Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
5,509 ratings
1,529 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

SH

Sep 01, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,515 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By alekhya p

Jun 17, 2020

it was veryfull for me to understand different managerial strategies and importances of human resource.

By Alexey G

Oct 17, 2018

Excellent course, that gave me a lot of different knowledge.

Thank you so much Professor John W. Budd!!!

By Rebeca M M

Aug 26, 2020

The course is really good and complete, it includes a very broad variety of information and knowledge.

By kritika k

Apr 12, 2020

I loved the way the course was conducted. It was highly informative and had a very practical approach.

By Yuliia S

Feb 28, 2020

The course was informative and productive! I learned a lot and very grateful to John Budd for his job!

By JULIENE G G

Aug 25, 2018

Eu adorei o curso, aprendi a ter outra visão sobre recursos humanos e como gerenciar o capital humano.

By Meghana G

Apr 13, 2018

Very informational and liked the teaching by Prof. John Budd very much. It was fun taking this course.

By Caroline B

Feb 27, 2018

Professor Budd was very personable and made the content easily digestible and relatable. Great course!

By Ryan W

Oct 04, 2020

Great course. I learned a lot about HR strategies and Employment Labor laws and many other subjects.

By Bojan M

Oct 24, 2016

Great introduction to HR policies and managerial styles. Course that every HR specialist should take.

By Kristina J

Oct 01, 2020

Course was interesting, I can recomend it for all, who want to know about what being HR managers is.

By Shravani S

Sep 17, 2020

Wonderful explanation and lectures by Dr. John w budd. Wonderful experience and good knowledge on HR

By David j R M

Jul 31, 2020

excellent course, includes a lot of important information that indicates the high impact that HR has

By Mamta K

Jun 03, 2020

valuable insights to understand the HR in a better way to manage people to meet organizational goals

By Jeanette

Apr 20, 2020

Useful and detailed information provided regarding the subject. Taught in a fun and interesting way.

By Yuly A R R

Mar 26, 2018

I'm so thankful I'm takin this specialization, I've learned a lot about HR. I highly recommended it.

By MELISSIDOU E

Oct 07, 2020

Thank you very much! The professor was understandable and analytic and i really enjoyed the course!

By Sachini D

Jul 17, 2020

very helpful course. Thank you very much for this opportunity coursera and university of Minnesota.

By Ragini k S

Jul 07, 2020

thank you so much for this wonderful course , it will definitely helpful for me in future projects.

By karrar k a

Apr 08, 2020

It was a great course and I got really a lots of knowledge especially in onbording new employees .

By HECTOR F C G

Oct 21, 2020

Excelente, los felicito por tan grande programa de especialización, super profesor y presentación.

By Paul M

Jul 28, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I found the information to be relevant and up to date. Thank you.

By Nan L

Mar 14, 2018

The course is well organized. The quality of videos was great. A good start for the course series.

By Nishant M

May 12, 2017

Very detailed course structure and helpful in dealing with real life Human Resource Challenges! :)

By Colleen L Y

Sep 11, 2016

I am new to HR and found this course informative and an excellent foundation for further learning.