Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
8,965 ratings

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

SH

Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 2,370 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Isadora P E

Jan 8, 2017

The teacher makes the classes simple to understand, with dynamic classes, with super interesting questions and debates! I loved it and highly recommend it!

By Robin L S

Jul 27, 2021

This was a fantastic way to start the HR Specialization track! John Budd is fabulous is his delivery of the information and course materials. I loved it!

By PHILIP B

Apr 23, 2021

I enjoyed every bit of the lecture. the course as well thought me many skills that will help me to deal with matters relating to managing human resources

By EKATERINA B

Feb 3, 2021

I enjoyed learning more about leadership and management, that was beneficiary for me, indeed.

Thank you for being simple but competent,

Hardly recommended!

By Desiree A

May 18, 2020

I loved and enjoyed completing this course. It was extremely helpful. I look forward to moving ahead to the next course in the specialization. Thank you.

By Mariana d H

Jun 20, 2018

I'm learning so much more than I had ever expected and truth be told, this course is making me realize that Human Resources might actually be my calling.

By Marija B

Nov 19, 2022

I am giving a 5 star for the course Preparing to Manage Human Resources because Professor Budd is great teacher and classes are amusing and informative.

By Nichole G

Feb 8, 2021

The lecturer was engaging in most of the videos, the assignments were easy to understand and class discussion was helpful. Overall I enjoyed the course.

By Sourabh A

Apr 29, 2020

It was an awesome course with a very well explained approach by the professor. Just loved it !!!

Thank you so much University of Minnesota & Coursera !!!

By Nadya P

Apr 20, 2020

Useful overview of HR theories and concepts, helpful in preparing to think about HR strategy. I wish there were more case studies of strategy decisions.

By Waid M

Apr 2, 2020

John's teaching style is engaging, the topics create a solid foundation and the format is interesting. I appreciate the ability to work at my own pace.

By Shriti B

Jan 19, 2020

Course in interesting and informative. Would have liked to have had more details about various HR lines of employment but otherwise very engaging course

By Olga M

Oct 1, 2017

I would like to thank to professor John Budd for his great course, I have learnt many interesting and important things for my job and my career as well.

By Darina S

Nov 6, 2017

I really loved this course. The material is presented logically and well structured. I liked lots of visual information and Professor's sense of humor.

By Esther I E

Nov 23, 2022

This course met all my expectations. I have acquired additional skills as a result of going through it. I'm glad I did. I'm ready for this new career

By Sara N

Nov 10, 2022

Great basic information about Human Resources. If you're just starting out in the field this is a good place to start. The instructor did a great job.

By Varun M

Jun 15, 2022

I am so glad that I chose this course. I learnt so many things Prof. John. I will be delighted to meet him in person and gain more knowledge from him.

By Alyza A

Jul 29, 2020

An excellent course. I learned a lot of new things related to HR and because of the great teaching style i wish to do my masters from this university.

By Felicity G

Jul 17, 2020

Awesome course with very detailed and broad information about HR, plus some of the exclusive interview from the professionals working in the HR field.

By ADEGOKE, E

May 26, 2020

John Budd is a witty instructor and he did well to breakdown terms to simple forms. Well done sir! I don't mind taking other courses from you again.

By Kshitij W

Jan 5, 2022

The course has given me a lot of information, every topic was explained in an unique way and was provided with brilliant examples as well. Thank you!

By Rafiya R

May 10, 2020

This was amazing, allows me to make my mistakes and learn from them. I felt great taking this course, going to continue and get the specialization !!

By Nekita S

Mar 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this class and learned a lot. There were areas of improvement that I'm learning to implement for future advancement in my HR career.

By Revonn M

Nov 2, 2022

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course .I have a better knowledge and understanding of the course as well as Human resources within my business unit.

By Ashutosh K

Jul 31, 2021

This is the best part for the beginners in HRM as this module expands to its topics in perfect way and make learners to gain it in complete manner.