the pandemic, but as things have eased up we have let that go. I think that was a mistake and I will suggest that the group get back to meeting on zoom if not every week perhaps twice a month. From this course, I realize how important that Happy Hour on Zoom has been to me. The connections with life long friends actually became deeper. Thank you very much.

By KOPPARTI S S

Jul 8, 2020

This course is something really something everyone should do not just during this lockdown but at any point of time, the content of this course helps one to realize certain things about the mental health and also it really helped me come out of the anxiety that I have not due to COVID but some personal things. This short and sweet course really helped me get out of it. I'd like to thank the professor for his time to make this course and surely this is bringing a positive change for people like me. I strongly recommend this course for anyone and everyone out there and I believe that the things that you are going to learn out of this course are going to help you somewhere in your life if not today.

By Shalina D

Sep 9, 2020

Brilliant Basics

I found this course very relevant, easy to follow and understand. I have done a few readings about this subject so I was familiar with most of what he brought to the table and completed this before 4 weeks; but still he did it brilliantly. Prof. Joordens had a beautiful natural way of talking and very personal approach. He was not typically lecturing or dominating - very light hearted with simple, basic life examples and a little old school but I appreciated it and felt I could relate, trust and have confidence in his approach. He was very respectful and did not use slang or negative insinuations. His final dedication to all the health workers worldwide was touching!

By Sundar B P

Jun 26, 2020

This really is a great course, guides you subtly through societal demographics, factors that influence you, overthinking, holding on to singular thoughts which negatively increase anxiousness due to over consumption of information and how to deal with these things by counter acting, balancing and teaching ourselves to practice mental and physical relaxation techniques also by distracting thoughts are the key features and the main aim of this course, it doesn't only help you through times like these but also in regular day to day life post the current scenario (physical isolation from social beings due to Corona Virus).

By Giovanna B B

Aug 12, 2020

O curso Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 é incrível. Ele ressalta aspectos extremamente importantes sobre o auto conhecimento, sobre as influências externas vinda de diversas fontes, os impactos de manter um rotina saudável , de entender o que está acontecendo e principalmente do papel fundamental de se divertir e experimentar coisas que lhe tragam prazer, pensando sempre em contornar a situação extremamente atípica que estamos vivenciando. Realmente consegui tirar lições extremamente valiosas e saiu desse curso com a sensação de tranquilidade e um olhar mais empático comigo mesma. Obrigada.

By Tang H Y A

Sep 26, 2020

The lectures provide very practical tips to help us manage the psychological state in the health pandemic of the century!

I like the Professor's friendly disposition used in his videos. Instead of speaking with us like a formal authority to students, his tone and facial expressions certainly show that he genuinely cares for all of us. ;)

A Professor who truly practises what he preaches about building social connections which are so vital during this looming mental health epidemic that experts have been talking about. Go for this course; you will not regret learning useful skills that can benefit us for life! :)

By Aakansha S

Jun 23, 2020

During this pandemic, most of the people are suffering from the psychological issues or may be some kind of depression. This lecture on "Mind Control: Managing your mental health during COVID-19" can help a lot to identify your actual issues and there are many ways which are described here so that we can also find some kind of escape to deal with this. There are so many interesting ways such as painting, singing, dancing and many more to indulge your mind into different kind of activities so that we can take care of our mental health because mind is also the art of our body and also needed to treat well.

By LEANDRO J A

Nov 20, 2021

The opportunity of learning this time of pandemic is something worth to keep and be shared to others. May this platform be continually blessed and prosper for the community you are serving and the change that comes with it. Thank you very much. To Prof. Joordens thanks for the great time and compassionate way of giving yourself to others. To the Univ. of Toronto what your institution imparted makes a big difference, than you for your generosity. And to Coursera, you are a platform whom should be recognized. Your dedication to educate the greater community is an amazing work. Keep it up and more power.

By Chris L

Aug 30, 2021

I knew, before I started this course, that I will learn a lot of valuable and practical knowledge here. But now.... I'm shocked that how come this is not even a mandatory course in life.

I wish I had this knowledge and tools back in my high school days. It will definitely save the sanity of me, my friends and my family for countless times.

Starting the very first sentence in the first video, professor Joordens's calm and understanding way of speech was very soothing. All the examples used in the course was very clear and easy to follow/relate.

Thank you for offering this helpful course on Coursera!

By Barbara J

Jul 3, 2020

Excellent course! From this course I am taking away a lot of helpful information and points how to better deal with the anxiety COVUD-19 has brought into my life and the life of everyone around me. It made me understand better why I/others feel so extremely stressed and what options there are to deal with the situation in order to stay healthy. Steve even opened my eyes that I/everyone can get something positive out of this extrem situation. Thank you! What an excellent class and teacher! I can definitely recommend this course and will continue using COURSERA for my personal growth. Thank you!

By Esther B

Nov 22, 2020

This course was well presented and very interesting. The presenter was excellent. I have learned a lot and it helped me to see the every day things in a different light. Staying at home is not about hiding but helping to fight the virus and protecting others. Phoning other people is not a waste of time but you are helping yourself too when you reach out to others. Learning to relax and give structure to your days is very important. I really enjoyed the course and looking forward to doing another one. It keeps you brain stimulated and broadens your knowledge. Thank you very much.

By Mina N

May 22, 2022

Prof. Steve Joordens is one of the best people on earth! His comforting voice and his lectures really touched my mind. I should have taken this course much earlier though. In the biginning phase of Covid pandemic, we were really scared. Schools and gyms, work places, restaurants and shops, everything was closed and we were anxious all the time. Now it's much better compared to that time. But his lectures are worth taking! It taught me how to react to anxieties, how to deal with people who need help, what you should have in mind when you are the leader of a bunch of people.

