Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
6,146 ratings
1,696 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

SH
Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG
Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,679 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Jefferson G R

Sep 1, 2020

Buen curso , aprendí mucho sobre el manejo de personas y sobre todo como liderar grupos para alcanzar el objetivo de la empresa.

By Mostafa Z A

May 13, 2020

Wow, I have gained a great deal of knowledge and experience that will help me in my working life

Really many thanks and respect.

By Riccardo B

Apr 29, 2020

A general introduction to the HR world.

Very interesting and well explained, with quizzes at the end of every lesson.

Recommended.

By PETER V O

Sep 3, 2019

Intense and comprehensive Training with quite number of real life scenerios sited as examples. Well facilitated and coordinated.

By Lisi L

Apr 30, 2019

I loved this course, I think that the Professor Budd is a great one. Thank you a lot for all the knowledge that you have shared.

By Anderson G P

May 19, 2018

The course was certainly a great opportunity to learn best practices, and Professor Budd's classes are incredible! I recommend !

By Timothy A

Sep 30, 2016

This is a great course for those who are thinking about a career in HR. It is also serves a good refresher for current managers.

By Parthasarathi K

Nov 30, 2020

The course content was very comprehensive & provided a great insight about the skill sets required in managing human resources.

By Aiman P

Sep 28, 2020

It is a great opportunity to be able have a professor like John Budd.

The course was prepared properly. Great learning material.

By Joseph M

Apr 25, 2020

This course has been helpful in building my understanding of HR practice and to effectively be a strategic HR business partner.

By Adrián A C B

Oct 13, 2018

Wonderful, really its a challenge for me because my english isnt very good, but with calm and dedication everything is possible

By Purnima s

Aug 23, 2020

Thank you sir and coursera to provide me opportunity to join this HR Course to update and enhance my KSA's in this area of HR.

By Oni G F

Jul 30, 2020

This course is an eyeopener and it is very insightful. I learned of different reasons why people work and what motivate them.

By Mihir D

Jul 9, 2020

This course gives basic fundamentals about Human Resource Management. This course helps us to understand various HR functions.

By Noufal A K

Oct 5, 2020

It's so amazing and worthful for my career impact and I learned a lot of new things that I can implement in my organization.

By MOHAMED M P

Jun 24, 2020

The interest in the subject boosted due very nice and live like presentation that some time may not get actual direct classes

By Saleh M A

May 20, 2020

It is one of the best courses in HR I have learned. It combines both theories and practices through using wonderful methods.

By Jennifer H

Mar 31, 2020

Really enjoyed this course. Prof Budd's course presentation and slides are very clear, easy to understand and even humourous!

By Le T M T

Oct 1, 2019

A great course ever! Thank you so much for providing me and many others the great course for personal and career development.

By Ellen J L

May 1, 2019

Good course for an introduction into HR, I enjoyed learning about the correlations between HR Management and Economic Theory.

By Line K A

Oct 1, 2020

Being new in the field, there many great insights in this course to help me determine whether it is something for me or not.

By Kelly Z

May 7, 2020

Great instruction. Learned valuable information from the course. Peer activities were a great learning experience as well.

By Erik B

Sep 19, 2017

Excellent background on HR and its history. Great Introduction, all though a bit slow at some times. In general - excellent!

By Emily

Mar 23, 2020

Professor Budd does an excellent job teaching the course. I can't recommend him highly enough. I had a great time learning.

By DAVID B

Oct 28, 2020

I found this class packed with information delivered in a well-paced manner. The different perspectives were very helpful.