Chevron Left
Back to Managing as a Coach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing as a Coach by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
1,323 ratings
397 reviews

About the Course

Do you (or do you want to) manage employees? Have you ever wondered how to get better performance out of those you manage? Are you unsure if you are communicating effectively with your employees? If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, then this course – and its associated specialization – is for you! Leadership and management responsibilities have changed dramatically, particularly in the last decade. In order to be an effective manager in increasingly fast-paced and complex organizational environments, coaching has become essential. In this course, you will learn what coaching is and learn how to differentiate between it and all of the other myriad roles managers are expected to perform – managing, mentoring, leading, and training. You’ll learn about the importance of strong leadership and learn to describe your current point of view as a leader, and evaluate when to adjust your thinking in order to be more effective in managing and leading in a rapidly evolving workplace. And finally, you’ll be introduced to the Thought Model, a coaching technique you can use to develop better thinkers and better performers. So if you’re ready to learn all about how to be a more effective and valued manager using coaching techniques, join us as we explore more successful managing through coaching!...

Top reviews

JW

Aug 26, 2020

This was a great course to help reinforce the need to approach issues with the mindset of a coach. It will enable me to have much more productive conversations with people as we work through problems.

ZM

Mar 3, 2021

I really enjoyed the lectures! the lecturer is fun and interactive. I'll be proceeding with the next course shortly! for those who wanted to learn a proper way to manage, this course is right for you!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 391 Reviews for Managing as a Coach

By Dainius M

Sep 23, 2019

The course definitely worth taking. I'm giving four starts just because I think that some parts could be presented from a more deeper perspective than it was. Self-awareness is a crucial element for leaders and coaches in seeing that not only how our unconscious beliefs and learn habits drive our thinking and emotional reactions in the body, but most important of all - recognizing that we are not our thoughts, beliefs and emotional reactions, we don't have to believe thoughts to be true, and we can be just ant observes of when some of the thoughts and emotions come in, not being sucked into them, and act upon them. The course is a must for every individual who is currently manages and leads people, or the on who is just aspiring to become one in the future.

By Vimaris R G

Mar 2, 2017

Very good course leading to insightful consideration for new managers. Quickly applicable with the Thought Model exercise. Would highly recommend. I give it 4 starts out of 5 because some improvement needed around expected deadlines on week 3, and for a few technical bugs: one must be logged into a browser to participate in the discussion forum - I couldn't make it work from my iPad or iPhone apps.

By Wael G E

Mar 23, 2020

So, this course introduced coaching to me from different perspective than what I used to have and practice. I learned other aspects related to coaching like the different roles of manager and also the thought model which is proved to be very useful. May be something to improve in the course is to have some more complicated examples. as well as some activities.

By Pablo J B

Sep 25, 2016

Very good content. The lessons are clear and relevant, with good examples. The course would be "excellent" if the instructor would be involved with the forums and would answer questions that were posted directly to her. But I still think it is a great deal for managers to take this course!

By Jesus R M L

Aug 4, 2017

Getting the employee to be trained is satisfied and motivated by the contributions that his learning brings to society and the company by increasing the levels of satisfaction of the human being is the best achievement to make people every day more happy

By Diosa J

Aug 10, 2016

Really good information for people starting companies and figuring out how to lead manage future employees. Some of the videos were cut off at the end and a word misspelled on the quiz. Other than that great job keep up the great work!

By Giorgi C

Jan 27, 2019

Course was very informative, however, it could have been more interactive. I also found that most of the people who took the course did not speak proper English, making it hard to grade my "classmates". Overall, it got the job done.

By Jaap V

Sep 10, 2020

Good Course and introduction to the thought model. Nice assignments and good practice. Most value in week 4 assignment and peer review to see how other participants have applied the thought model.

By Justin S

Apr 28, 2022

As good of a online course as i could expect. Focusing on pausing and evaluating facts versus emotional responses and irriational assumptions is a gift that will help anyone's career.

By Diego M L

Sep 20, 2020

Very interesting course on main theoretical aspect of Managers Role (putting the focus on Coaching), but also providing tips on how to identify and react to day-to-day real situations!

By Carlene B

Sep 17, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, found that it applied to many of the experiences I already had as a manager and gave me tools to use when discussing or approaching my employees.

By Nour e s

Mar 6, 2021

it is a beneficial course for those who need and seek in the road of management

I advise to focus in each detailed session

I enjoyed it a lot

By Royce H

Apr 24, 2020

Good overview. Would like to see more example situations that student would work through first and have program offer possible solutions.

By Monta

Jan 25, 2018

Great course! Give introduction in couching and perspective about differences between coach, manager e.c.t.

It was very easy couse!

By Josephine R

Sep 23, 2020

I hoped for some more information about coaching. But I think that the Thought Model is really good to know for coaching as well.

By Rebecca A B

Sep 6, 2016

Great introduction into coaching as a manager. However, it left me wishing the course had more to it and that it lasted longer.

By Fernanda M

Jul 19, 2020

It was of great help, to learn these new tools so we can apply daily. And also to have the opportunity to improve ourselves.

By Suzie S

Sep 21, 2020

I enjoyed this course but I found some of the content to be very basic. I'm hoping subsequent courses are more challenging.

By DOMENICO M

Mar 6, 2022

Un corso interessante, che certamente mi ha consentito di acquisire nuove competenze utili per la mia professione.

By Felo O B

Dec 23, 2018

bastante bueno el inicio para entender en qué consiste y luego el método que aplican es bastante útil

By Mahesh V N

Dec 27, 2021

Very nice course which has added a structure to thought model and how coaching is important.

By Hans-Jörg G

May 10, 2021

interesting, convincing model, clearly strcutured, assignment/ peer review to be optimised

By Ariel P

Apr 22, 2020

Very well organized with lots of examples that help to move forward and stay motivated.

By Rahul A

Aug 4, 2020

Good course and very details explanation and kept me involved in the entire course

By Maria M

Jan 18, 2022

Very interesting course. Very useful information both in work and personal life!