Chevron Left
Back to Managing Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Data Analysis by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
2,709 ratings
372 reviews

About the Course

This one-week course describes the process of analyzing data and how to manage that process. We describe the iterative nature of data analysis and the role of stating a sharp question, exploratory data analysis, inference, formal statistical modeling, interpretation, and communication. In addition, we will describe how to direct analytic activities within a team and to drive the data analysis process towards coherent and useful results. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of data analysis and how it can be managed. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know how to…. 1. Describe the basic data analysis iteration 2. Identify different types of questions and translate them to specific datasets 3. Describe different types of data pulls 4. Explore datasets to determine if data are appropriate for a given question 5. Direct model building efforts in common data analyses 6. Interpret the results from common data analyses 7. Integrate statistical findings to form coherent data analysis presentations Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by fdecomite. Creative Commons BY https://flic.kr/p/4HjmvD...
Highlights
Helpful quizzes
(3 Reviews)
Well-organized content
(24 Reviews)

Top reviews

EL

Mar 01, 2017

A long course compared to others in the specialization, but a lot of great material. Very well presented, the instructors know how to present this material and make it easy to grasp and understand.

ST

Nov 23, 2016

The course is full of the cases and the real life examples coupled with the theory background. Its very simple to understand and the course will definitely be of an value for people looking for

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 367 Reviews for Managing Data Analysis

By Evangelos T

Sep 10, 2017

This was the most interesting so far as it got a bit real with examples that put in context all the theoretical analysis. Liked it!

By Thorsteinn A

Oct 22, 2015

Very useful discussion about the philosophy and method of data analysis. The associated text was useful, although somewhat basic.

By LLOYD L

Jun 22, 2020

A very good course for beginners in Data Science. Learned a lot. Some important realizations with the topic have also been made.

By James D

Jun 29, 2019

Excellent summary of the process. The world would be a better place if more people in analytics would follow these simple rules

By Karen B

Jun 18, 2016

Dr. Peng presented very valuable information, but possibly in more detail than was necessary for the scope of this course.

By Karthik S N

May 01, 2016

Great course. Does not have to be only for executives. It is a great starter course for anyone who is new to data science.

By PRAJJWAL D

Aug 01, 2020

An excellent course for those who want to begin with data analysis.Creates strong foundation and clears many confusions.

By Gautam R

May 05, 2020

Good. Wanted to see some simulations , how the factors are influencing the overall result (in positive & negative ways).

By Abha T

Aug 07, 2019

For a high level course on managing data analysis from initiation to final read out- course emphasizes the right points

By Pushpendra S

Feb 28, 2020

Excellent content and a very knowledgeable teacher. Very useful for a wide audience including seasoned Data Scientists

By Deborah

Apr 08, 2020

Roger Peng did an excellent job of developing this course. His book, The Art of Data Science, will be a useful tool.

By Robert W

Nov 25, 2017

This course has a lot of great content. It's important to do the reading in addition to watching the videos.

By Nicholas A F

Aug 17, 2018

This was a great introduction to Data Analysis. The lectures were engaging as well as the reading material.

By Maheedhar B J

Feb 24, 2018

Ideal introductory course for experienced people before they deep dive into specific courses in analytics..

By Geetha R

Jun 12, 2019

Lot of information, helpful for each and every step of data analysis. Very well explained with examples.

By Claudia Z

Jun 25, 2017

Great course and the instructor is awesome, he knows how to teach because all the quizzes made me think.

By Wladimir R

Sep 09, 2018

Teachers, Content and knowledge is amazing valuable for my professional development. Highly recommended

By Elton K

Dec 14, 2018

Interesting for a Non-Data Science Executive despite some minor spelling errors in video transcripts.

By Dana

Oct 25, 2017

I really enjoyed this course, and it helped me to understand some concepts I wasn't sure of before.

By Setia B

Dec 04, 2017

This course is amazing. I learn a lot about exploratory data analysis and data science in general.

By Marguerite P

Jun 18, 2016

Really a very well-done course that has helped me take strides in understanding the EDA approach!

By Emilio G

Oct 29, 2018

Great content and videos, definitely worth the time and improved my knowledge in data science.

By Lisa K

May 16, 2016

good course. starts well and is overall very informative. thank you for offering us this info!

By fetty f

Jul 20, 2020

I love this course. It makes me gain new knowledge with simple cases that easy to understand.

By Ayna M

Jan 10, 2018

Super-fun and very practical, especially loved the companion book, the Art of Data Science.