By Srimedha R S

Sep 8, 2020

The course was structured very well. The videos had the right amount of content - they were neither overwhelming nor underwhelming. Complex concepts are explained in a simple manner and Psychology is brought into the picture again and again. This lends depth to the content and the learner feels like they're truly getting something out of the course. The knowledge gained is applicable to real life and can be done in a few simple steps and this is perhaps the biggest plus point. All in all, it was an extremely interesting few hours and I'd definitely tune in if there's more!

By Mimi G

Jun 14, 2020

I found this course to be very helpful with respect to acknowledging what one may to feeling during this pandemic, to the whys one may be feeling the way they are to how one can can gain some feelings of control through simple specific daily actions. As the parent of a teenager heading off to university studies this September, I really appreciated the concise delivery of relevant material that is easily explained to others (ie. that teenager). I found this course, the manner it was delivered and the take aways very positive, helpful and comforting. Thank you Professor!

By Ma. C M S

Sep 24, 2020

I am so glad to take up this course. This is very much relevant in our present situation and also this will stay with me all along since these concepts and practices are also applicable in dealing with other factors causing us anxiety, not just this ongoing pandemic. Professor Steve Joordens effectively shared with us his knowledge and delivered a comprehensive understanding on how our mind works and shared us how we can control negative thoughts. This is very much helpful in many ways. Thank you Professor Joordens, University of Toronto, and the whole Coursera Team.

By Li F

Oct 23, 2020

The reason I was drawn to take this course was to gain insights on what the world of mental health was doing differently in this pandemic. While what was presented were not something too different from what I've known due to my profession, I still learned a thing or two. I'd recommend this course to those who are currently feeling some form of anxiety. This course... or I'd like to say, these self-help videos gives you some practical ways you could apply and manage anxiety. Professor Joordens's videos, in my humble opinion, may extend some calmness to live.

By Teresa G

Nov 10, 2021

This was an amazing course. Dr. Joordens presentation was excellent. I feel like i've been in his classroom and have learned so much. It is course which does not only apply during the COVID-19 but during difficult times of anxiety, stress and the lack of healthy social interaction, especially for someone who is alone, going through challenges in life and minimized social intereaction due to loss of family and moving to an area where it has not been the right choice. I hope that Dr. Joordens will have more courses like this. Thank you so much!

By Timothy H

Aug 28, 2022

As with many of these courses, the content isn't always full of new ideas and topics, but it really helps frame our thinking and put some context to how we have felt at various moments in time. A little disappointed that I didn't pick this up sooner during the pandemic, but the learnings here are still going to be incredibly valuable going forwards. And as always, Steve did a great job of delivering the material. I've just finished the Intro to Psychology course, and this is then a more practical realisation of some of the topics covered there.

By Sabina G

Apr 22, 2021

A course really worth attending! Professor Joordens has a way of bringing the content that is so incredibly pleasant; his calm, clarity and amiable attitude, coupled with the uncomplicated use of technology, give the course the feel of a private session with him. His wealth of knowledge and experience and the use of a language that is never redundant or empty (I think I have never heard so few filler words as in Prof Joordens' lectures) make this course an excellent experience that leaves a mark and a lot of usable content. Highly recommended!!

By Supta A

Sep 14, 2020

Enrolling on this course was the best thing I did in this time. It helped me learn the ways we can manage our anxiety. This course also taught me how important it is to take care of our mental health and how we can do that simply by focusing on little but important things and doing our everyday habitual chores more purposefully. The instructor was just Amazing, Fantastic, Great!!! If I could, I would give him more than 5 stars for his wonderful effort to make this course so enjoyable as well as informative in a way that everybody can remember.

By Daniela V R

Sep 21, 2020

This course really helped me understand feelings and behaviors that have arisen in me and those close to me in the wake of the pandemic. It has also given me ideas and tools to control the anxiety that generates so much uncertainty, without a doubt isolating myself was not helping me so I have chosen to strengthen my friendships virtually and from a distance, but without a doubt the power of the feel identified and in society.

Tanks Steve

P.D. I keep practicing and I am more and more aware of when I need to regain my state of relaxation

By Mikhaella J

Sep 23, 2020

I really like this short course because it is something that most of us needed during these times. What I like most about the topic is that it truly helps me in determining and managing what triggers my mental problems. One way to manage our mental health is by teaching our mind and body how to relax and what relaxation feels like; hence the guided relaxation. Trying out the guided relatxation activity really puts my body into ease and I might try to make it a habit along the way to lessen my anxiety even after this pandemic.

By Dexter d L

Apr 9, 2021

Thank you for this wonderful insight in managing our mental health. The topics are interesting and are worthy to apply in these trying times. I have learned a lot and will definitely use them. Once again kudos to you and your team for making this free course, these are definitely hard times we are facing and seeing courses like these makes you wanna think thay there are people out there that are willing to help without expecting anything in return (except of course your wellness). More power and God bless.

By Deleted A

Nov 19, 2020

This course, Mind Control, is very helpful and informative. It helps me in beginning my Coursera journey. And it helps me in knowing more about Psychology. Filled with practical tips and suggestions that can be applied in my everyday life during pandemic. Looking forward to a course by the same professor in dealing with depression because it is already being experienced by many at least here in my country, the Philippines. Thank you so much and continue in educating people about mental health and its care.